amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:20 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 06:50 AM   #1
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,319
Default Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

Thinking about the A1000 Mobo rebuild, that was done so magnificently.

Is any one concidering doing the same thing with either the A500, A600 or A1200??

Please don't sugget that I can do it myself, because I can't..
__________________
SAM 440 As main Amiga
Alien Air Attack html5 version.
yssing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:08 AM   #2
skurk
Cult Member
Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
skurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 929
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

Minimig? Clone-A? Or are you thinking of a drop-in replacement?
__________________
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
skurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:27 AM   #3
bloodline
Master Sock Abuser
Points: 39,477, Level: 100 Points: 39,477, Level: 100 Points: 39,477, Level: 100
Activity: 36% Activity: 36% Activity: 36%
 
bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 11,961
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

Quote:
yssing wrote:
Thinking about the A1000 Mobo rebuild, that was done so magnificently.

Is any one concidering doing the same thing with either the A500, A600 or A1200??
To what end? The A1000 mobo was quite limited, the A500/600/1200 motherboards on the other hand were well suited to their requirments... Access did build a custom mobo using A1200 parts, that was designed to fit in a 5.25" drive bay...
__________________
My iPhone Game: Puny Humans -
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puny-...362230281?mt=8
bloodline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 09:50 AM   #4
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

I was thinking of a drop-in replacement.
With 030/882 32 Meg ram like the A1000 rebuild, maybe even with GFX card.
__________________
SAM 440 As main Amiga
Alien Air Attack html5 version.
yssing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 09:59 AM   #5
darksun9210
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,054, Level: 69 Points: 11,054, Level: 69 Points: 11,054, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
darksun9210's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: London, England
Posts: 1,170
Send a message via Skype™ to darksun9210
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

how about an A1200 mainboard?

i think the clone-a is supposed to be something like this, but i'm not sure it'll be amiga formfactor, or standard PC sizes like ITX etc.
__________________

"Fat Rock lobster" A500 maxed out
"Mini Monster" A600 maxed out
"The Reliable One" A1200/030
"Mr Toasty" A1200/040
"Cooling nightmare" A1200/PPC
"If only I had this 20 years ago" A3000/060
"one more miggy can't hurt" A4000/040
"kid suckered by advertising" CD32
darksun9210 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 12:00 PM   #6
toca180
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,180, Level: 46 Points: 5,180, Level: 46 Points: 5,180, Level: 46
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
toca180's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kent, UK
Posts: 113
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

Quote:
yssing wrote:
I was thinking of a drop-in replacement.
With 030/882 32 Meg ram like the A1000 rebuild, maybe even with GFX card.
That would be amazing for the 500. Not sure how may other people would want one though as the 1200 seems more popular, but for me the 500 is my favourite.

Robert
__________________
A1200 (Dead :-( OS 3.1/3.1, 030@33, 882@33, 2/8MB RAM, 1.4GB HDD
A500 OS 3.1/3.1, 020@14, 882@14, 0.5/6.5MB RAM, A590 2GB SCSI HDD, CD ROM, Mas Player
A600 OS 2.1/2.05, 000@7, 1/0MB RAM

Commodore
Vic 20 1530
64C 1541, 1530
128 1530
C16 1531
toca180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:45 PM   #7
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

well if it would be possible with an "up-to-date" A500 mobo replacement, with.. ahem... "modern" features, then , that would be the choice for me..
There are so many old A500 out there, where the chips works perfectly. And with the Zorro slot its very easy to expand, more so than the A1200.
Also, the casing of the A500 have more room for extras, like build in CD-ROM, and so on... Give it a PCMCIA slot, and you could, in theory add just about anything..
Build in ide or sata controller.... would be nice..
__________________
SAM 440 As main Amiga
Alien Air Attack html5 version.
yssing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:52 PM   #8
B00tDisk
VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
Points: 12,757, Level: 73 Points: 12,757, Level: 73 Points: 12,757, Level: 73
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
B00tDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,587
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

Quote:
yssing wrote:
There are so many old A500 out there, where the chips works perfectly. And with the Zorro slot its very easy to expand, more so than the A1200.
Yeah, but 7mhz bus...yowch...
__________________
Back away from the EU-SSR!
B00tDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:55 PM   #9
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72 Points: 12,154, Level: 72
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,319
Default Re: Rebuilding A500 Mobo??

That is why you need to update a bit
__________________
SAM 440 As main Amiga
Alien Air Attack html5 version.
yssing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
rebuilding , mobo , a500

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 rebuilding project, any help? iconoclaST Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 7 02-11-2009 02:30 PM
A500 MoBo rev.6A with 8372A onboard - upgrade to 1MB chip Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 08-17-2007 07:58 PM
A500+ Rev 8a mobo IDE I/F? LoadWB Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 08-07-2007 01:25 PM
x86 mobo in A500/600 case Ranchu Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 32 07-04-2007 12:10 PM
A500 Mobo & other bits Ozimandius Amiga Marketplace 2 07-26-2005 06:34 AM