amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-09-2009, 01:34 AM   #16
amigadave
Lifetime Member
Points: 21,651, Level: 92 Points: 21,651, Level: 92 Points: 21,651, Level: 92
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
amigadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 3,468
Default Re: 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

I have just recently purchased several 68pin & 80pin SCSI hdd's of 36GB & 74GB sizes to use as replacement drives for old failing and noisy 9.1GB full height hdd's, but I have been having a heck of a time getting the cabling and terminators set up right so the Toaster/Flyer Tools can see the drives, so they can be formatted to be used as Flyer drives. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have adapters and all different kinds of terminators, but still no luck, even with LVD terminators when using LVD u320 drives.

Help!
__________________
How are you helping the Amiga community?
amigadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 05:17 AM   #17
mdivancic
Technoid
Points: 7,243, Level: 56 Points: 7,243, Level: 56 Points: 7,243, Level: 56
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
mdivancic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Lyman, ME
Posts: 200
Default Re: 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac67 View Post
Wide cable terminators are usually no problem to obtain and once the bus is terminated in whole there's no need for 'half-terminators' any more. You can also use built-in terminators on the end drives instead of cable terminators. OTOH most wide drives run fine on a narrow bus, there are few refusing to (esp. IBMs).
I've not been able to get any IBM drives to work yet here. I got a bunch of drives from work when we switched from SCSI to newer formats. I was only able to get about one in four to work.

Note: I get my adaptors from eBay.

Here's the one I'm using:

http://cgi.ebay.com/SCA-80-to-SCSI-1...3A2%7C294%3A50

Found this with a quick ebay search for SCSI Adaptor.
__________________
Mikey
Amiga 4000T (QuickPak), OS 3.9, QuickPak 060 w/128 MB, Picasso IV, A2065, AD516
Atari Falcon 030, CT-63 w/128MB @ 76MHz, 14 MB RamGizmo, SuperVidel + SVEthLANa
Atari TT030, CaTTamaran, 4 MB ST Ram, 16 MB TT Ram, ECL2VGA
Commodore 128D, 1084S monitor, RAMLink, 4GB CMD Harddrive
Commodore SX-64
mdivancic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 11:36 AM   #18
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

Those are simple SCA adaptors, so any drive requiring full termination won't work.
When you can put the SCA drive at the chain end there's a trick: simply plug a wide terminator into the spare 68pin connector. That way the drive sees full termination and cooperates.

@amigadave
You can't use "LVD" terminators on an Amiga - there's no U2W+ controller supporting it. "LVD/SE" or "SE" or unlabeled terminators do work however. Amiga controllers are pre-Fast/Async or Fast (most), Ultra (few) or UltraWide (some late accelerators) but they're all single ended.

Last edited by Zac67; 07-09-2009 at 11:41 AM..
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:04 PM   #19
amigadave
Lifetime Member
Points: 21,651, Level: 92 Points: 21,651, Level: 92 Points: 21,651, Level: 92
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
amigadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 3,468
Default Re: 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

Quote:
Originally Posted by mdivancic View Post
Note: I get my adaptors from eBay.

Here's the one I'm using:

http://cgi.ebay.com/SCA-80-to-SCSI-1...3A2%7C294%3A50
I have the same adapter and have been able to get some 4GB hdd's to work on a Warp Engine 040 accelerator SCSI-2 controllers. I can't seem to get it to work on my CSPPC SCSI-2 wide controller, or the Flyer 50pin SCSI controllers. I have tried all types of termination, both LVD/SE and non-LVD active terminators. Still no luck.

I now have 3x 73GB 80pin SCA hdd's and 3x 36GB 68pin U320 hdd's plus 1x 73GB 68pin U320 hdd and have yet been able to get any of these large hdd's recognized on any of my SCSI controllers using both 50pin or 68pin cables and all types of terminators and jumper combinations on the drives themselves.

I am really stumped as to why I am having so much trouble and see now why some other members have cursed so loudly about having SCSI configuration problems. This is my first experience with such difficulty in getting SCSI drives working.

@Zac67,

The drives and terminators I am trying to use are all marked LVD/SE and I have enabled the SE jumpers on the drives. The first terminators I tried did not have the LVD/SE designation written on them, so I ordered and received and tried the LVD/SE terminators and have seen no difference.

Very frustrating!
__________________
How are you helping the Amiga community?
amigadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:44 AM   #20
save2600
Premium Member
Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87 Points: 19,119, Level: 87
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern, WI USA
Posts: 3,097
Send a message via Yahoo to save2600
Default Re: 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

I'd like to mirror what AmigaDave and mdivancic have said and are experiencing. I too inherited a combination of IBM and Seagate drives from an old Dell server. Out of 4, I was only able to get ONE to ever work! And I've got the adapters w/ termination everyone else is talking about. I chalked it up to bad drives (I kept them all anyway), but am somewhat "relieved" to hear others have experienced the same things. I am currently using the working 16gb Seagate drive in my A2500 with zero problems however. When SCSI works, it works real well :-)

But I guess my next question is: why is SCSI so seemingly picky or flaky? Combination of things I guess - but frustrating when you know how to troubleshoot, but are left with no real answers.
__________________
Cash paid or will trade for loose and CIB Amiga games I need. Game manuals and boxes only too! Will purchase in large lots as well.

Last edited by save2600; 07-10-2009 at 07:49 AM..
save2600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 04:06 PM   #21
spaceman88
Technoid
Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceman88 View Post
Hi,
Will an Amiga work with a 68 pin SCSI hard drive (2.1 Gig, Seagate) if you use a 68 to 50 pin adaptor? A shop about 50 miles away is giving a couple away, if I go pick them up!
Ok, I picked up the drives. I downloaded the new(er) HDtoolbox, when I run it this is what it says.... "Compaq ST32171w 0940 unsupported" and all the buttons are grayed out.
If I use the 3.1 install disk it usually locks up when scanning for drives, but once it got to the partitioning stage and I think it was asking me to enter data like # of cylinders, size , sectors etc. It seemed to think I had a 20meg hard disk. Is there any other software I can use that might support it? Also I'm using a 2091 rev. 6.6 card that is working with a Quantum drive (40meg), would it make difference if I used a GVP, ICD or Fastlane card?
Len
spaceman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 07:27 PM   #22
spaceman88
Technoid
Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57 Points: 7,406, Level: 57
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: 68 pin SCSI in Amiga

Ok,
I tried the GVP faaastprep program. Unfortunatly all it says is "Can't open GVPSCSI.device", the file is in the Expansion drawer.
spaceman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
scsi , amiga , pin

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump