amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:34 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2009, 11:58 PM   #1
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,215
Default Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

So I purchased this (extremely yellowed) 1950-B monitor from eBay. I have an adapter to get its attached video cable to fit with an A1200. Problem is that the colors are rather whacky and cannot seem to be adjusted. The top of the screen is also a bit distorted. Any thoughts as to whether the problem is the monitor, the adapter, or something else? Anyone have experience with this model of Commodore multiscan monitor? Thanks, -Dave
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:22 AM   #2
actung_bab
Cult Member
Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52 Points: 6,503, Level: 52
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
actung_bab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 650
Send a message via ICQ to actung_bab
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

hi dave found this on the amiga hardware site

The Commodore 1950 is really a rebadged AOC CM314 with an Hitachi made tube. It is a 14" monitor which supports 15Khz - 35Khz horiztonal and 50Hz - 80Hz vertical. It has a dot pitch of 0.31.

Common Problems

A sync problem may be caused by the monitor detecting sync on the Green input and then disabling the horizontal and vertical sync inputs. Removing the 10K R854 resistor or the 10uf C812 capacitor on the small vertical board may fix this. It may also cause problems of its own, so be warned. The analog/TTL switch appears to be prone to failure. However, if switching the switch brings back the picture, it may actually be that the 74LS123 (IC805) on the same board is failing. The suggested course of action is to replace (or at least resolder) this chip first, since it's a commonly available part. A defect in the way the 74LS123 is mounted may be present; there should be +5V on pin 3, but the way the chip is mounted or the board is manufactured, it may be intermittent. There should be a PCB trace between pin 3 and pin 16, however, pin 3 is not soldered to this trace, but only friction-fit (non-plated-through holes?). When the analog switch is moved, it causes intermittent contact between pin 3 and the trace. A soldered jumper to pin 16 is an easy way to fix this, or you may be able to solder to the trace already present. Another common problem is the failure of a multifunction sync chip. Replacements should be available from Sony. The high-voltage boards may crack; this can be one cause of the monitor that starts working when you hit it. A 1 megohm resistor in the second power supply's startup circuit goes bad, causing the monitor to remain dark. Replacing the resistor with a higher wattage one may help prevent

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/
__________________
Acthung baby
telnet://midnight-blue.dyndns.org
Cnet 4.60 PRO bbs software
Amiga 1200 020 14 mhz mbz 1200 z pcmcia network card 4 meg ram 2 Gb scandisk cf
Amiga 2000 020
Amiga 4000 030 25 mhz broken
Amiga x 4 1200
x 6 Sony Ps 3 Orginal 60 gb 4 port usb 160 gb hd (os 4.1 ready :-)
what can i say i like thse machines
x 3 XBOX 360 1x xbox 360 slim
url=http://avatars.jurko.net]http://img1.jurko.net/avatar_10587.jpg[/url]
actung_bab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 12:14 PM   #3
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

Right, I saw that, but it doesn't seem to be quite related to the problem I'm having (?)

Quote:
actung_bab wrote:
hi dave found this on the amiga hardware site

The Commodore 1950 is really a rebadged AOC CM314 with an Hitachi made tube. It is a 14" monitor which supports 15Khz - 35Khz horiztonal and 50Hz - 80Hz vertical. It has a dot pitch of 0.31.

Common Problems

A sync problem may be caused by the monitor detecting sync on the Green input and then disabling the horizontal and vertical sync inputs. Removing the 10K R854 resistor or the 10uf C812 capacitor on the small vertical board may fix this. It may also cause problems of its own, so be warned. The analog/TTL switch appears to be prone to failure. However, if switching the switch brings back the picture, it may actually be that the 74LS123 (IC805) on the same board is failing. The suggested course of action is to replace (or at least resolder) this chip first, since it's a commonly available part. A defect in the way the 74LS123 is mounted may be present; there should be +5V on pin 3, but the way the chip is mounted or the board is manufactured, it may be intermittent. There should be a PCB trace between pin 3 and pin 16, however, pin 3 is not soldered to this trace, but only friction-fit (non-plated-through holes?). When the analog switch is moved, it causes intermittent contact between pin 3 and the trace. A soldered jumper to pin 16 is an easy way to fix this, or you may be able to solder to the trace already present. Another common problem is the failure of a multifunction sync chip. Replacements should be available from Sony. The high-voltage boards may crack; this can be one cause of the monitor that starts working when you hit it. A 1 megohm resistor in the second power supply's startup circuit goes bad, causing the monitor to remain dark. Replacing the resistor with a higher wattage one may help prevent

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 12:51 PM   #4
Amigo-Mex
Beginner
Points: 5,152, Level: 46 Points: 5,152, Level: 46 Points: 5,152, Level: 46
Activity: 26% Activity: 26% Activity: 26%
 
Amigo-Mex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 47
Send a message via MSN to Amigo-Mex Send a message via Yahoo to Amigo-Mex
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

I have the same problem with this monitor, colors seems to be weird, and it has no hue control.. gray looks like lilac or light purple, how can I adjust the hue on this monitor??
__________________
Making amigos with other Amigas
Amigo-Mexicano
www.amigamexico.org
Plus4 -- C16 -- Vic20 -- C64 -- RetroReplayRRNet -- a500 -- a600 -- a1200 -- CD32 -- a2000 -- a3000T
----------------
Amigo-Mex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 02:15 PM   #5
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigo-Mex View Post
I have the same problem with this monitor, colors seems to be weird, and it has no hue control.. gray looks like lilac or light purple, how can I adjust the hue on this monitor??
Interesting to find out that the monitor itself did not turn out to be the problem in my case, as far as I could tell. I did not get it to work properly with my A500 OS 1.3, but it did work fine once I hooked it up on an A3000 OS 2.1 (at both frequencies). I think the older OS of the A500 does not support this monitor without some type of driver/fiddling? I don't really know for sure. What Amiga computer model are you trying to use with the monitor?
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 03:06 PM   #6
skilgannon
Premium Member
Points: 4,526, Level: 42 Points: 4,526, Level: 42 Points: 4,526, Level: 42
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
skilgannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 189
Send a message via MSN to skilgannon
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

Interesting that it worked on an A3000 as that has a built in Flicker Fixer / Scan Doubler for use on normal VGA monitors, whereas all the other Amiga's don't (not sure about the A4000)
__________________
I'm an IK+ championship winning, goal scoring superstar hero


C= Amiga 600, 3.1 ROM with ACA630, 2mb Chip, CF IDE, Easynet Wifi (once it all arrives!)
CD32; Commodore SX64; C64c, Sinclair QL; Sinclair Spectrum+; Sinclair ZX81; PS3; XBOX 360; Sega Saturn; Wii; NDS; PSP.
skilgannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 07:09 PM   #7
orb85750
Defender of the Faith
Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82 Points: 16,541, Level: 82
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
orb85750's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 1,215
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skilgannon View Post
Interesting that it worked on an A3000 as that has a built in Flicker Fixer / Scan Doubler for use on normal VGA monitors, whereas all the other Amiga's don't (not sure about the A4000)
Just to clarify, on the A3000, it worked both with the VGA port *and* with the RGB port (using my pin adapter) equally well. Of course, there's no scan doubler for the RGB port, so I think that any bizarre color issue has everything to do with the OS, but I'm not certain. Anyone else have experience with the 1950-B? I've since sold my 1950-B to a bowling ally in Canada that still uses Amiga computers for their automated scoring system!
orb85750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 02:26 AM   #8
skilgannon
Premium Member
Points: 4,526, Level: 42 Points: 4,526, Level: 42 Points: 4,526, Level: 42
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
skilgannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 189
Send a message via MSN to skilgannon
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

That's brilliant. We should start a thread on "Amiga's still being used today"
__________________
I'm an IK+ championship winning, goal scoring superstar hero


C= Amiga 600, 3.1 ROM with ACA630, 2mb Chip, CF IDE, Easynet Wifi (once it all arrives!)
CD32; Commodore SX64; C64c, Sinclair QL; Sinclair Spectrum+; Sinclair ZX81; PS3; XBOX 360; Sega Saturn; Wii; NDS; PSP.
skilgannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 08:24 AM   #9
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79 Points: 15,075, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skilgannon View Post
Interesting that it worked on an A3000 as that has a built in Flicker Fixer / Scan Doubler for use on normal VGA monitors, whereas all the other Amiga's don't (not sure about the A4000)
A4000 doesn't have a built in scandoubler, unfortunately.

Commodore 1942, 1950, and 1960 (I believe) monitors are all multisync and support 15khz modes as well as VGA-type rates.
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 12:10 PM   #10
Prosatanos
Beginner
Points: 229, Level: 4 Points: 229, Level: 4 Points: 229, Level: 4
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

I think you have a week picture tube. There is too much on the red gun, or the blue and green guns are too week. Adjusting is possible inside, try locate the r,g,b pots, normally on the panel on the tube, or near the tube wires. Sorry, i dont know this modell, i tell this generell TV/Monitor experience. Adjusting takes time, and DANGEROUS. Consult with technicians. DONT FORGET THE HIGH VOLTAGE INSIDE, WITCH EASELY KILL YOU !!!
Prosatanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 04:30 PM   #11
TjLaZer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Posts: 3,194
Send a message via ICQ to TjLaZer Send a message via MSN to TjLaZer Send a message via Yahoo to TjLaZer
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by actung_bab View Post
hi dave found this on the amiga hardware site

The Commodore 1950 is really a rebadged AOC CM314 with an Hitachi made tube. It is a 14" monitor which supports 15Khz - 35Khz horiztonal and 50Hz - 80Hz vertical. It has a dot pitch of 0.31.

Common Problems

A sync problem may be caused by the monitor detecting sync on the Green input and then disabling the horizontal and vertical sync inputs. Removing the 10K R854 resistor or the 10uf C812 capacitor on the small vertical board may fix this. It may also cause problems of its own, so be warned. The analog/TTL switch appears to be prone to failure. However, if switching the switch brings back the picture, it may actually be that the 74LS123 (IC805) on the same board is failing. The suggested course of action is to replace (or at least resolder) this chip first, since it's a commonly available part. A defect in the way the 74LS123 is mounted may be present; there should be +5V on pin 3, but the way the chip is mounted or the board is manufactured, it may be intermittent. There should be a PCB trace between pin 3 and pin 16, however, pin 3 is not soldered to this trace, but only friction-fit (non-plated-through holes?). When the analog switch is moved, it causes intermittent contact between pin 3 and the trace. A soldered jumper to pin 16 is an easy way to fix this, or you may be able to solder to the trace already present. Another common problem is the failure of a multifunction sync chip. Replacements should be available from Sony. The high-voltage boards may crack; this can be one cause of the monitor that starts working when you hit it. A 1 megohm resistor in the second power supply's startup circuit goes bad, causing the monitor to remain dark. Replacing the resistor with a higher wattage one may help prevent

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/
Thanks for posting this! I just got a Commodore 1950 with the Analog/TTL issues and did like this said and it's working great now! (solder pin 3 to pin 16 on the 74LS123 chip)
__________________
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?


Last edited by TjLaZer; 06-04-2012 at 04:46 PM..
TjLaZer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 05:43 PM   #12
TjLaZer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92 Points: 21,443, Level: 92
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Posts: 3,194
Send a message via ICQ to TjLaZer Send a message via MSN to TjLaZer Send a message via Yahoo to TjLaZer
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

DP
__________________
Going Bananas over AMIGAs since 1987...

Looking for Fusion Fourty PNG ROMs V3.4?


Last edited by TjLaZer; 06-10-2012 at 09:24 PM..
TjLaZer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2012, 08:16 PM   #13
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,755, Level: 80 Points: 15,755, Level: 80 Points: 15,755, Level: 80
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,098
Default Re: Commodore 1950-B multiscan monitor help?

The 1950 monitors are notorious for having problems. Expect problems if you buy one.
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
multiscan , monitor , commodore , 1950b

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: 50hz VGA capable Monitor or Commodore 1950, 1942, 1960 Crom00 Amiga Marketplace 3 11-08-2007 11:53 PM
commodore amiga 1950 VGA monitor SOLD 23703jim Amiga Marketplace 0 07-13-2007 09:37 PM
FOR SALE COMMODORE AMIGA 1950 VGA MONITOR 23703jim Amiga Marketplace 0 06-28-2007 06:38 AM
SONY Multiscan 100GS Monitor zombi Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 05-31-2007 10:42 PM
commodore 1950 monitor 23703jim Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 05-23-2006 10:49 AM