Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Amiga 4000 sound problem  (Read 2028 times)

Description:

Offline Val451Topic starter

• Show only replies by Val451
Amiga 4000 sound problem
« on: April 27, 2009, 03:53:23 PM »
Hi all. I've not been one to post much here, but I frequent the site almost daily. My love for the Amiga computer goes back 21 years when I bought an Amiga 500. Some years later I bought an Amiga 1200 when the AGA machines hit the market. I tried to stick with it by upgrading as much as possible (GVP accelerator, additional ram, scsi interface with cd-rom, zip drive and syquest drive). Sorry to say I got drawn to the Dark Side when I saw Doom playing on a PC, and I've been using Windows machines since 1996, because of the superior FPS gaming. Still my love for the Amiga OS never died even though my machines for the most part sat unused for many years.

In 2001 I bought 2 Amiga 4000 machines from Ebay but never really sat them up properly, only checking to see if they would boot, then storing them all this time. I had hoped to buy a new system by now, following all the promises from Amiga, Inc. posted here and on other forums. Since it looked like that is never going to happen, last week I pulled one of the Amiga 4000 computers out to set it up. I also got out my 1200 and started fooling with it as well. I bought a 2GB hard drive on Ebay, and did a flawless installation on my 1200, after numerous attempts failing to get a larger hard drive to work.

Someone at work gave me 2 old 2.1GB 3.5" hard drives, so I got a brainstorm. These might work great in one of the 4000's. Several attempts later, I found myself with a functioning 4000 with the primary HD one of the 2.1GB drives given to me(the other one would not function). One problem though. No sound.