amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

ŧ Amiga.org ŧ Amiga computer related discussion ŧ Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion ŧ A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-02-2002, 12:56 AM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

Iīm going to buy A600 or A1200 and I have to decide today which one I take. I think Iīm going to play games more than use my Amiga to anything useful? What are the biggest differences between A600 and A1200. Is A1200 compatible enough with old games? Which one should I take?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 01:10 AM   #2
teo
Technoid
Points: 5,605, Level: 48 Points: 5,605, Level: 48 Points: 5,605, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 259
Default Re: A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

I think the A600 *may* be more compatible with older games, however the A1200 works the majority of games anyway, plus alot of the incompatible ones can be made to work by some tweaking in the early startup menu.

Plus I think the A1200 has a faster processor. more memory(?) and it has AGA chipset, which is required for some good games and programs. Personally I would not go for the A600 unless you also want portability nad *cuteness*
teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 02:30 AM   #3
cyka_delik
Technoid
Points: 5,464, Level: 47 Points: 5,464, Level: 47 Points: 5,464, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 364
Send a message via MSN to cyka_delik Send a message via Yahoo to cyka_delik
Default Re: A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

The A1200 would be my choice errr. oh i it is my choice as i have a towered one anyway. The a1200 has a 68020 as standard + 2 megs of chip ram, wherre as hte A600 has a 680000 with only 1 meg of chip ram.

p.s. the A1200 has the trusty AGA chipset too.
__________________
It\'s the attack of the umper lumpers... run for your lives.
cyka_delik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 02:58 AM   #4
Kay
Cult Member
Points: 6,170, Level: 51 Points: 6,170, Level: 51 Points: 6,170, Level: 51
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

I'd go for the A1200, as it's significantly better in terms of specs. It can play most games straight off, including the AGA ones, which are completely out of reach of the A600. There might be a few games which won't work straight away, but usually you can get them to work with a little tweaking. Ultimately, if all else fails, there is software like "Relokick" (think that was the name), which effectively turns an A1200 into an A500 (temporarily, of course ;-)).

Oh, and should you ever want to upgrade, the A1200 has more possibilities.

Kay
Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 04:20 AM   #5
Skyraker
Cult Member
Points: 8,260, Level: 61 Points: 8,260, Level: 61 Points: 8,260, Level: 61
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 686
Send a message via ICQ to Skyraker Send a message via AIM to Skyraker
Default Re: A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

Go for the 1200, it's faster and has AGA / Kickstart 3.0.

You can get 95% backwards compatability using the start up boot options and selecting OCS, or use a command called 'killaga' in conjunction....

tbh i never really liked the a600, it looked stupid.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------
I have the body of an 18 year old ......... I keep it in the fridge.
---------------------------------------------------------------------
Skyraker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 04:31 AM   #6
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

Thanks guys!

I think Iīll buy the A1200 (10 megs RAM and hd :-o :-D). Itīs some early Escomīs version but i guess it doesnīt matter? Can I plug the A1200 to a TV without any adapters? Hasnīt it some kind of adapter built-in?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 04:35 AM   #7
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

Quote:
tbh i never really liked the a600, it looked stupid.
No, it doesnīt :-x Itīs cutest computer in tge world!

I have also A500. If some game doesnīt work in A1200 I play it with A500
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2002, 04:48 AM   #8
Kay
Cult Member
Points: 6,170, Level: 51 Points: 6,170, Level: 51 Points: 6,170, Level: 51
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 623
Default Re: A600 or A1200, which is better for gaming?

> Can I plug the A1200 to a TV without any adapters? Hasnīt it some kind of adapter built-in?

Yeah, it should have. You'll need a phono male to RF male cable, though. It's kind of unusual, but shouldn't be a problem to get one made (it's the combination which is unusual, not the plugs themselves). Another option, is to use the composite video output and the separate sound outputs. This should get you better quality. You can either plug the three cables into a scart plug (like the one that comes with the PSX/PS2), or you can plug them in directly, if you have a newer TV.

Kay
Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a1200 , gaming , a600

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 & A1200 Pure Gaming? fatboy Amiga Gaming 9 10-16-2007 06:35 AM
Want to build A1200 for WHDLOAD gaming purposes... Everblue Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 12 09-05-2007 02:57 PM
Optimum A600 configuration for gaming? Eco Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 23 06-10-2004 10:59 AM
A1200 for gaming Van_M Amiga Gaming 7 05-18-2004 09:30 PM
FS: A600, A1200, A3000 (US) adolescent Amiga Marketplace 0 04-13-2004 09:49 AM