amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Indivision installation with hard drive

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2009, 06:02 PM   #1
KatManDEW
Technoid
Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
KatManDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 346
Default Indivision installation with hard drive

I just got the Indivision for my A1200. How should the hard drive be mounted after the Indivsion is installed?

Even if the RF shield is modified, the hard drive would still have to sit directly on top of the indivsion, right?
__________________
A1000
A1200 - Indivision. Apollo 1240.
A2000 - GVP 040-16 meg, 2 meg chip, CD-RW, Flicker Fixer, Picasso II, 8 Up, 286 Bridgecard, OS 3.9
A2000HD #2 - 8 meg RAM, Genlock, Tower case
KatManDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 07:14 PM   #2
ZeBeeDee
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,998, Level: 63 Points: 8,998, Level: 63 Points: 8,998, Level: 63
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
ZeBeeDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Since there's no room for them both to comfortably co-exist in the case, I would move the HD outside of the A1200 into an electronics 'project enclosure' from a local radioshack store then connect via an extra long IDE cable from amigakit.com to the internal IDE interface.

The worst thing to do is cut a little slot for the cable entry for both the A1200 and the enclosure using a Dremel. A steady hand is all thats needed :-)

A cheap yet easy solution to your problem :-)
__________________
To err is human ... to BOING divine!

ZeBeeDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 07:19 PM   #3
brianb
Technoid
Points: 3,096, Level: 34 Points: 3,096, Level: 34 Points: 3,096, Level: 34
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 175
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

I'm going to use a CF card reader such as this...

http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?n=2635=10

I have the reader, just no Indivision... One day, i hope... If you still have a "real" hard drive in the system, you're going to have to get creative.



brianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 07:20 PM   #4
ZeBeeDee
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,998, Level: 63 Points: 8,998, Level: 63 Points: 8,998, Level: 63
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
ZeBeeDee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,081
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Using a CF interface makes the problem even easier to solve ... again using a longer IDE cable, all you'd need then is some self-adhesive velcro to stick the interface to the Indivision.

Job's a good 'un!
__________________
To err is human ... to BOING divine!

ZeBeeDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 07:43 PM   #5
KatManDEW
Technoid
Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
KatManDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 346
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Thanks for the ideas.

I tried laying the hard drive on the Indivision, but I get whacky colors when I do that. I get whacky colors if I look at my A1200 crooked while the Indivision is installed :-o (that's delicate mounting method for the Indivision...)

I thought about a CF for a hard drive, but I think I'm gonna have to rethink things anyway, because I also got a Apollo 1240 accelerator, and I don't see anyway that the stock keyboard can be used with it installed, so a tower case seems like it might be the only real solution. A tower case would allow me to install one or more hard drives, away from the motherboard and the Indivision.
__________________
A1000
A1200 - Indivision. Apollo 1240.
A2000 - GVP 040-16 meg, 2 meg chip, CD-RW, Flicker Fixer, Picasso II, 8 Up, 286 Bridgecard, OS 3.9
A2000HD #2 - 8 meg RAM, Genlock, Tower case
KatManDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 07:57 PM   #6
brianb
Technoid
Points: 3,096, Level: 34 Points: 3,096, Level: 34 Points: 3,096, Level: 34
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 175
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

That's weird about the indivision and colors. You sure it made a good connection when you installed? What are your thoughts on the Indivision board so far? I'm thinking of getting one, and curious on peoples experiences...

thanks.


brianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 08:06 PM   #7
KatManDEW
Technoid
Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
KatManDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 346
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Quote:
brianb wrote:
That's weird about the indivision and colors. You sure it made a good connection when you installed? What are your thoughts on the Indivision board so far? I'm thinking of getting one, and curious on peoples experiences...

thanks.
It's a delicate connection. If you don't get it seated correctly, you get real funky colors, or worse... I've gotten it seated real well, so it works properly, but I've screwed it up by just digging around inside my A1200 installing an accelerator, or moving the hard drive around. It doesn't take much to jog it loose enough to screw it up.

I really like it, but I wish there were more screen modes available than what come with HighGFX40 (which I had to get from Aminet). 1024x768 makes for really tiny icons and text on a 15 inch monitor. I will eventually hook it to a bigger monitor, but not until I finish upgrading my A1200.

Along the upgrade note - my unacclerated A1200 is real slow in 1024x768 mode with the Indivision. Windows open and close real slow...

One other note - I haven't figured out what to do about my hard drive, and the RF shield - and I get some narly looking vertical bands on my display. The monitor works fine on other machines, so it's not the monitor.
__________________
A1000
A1200 - Indivision. Apollo 1240.
A2000 - GVP 040-16 meg, 2 meg chip, CD-RW, Flicker Fixer, Picasso II, 8 Up, 286 Bridgecard, OS 3.9
A2000HD #2 - 8 meg RAM, Genlock, Tower case
KatManDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 08:34 PM   #8
brianb
Technoid
Points: 3,096, Level: 34 Points: 3,096, Level: 34 Points: 3,096, Level: 34
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 175
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

I was under the impression the indivision could handle just about any resolution, both ntsc or pal. Not true? Or are you just talking about more hires modes?

Anything over 640x480 32color gets to be a dog on a stock A1200... IMHO

Do you need the rf shield? I'm debating on modification or just removing... Some people go without, and have no issue...

good luck...



brianb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 08:38 PM   #9
Jule
Beginner
Points: 4,821, Level: 44 Points: 4,821, Level: 44 Points: 4,821, Level: 44
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 28
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

I don't remember exactly how I did it, but I managed to fit the hard drive back in the case and close it all up. I think I duct taped some cardboard over the hole left by cutting away the rf shield with my dremel. I took off the drive sled and taped the drive with duct tape to the cardboard. It was all fairly secure when I finished, but how long that will last, I don't know.
Jule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 09:14 PM   #10
save2600
Premium Member
Points: 19,717, Level: 88 Points: 19,717, Level: 88 Points: 19,717, Level: 88
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Southern, WI USA
Posts: 3,102
Send a message via Yahoo to save2600
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Mounting the HD and Indivision should not pose much of a problem. On my A1200, I simply moved the HD down (to the right) and velcro'd it on top of the RF shield, sort of behind the floppy. It fit perfectly...
__________________
Cash paid or will trade for loose and CIB Amiga games I need. Game manuals and boxes only too! Will purchase in large lots as well.
save2600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 09:23 PM   #11
KatManDEW
Technoid
Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
KatManDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 346
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Quote:
brianb wrote:
I was under the impression the indivision could handle just about any resolution, both ntsc or pal. Not true? Or are you just talking about more hires modes?

Anything over 640x480 32color gets to be a dog on a stock A1200... IMHO

Do you need the rf shield? I'm debating on modification or just removing... Some people go without, and have no issue...

good luck...
I think the max it will do is 1024x768, but I haven't played with it much yet so I'm not sure. I'm running basic NTSC high res laced for the moment, while I'm playing with some other upgrades, so that I still have a display on my stock Amiga monitor if something goes wrong...
__________________
A1000
A1200 - Indivision. Apollo 1240.
A2000 - GVP 040-16 meg, 2 meg chip, CD-RW, Flicker Fixer, Picasso II, 8 Up, 286 Bridgecard, OS 3.9
A2000HD #2 - 8 meg RAM, Genlock, Tower case
KatManDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 10:09 PM   #12
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,541
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

1) Take the upper RF shield and throw it in the bin.
2) This is my first attempt a mounting a CF Nova's 1200. I've since improved on this method by cable tying the CF to the IdeAdaptor which I've moved off to the left. You can also get a small vertical compact flash module that plugs straight in your MB.
3) If you're running HighGFX at 1024x768 you must drop your colour depth to make it move at a reasonable speed (<=64 colors). I'm planning on running mine at 640x512 with 128 colours when they release HighGFX Extreme (maybe even 256 colours if I can get a speed boost from FBlit!).



NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 09:08 AM   #13
murple
Cult Member
Points: 6,400, Level: 52 Points: 6,400, Level: 52 Points: 6,400, Level: 52
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 579
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

I really wish I'd been aware of this before forking over the money for an Indivision a few days ago. I'm actually kinda pissed off reading this, it would've been a helpful thing to put in the Indivision marketing information. I most likely wouldn't have bought one had I been fully informed, which perhaps is why they conveniently neglected to leave such a critical piece of information out.

If I can't figure out a way to get a hard drive to fit in there with the Indivision, I'm going to go from "kinda pissed off" to "%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!ing furious" real quick.
murple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 10:57 AM   #14
tone007
sad moaning faced git
Points: 15,248, Level: 79 Points: 15,248, Level: 79 Points: 15,248, Level: 79
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
tone007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 3,215
Send a message via AIM to tone007
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Uh oh, somebody didn't do their homework.
__________________
3 Commodore file cabinets, 2 Commodore USB turntables, 1 AmigaWorld beer mug
Alienware M14x i7 laptop running AmigaForever
tone007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 11:12 AM   #15
KatManDEW
Technoid
Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41 Points: 4,184, Level: 41
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
KatManDEW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 346
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

@murple: My hard drive is just laying on the Indivision now, and everything is working OK now. I must have finally gotten the Indivision seated good the last time. I do not have the RF shield installed.

As save2600 said, you can probably move the hard drive, provided you have enough cable. But I think you will still need to cut out part of the RF shield where the Indivision sits.
__________________
A1000
A1200 - Indivision. Apollo 1240.
A2000 - GVP 040-16 meg, 2 meg chip, CD-RW, Flicker Fixer, Picasso II, 8 Up, 286 Bridgecard, OS 3.9
A2000HD #2 - 8 meg RAM, Genlock, Tower case
KatManDEW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 12:34 PM   #16
delshay
Cult Member
Points: 10,567, Level: 68 Points: 10,567, Level: 68 Points: 10,567, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 976
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

from my point of view A1200 users should move foward and go for compactflash.

something like this

http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?n=2888=10

here it is mounted with indivision. this project was booted with compactflash and then a micro-sd card OS4.

here http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?n=2884=10

both cards are working *cableless*.

__________________
-------------
power is nothing without control
delshay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 12:36 PM   #17
darksun9210
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,054, Level: 69 Points: 11,054, Level: 69 Points: 11,054, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
darksun9210's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via Skype™ to darksun9210
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

hmmm, glad i read this, and sorry to hear you're having problems. but i'm kinda unsure to plunk down the readies for an indivision or three now.

my main PPC/bvision powered machine has had no top RF shield ever since i first got the ppc/bivison combo, and no ill effects. and my A500 has had no top shield .... since i can't remember when... my other two 1200's still have their RF shields inplace but it's not a concern if they have to be removed later. i just like the idea of "completeness" :-)

what does prey on my mind is that, running a hires 31khz VGA+ alike screen just off the normal AGA chipset causes ... is it alice? to get really hot. to the point where artifacts appear on screen. this can be avoided with heat sinks in on the relevant chips, but from what i can figure, doesn't the indivision sit on that same chip to get at the display connections?

--edit--
after looking at delshay's photos, i was wrong, it connects to a different chip. my bad, sorry :-)

does using an indivision avoid the heat problem that causes graphics issues as the AGA chips themselves aren't having to work so hard?
and as previously mentioned, where does the hard disk go?
so we've got a hot chip, stuck in a socket under a circuit board, with is under a warm/hot drive.
i think i'm going to go the compact flash route for my main machine - all my others are, and will probably end up velcro'ing it to the under side of the keyboard. if i get an indivision.... IF....

also if i like it, i'll probably want to kit out every AGA machine i've got with one.. $$$$
__________________

"Fat Rock lobster" A500 maxed out
"Mini Monster" A600 maxed out
"The Reliable One" A1200/030
"Mr Toasty" A1200/040
"Cooling nightmare" A1200/PPC
"If only I had this 20 years ago" A3000/060
"one more miggy can't hurt" A4000/040
"kid suckered by advertising" CD32
darksun9210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 12:48 PM   #18
delshay
Cult Member
Points: 10,567, Level: 68 Points: 10,567, Level: 68 Points: 10,567, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 976
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

funny i have a problem too..after about 15-20 mins a get a red screen. after this the amiga refuse to boot.

if i remove the indivision it works fine.

i changed a few SM components & the s-video output inproved.

i think i known what the problem is,will post if found.
__________________
-------------
power is nothing without control
delshay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 12:57 PM   #19
DoogUK
Technoid
Points: 2,067, Level: 27 Points: 2,067, Level: 27 Points: 2,067, Level: 27
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 344
Send a message via AIM to DoogUK
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

I've had my reservations about the Indy, but after seeing several photos of one in action on a 21" widescreen my minds made up....i want one!
__________________
a1200T/040@40/64mb/10 gig/CWB
a600/3.5mb/3.25gb
a1200/blizz 040@40/128mb/4gb compact flash/CWB A4000/40
DoogUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 03:26 PM   #20
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69 Points: 10,966, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,541
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Indivision installation with hard drive

Quote:
darksun9210 wrote:
what does prey on my mind is that, running a hires 31khz VGA+ alike screen just off the normal AGA chipset causes ... is it alice? to get really hot. to the point where artifacts appear on screen. this can be avoided with heat sinks in on the relevant chips..
That's not accurate Mr Sun, it's actually a MB bug which can be fixed by shorting out a resistor. I had this issue with my ID4 and it was driving me crazy (I thought it was a problem with the Indivision) until I discovered this MB bug. Now my display is rock-solid in all modes and looks sharper than it did before I performed the mod :-D
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
indivision , installation , drive , hard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive installation probs Shaun Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 10-25-2007 02:11 PM
hard drive installation nineoc Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 08-18-2006 01:41 PM
Hard Drive Installation DrDekker Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 04-10-2006 05:43 PM
A1200 hard drive installation FFS problem vectraman Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 9 12-16-2004 08:27 AM
Questions regarding the installation of a hard drive MontrealCL Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 07-07-2004 04:45 PM