amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:38 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Software Issues and Discussion » WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2009, 11:36 PM   #1
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Am I the only person experiencing this phenomina? It seems like about 40 percent of all WHD games crash on me. The game completely disappears and I am back to the Amiga Workbench. Up on the top left corner of the screen I get a small windows saying, do you want to "Exit", "retry" or make a "Core Dump". I tried all three options and nothing beneficial came out of it.

My hardware requirements are sufficient also: 1mb chip ram, 20mb fast ram, 68030 GVP Accelerator, WB 3.1.

Am I the only one having crash problems? Thanks.

Banrney

Last edited by barney; 11-04-2009 at 11:45 PM..
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:54 PM   #2
Cammy
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72 Points: 12,227, Level: 72
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In my own little world, Australia
Posts: 1,361
Send a message via MSN to Cammy
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Are you running a TCP or USB stack at the same time? These programs clash with WHDLoad and make games crash like that. I'm not sure what else causes it, but I've seen the same thing happen in a lot of games on Rebel's A1200/030. IT never used to happen though.
__________________
A1200 030@28Mhz/2MB+32MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB/4-Way Clockport Expander/IndivisionAGA/PCMCIA NIC
A1200 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/FPU/RTC/KS3.0/IDE-CF+2GB/S-Video
CD32 020@14Mhz/2MB+8MB/RTC/KS3.1/IDE-CF+4GB
A600 030@30Mhz/2MB+64MB/RTC/IDE-CF+4GB/Subway USB/S-Video/PCMCIA NIC/USB Numeric Keypad+Hub+Mouse+Control Pad
A500 000@7Mhz/512kB+512kB/ROM Switcher/KS3.1+1.3/S-Video

Get AmigaOS for your PC, it's FREE and comes in two flavours!
www.icarosdesktop.org
www.aros-broadway.de
Cammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:09 AM   #3
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

No, I am not running either of those. In fact, I attempted to run WHD Load games using a fresh install of Workbench but still several games crash. Here are a few that will not work:

1. Indiana Jones and Fast of Atlantis
2. Indiana JOnes and Last Crusade
3. Alien Syndrome
4. Ultima 6

....and the list goes on.


Barney

Last edited by barney; 11-05-2009 at 08:32 AM..
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:21 AM   #4
amiga1260
Cult Member
Points: 10,554, Level: 68 Points: 10,554, Level: 68 Points: 10,554, Level: 68
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 593
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Lower the value of the Mask transfer to 0x1FE00 with HDTooolbox and install or copy the game again.

Now try again. I think that most games won't crash anymore.

I have the same problem with my Amiga 1200 and this solve the problem.
amiga1260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:28 AM   #5
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

How do I lower the value of the mask transfer. I have never even heard of that before. Is it a pretty simple proces?

Barney
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:44 AM   #6
amiga1260
Cult Member
Points: 10,554, Level: 68 Points: 10,554, Level: 68 Points: 10,554, Level: 68
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 593
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

it is a simple proces. Go to System:tools and double click HDToolbox. Click on 'Partition Drive' button . Select 'Advanced options' and now you get more options. Click on 'Change' button. Select the Maxtransfer Textbox and change the value to 0x1fe00. click on 'OK' button to close the the window. Do the same with other partition. click on 'OK' button to close the the window when you chnage the Maxtransfer value of all partitions. Click on the 'Exit'-button to close HDtoolbox.
amiga1260 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:51 AM   #7
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

There is only one problem. I have a GVP Accelerator/SCSI card so I don't even use the HD toolbox. I configured my hard drive using the GVP Prep Disk. I loaded this prep disk, and I did find where it displays my current configuration. Mine is configured as follows: 0XFFFFFE. If I make this change, will it wipe my drive?

Barney
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 01:15 AM   #8
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Well, I changed it to 0x1FE00 and it unfortunately still crashes. I typed out the exact message it gives me when it crashes:

Exception "NMI Autovector" ($7c) at $1BCC744 (ExpMem $66774) occurred. Do you want to "Quit", "Restart" or "Make Core Dump"


I'll keep troubleshooting and see what happens.


Barney
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:45 AM   #9
davideo
Technoid
Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, UK
Posts: 394
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

When you changed the MaxTransfer figure did you press Enter before clicking OK?

The changes aren't saved unless you press Enter before clicking OK.

Dave G
davideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:58 AM   #10
Lockon_15
Technoid
Points: 6,386, Level: 52 Points: 6,386, Level: 52 Points: 6,386, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Lockon_15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: B52
Posts: 304
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

@barney

You must edit WHDLOAD.PREFS file (usually inside S to set off NMI Autovector.
Default setting is commented, so you just have to remove semicolon.

Usual stuff on GVP devices, I have same thing with my A530.
__________________
A500+/KS3.1/GVPA530/2MbChipRam+8MbFastRAM 2GbCF/YAMAHA CDRW
Lockon_15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 03:25 AM   #11
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,737, Level: 76 Points: 13,737, Level: 76 Points: 13,737, Level: 76
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,224
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Codetapper wrote: NMI Autovector is when a non maskable interrupt occurs. Usually reset switches such as the button on the Action Replay cartridge cause these to occur, but it also happens with some TCP/IP stacks and other hardware (perhaps your CD drive is generating them?). If that error occurs all the time, simply download the development archive and copy the s:whdload.prefs file and set that NOAUTOVEC flag globally. Then all installs will automatically use it.

Last edited by zipper; 11-05-2009 at 09:49 AM..
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:27 AM   #12
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Lockon 15, I think you just gave me the answer. I altered the WHDPrefs like you said and I havn't had a crash yet. I am still only on my first game but I have been playing it non-stop for over 30 minutes and no crash. Before, it would crash at the beginning title screen. I will give updates if I have any problems.

NOTE: Also, since this change to the WHDLoad config fine most likely fixed the problem, should I return my masktransfer back to its original setting: 0XFEEEEE

Barney

Barney

Last edited by barney; 11-05-2009 at 10:12 AM..
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 09:44 AM   #13
JJ
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,781, Level: 90 Points: 20,781, Level: 90 Points: 20,781, Level: 90
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
JJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Wales, UK
Posts: 3,730
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Does this also solve the problem if a TCP stack is running the background ?
__________________
“We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing.” - George Bernard Shaw

Xbox Live: S0ulA55a551n2

Registered MorphsOS 3.4 user
JJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:30 AM   #14
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

@barney

Yeah, I've come down off my high for WHDload, it is just unstable. My experience with Lemmings is an examplary one of many games; that it runs fine for a few levels, then blammooo! Whole machine freezes up.

Too frustrating too deal with...
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:23 AM   #15
barney
Cult Member
Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65 Points: 9,393, Level: 65
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
barney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 540
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

I am still hopeful. I am now playing Indiana Jones and the Fate of Atlantis and it appears to be working good. I did get another strange crash, but I went back into WHDLoad config file and made another change. There is a line that states it should be enabled for 68030 machines (some kind of memory manager). I just removed the semicolon at the beginning of the line and now things are really working good.

Barney
barney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 11:49 AM   #16
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

Hmm. I may check into these things... But why the hell they don't deal with this stuff in an installer? , if it just a matter of asking a few questions and commenting or un-commenting a few script lines.
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:57 PM   #17
Lockon_15
Technoid
Points: 6,386, Level: 52 Points: 6,386, Level: 52 Points: 6,386, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Lockon_15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: B52
Posts: 304
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

@TheGoose

Installer has a script which deals with WHDLOAD slave, so it's feasable to put few simple questions and generate an appropriate tooltype . The problem is no one cared enough in the first place, it was SW in development with no firm feature set; on other hand that might prove worthless from today' perspective since in over a decade of WHDLOAD development/usage it became pretty clear which Amiga setup behaves best. That means 030 is preferred, while 040 has it's own agenda; with 4Mb or more FastRAM you can fire up even the most demanding game; stay away from Poseidon USB stack since it' messes around with system calls. If some serious retro gaming is intended, then reading some WHDLOAD docs is a wise move; you learn a lot about MMU, PRELOAD and extraRAM, CACHE and MMU...knowing this might help you editing every single slave info or global prefs file, just as it suites your Amiga hardware.
__________________
A500+/KS3.1/GVPA530/2MbChipRam+8MbFastRAM 2GbCF/YAMAHA CDRW
Lockon_15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 01:49 PM   #18
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

@Lockon

So, do you think a littler better installer could be made? To set up the program to be more machine specific (in regards to CPU, MMU, memory situation, chipset) ?

I need to look at what all gets set in the WHDLOAD.prefs file...

Could that help knock out some of these issues?
Seems to me much of theses things are set on the tooltype level (per salve).
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 02:41 PM   #19
Lockon_15
Technoid
Points: 6,386, Level: 52 Points: 6,386, Level: 52 Points: 6,386, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Lockon_15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: B52
Posts: 304
Default Re: WHD Load: Games Keep CRASHING!!!

It could be made but it would be still pretty custom biased - simply, there are tons of various HW options which can't be commanded by a 2-dimensional rule. There are a lot of exceptions which tends to became a rule. I can't see it happening.

New install script is less relevant as long as you have WHDLOAD.PREFS since it stores most common tooltypes/switches. As you said those are already present in individual game slave, but can also be edited to include some more.
AFAIK, people with WHDLOAD issues mainly report problems with a 040 compatibility which is a separate issue (decreasing issue in any aspect of WHDLOAD progress, for sure) and common, rookie footfalls of meeting minimum requirements (misspelling Kickstart RTB/KICK files, low RAM, poor's man 68000 etc). Issues like NMI or RESLOAD are less common since those cover HW banging or even issues with different WHDLOAD versions (so called KickEMU compilers etc.)

As you can see, issues exists, but they can be remedied.
Personally, I have around 100 WHDLOAD installs on my setup; maybe 5 of them had some problem which was sorted out after few forum searches, no big deal.
And all that comes with a HW which is known to be pretty dodgy with respect to operation (GVP A530 uses some not-so-great glue logic tricks for basic operations and that proved bad compared to other competitive designs. As a final outcome, I can't properly use SubWay USB on this config - board is a bad IRQ handler).
__________________
A500+/KS3.1/GVPA530/2MbChipRam+8MbFastRAM 2GbCF/YAMAHA CDRW
Lockon_15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
games , load , whd , crashing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump