amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » General chat about Amiga topics » A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2009, 02:04 PM   #31
wawrzon
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,295, Level: 61 Points: 8,295, Level: 61 Points: 8,295, Level: 61
Activity: 71% Activity: 71% Activity: 71%
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,516
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Quote:
A plain 68000 is dead easy to emulate, but not the more complicated chips without using a very expensive FPGA. Even NatAmi go to gerber a 060 "clone".
actually they claim to have next to functional 68k softcore replacement already which is being developed parallel as option to 060 cpu-board. but other serious hardware devs deny that such is possible.
wawrzon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:15 PM   #32
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,089, Level: 77 Points: 14,089, Level: 77 Points: 14,089, Level: 77
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,228
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Poses a good question. Which is better, an emulated 060, or a stupid fast emulated 68000 with MMU and FPU?

It would probably be best to emulate an 030, though, since I believe the expansion logic in the Fast Slot is built around the 030. Am I correct?
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 05:57 PM   #33
wawrzon
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,295, Level: 61 Points: 8,295, Level: 61 Points: 8,295, Level: 61
Activity: 71% Activity: 71% Activity: 71%
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,516
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

even an emulated 68000 would have the limits of an 16bit cpu i take it (adress space and such). would be better to go for 32bit perhaps.
wawrzon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 06:04 PM   #34
Linde
Technoid
Points: 8,214, Level: 61 Points: 8,214, Level: 61 Points: 8,214, Level: 61
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 378
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Quote:
LoadWB wrote:
Poses a good question. Which is better, an emulated 060, or a stupid fast emulated 68000 with MMU and FPU?

It would probably be best to emulate an 030, though, since I believe the expansion logic in the Fast Slot is built around the 030. Am I correct?
Yes, I think 68030 has the best balance between compatibility and features, so it might be the best emulation choice if you want to speed everything up (and allow access to large amounts of ram) while remaining compatible with all those whdload games ;-)

EDIT: Or maybe just a 68020 and a MMU
Linde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 06:08 PM   #35
Rob
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,023, Level: 69 Points: 11,023, Level: 69 Points: 11,023, Level: 69
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,027
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

@terminator4

Quote:
Oh, and don't bring Elbox into the mix. I went to Cracow, Poland, and looked for 3 hours for their office - anyone that was asked had no clue where it was, even though I went to the right street etc.
Didn't you try ringing them?
Rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2009, 10:55 PM   #36
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Quote:
Linde wrote:
Quote:
LoadWB wrote:
Poses a good question. Which is better, an emulated 060, or a stupid fast emulated 68000 with MMU and FPU?

It would probably be best to emulate an 030, though, since I believe the expansion logic in the Fast Slot is built around the 030. Am I correct?
Yes, I think 68030 has the best balance between compatibility and features, so it might be the best emulation choice if you want to speed everything up (and allow access to large amounts of ram) while remaining compatible with all those whdload games ;-)

EDIT: Or maybe just a 68020 and a MMU
A 020 with instruction and data caches + burst plus a MMU is called 030. ;-)

Although it is easier to emulate than a 060, no documentation of the behaviour of such CPU are available. Still a no-go, sadly. :-(
__________________
Goodbye people.

I'll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 07:31 AM   #37
jpera
Merely Curious
Points: 4,183, Level: 41 Points: 4,183, Level: 41 Points: 4,183, Level: 41
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
jpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Why the GVP-m's accelerators can't have more than 128 MB of memory? Is it because of the memory modules (GVP-SIMMs)?
jpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2009, 11:03 AM   #38
little
Technoid
Points: 2,840, Level: 32 Points: 2,840, Level: 32 Points: 2,840, Level: 32
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
little's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 223
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

If their card can't use more than 128 mb ram and is limited to propietary memory modules they should redesign it so that it already includes a chip with 128 mb ram (and maybe use newer/cheaper DDR ram).
little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 03:21 AM   #39
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Are these guys really back? Or is this just more vapourware?

Does anyone have any details on what and when and how much?
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 04:03 AM   #40
JimmySage
Beginner
Points: 4,116, Level: 40 Points: 4,116, Level: 40 Points: 4,116, Level: 40
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Staffordshire, UK
Posts: 32
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

There are some prices on their site and they many of the products do say "In Stock" or "New" next to them.

http://www.gvp-m.com/pricejapan.html

It only seems to be '030s for us poor 1200 users
JimmySage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 05:24 AM   #41
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Pretty sure that prices page has read the same since 2003.
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:17 AM   #42
fiat1100d
Too much caffeine
Points: 6,284, Level: 51 Points: 6,284, Level: 51 Points: 6,284, Level: 51
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 140
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Quote:
little wrote:
If their card can't use more than 128 mb ram and is limited to propietary memory modules they should redesign it so that it already includes a chip with 128 mb ram (and maybe use newer/cheaper DDR ram).
Their last A2000 boards were able to use 72 pin SIMM modules as far as I know... Surely it would be much nicer to have SDRAM, but I think it would require a major redesign.
fiat1100d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:22 AM   #43
amiga92570
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,889, Level: 54 Points: 6,889, Level: 54 Points: 6,889, Level: 54
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
amiga92570's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Riverside, Ca. USA
Posts: 1,005
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Copyright 1997-2003 Great Valley Products - M Inc.
This website was last updated 13th October 2003
__________________
Amiga92570
==========================
(1) 4000T/040 (2)3000t CS 060/233ppc Picasso IV video, (2)D-box 1200 blizzard 060/200ppc Mediator fastATA, (1)amiga 1200 Power tower, (1)amiga 1200 EZ tower with mediator,1200/030/50mhz, (3) amiga 500 with CSA Mega Midget Racer and Trump card AT, (2) amiga 600 one with M-tec 030, (3) CD32 one sx32, two sx32-pro, More accessories and parts than I want to admit too. :-o
amiga92570 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:42 PM   #44
terminator4
Technoid
Points: 7,828, Level: 59 Points: 7,828, Level: 59 Points: 7,828, Level: 59
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
terminator4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 359
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Quote:
jpera wrote:
Why the GVP-m's accelerators can't have more than 128 MB of memory? Is it because of the memory modules (GVP-SIMMs)?
I have never ran out of memory on my 128MB, why the heck would i need more??? :-P
terminator4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 01:43 PM   #45
terminator4
Technoid
Points: 7,828, Level: 59 Points: 7,828, Level: 59 Points: 7,828, Level: 59
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
terminator4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 359
Default Re: A new GVP-M Accellerator production run?

Back in 2000-2003 their site did not have a phone!
I may try again one day.

Quote:
Didn't you try ringing them?
terminator4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
software_hut , accellerator , gvpm , gvp_simms , production , run

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
production numbers darule General chat about Amiga topics 1 11-08-2007 01:41 AM
Amiga 600 accellerator... a1200 Amiga Marketplace 0 06-13-2007 01:30 AM
In need of a new PPC accellerator... pyrre Amiga Marketplace 3 04-15-2007 03:13 PM
MOBO production hamtronix Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 12-29-2006 09:30 AM
WTB: A1200 accellerator 040+ Craven1200 Amiga Marketplace 7 12-24-2006 10:00 AM