amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion MiniMig with AGA

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2010, 03:07 AM   #31
dougal
Defender of the Faith
Points: 17,545, Level: 84 Points: 17,545, Level: 84 Points: 17,545, Level: 84
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
dougal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Malta
Posts: 1,211
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

This is very interesting news indeed. Good luck with the project.
__________________
A1200HD- Blizzard 1230IV / 64Mb / Kick 3.1 / OS 3.9 / 20GB HD / Indivision
A2000 Rev4.4 - '030 @25Mhz / 8MB / Kick 3.1 / ClassicWB
CD32 - Stock (W/ 2 CD32 Controllers]
A500 Plus - 68000 @ 7Mhz / 2MB Chipmem / 2Mb Fast ram / 2.04/Kick1.3 / A590
A600HD - 2MB Chip / 8MB Fast / 2GB CF HD / Kick 3.1
Various Spare A500's and A500 Plus's

PowerMac G4 1Ghz (MorphOS / Leopard)

http://amigamap.com/user/172
dougal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 03:18 AM   #32
Linde
Technoid
Points: 8,214, Level: 61 Points: 8,214, Level: 61 Points: 8,214, Level: 61
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 378
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
I have to say this is quite nice stuff. Now it just needs the 020 core.
I think MikeJ has a nice and fast 030 core in the works.
Linde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 03:23 AM   #33
ognix
Technoid
Points: 8,023, Level: 60 Points: 8,023, Level: 60 Points: 8,023, Level: 60
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
ognix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Udine, ITALY
Posts: 242
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Linde View Post
I think MikeJ has a nice and fast 030 core in the works.
If so (030), this is the REAL "NEW" affordable thing people are waiting for!
Excellent work without advertisig it!
Go on!
ognix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:00 AM   #34
zylesea
Cult Member
Points: 7,729, Level: 58 Points: 7,729, Level: 58 Points: 7,729, Level: 58
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
zylesea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bielefed, F.R.Germany
Posts: 555
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Hats off - this is really nice work!
zylesea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:25 AM   #35
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Great work.

Does this mean an FPGA board capable of using an external 68060 present may be available soon? This would be very good news.
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 05:36 AM   #36
kolla
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71 Points: 11,772, Level: 71
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 1,701
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Is it possible to use higher screensizes, like HighGfx' 1024x768 or similar?
It would be nice to see a (hopefully) quick demo of HAM8 workbench
__________________
-- kolla

Last edited by kolla; 02-22-2010 at 06:05 AM.. Reason: Huh, HAM8, not HAL8... (wtf?)
kolla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 07:35 AM   #37
Dr_Righteous
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,353, Level: 61 Points: 8,353, Level: 61 Points: 8,353, Level: 61
Activity: 31% Activity: 31% Activity: 31%
 
Dr_Righteous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

One step closer to the allusive Amiga laptop.

...sans UAE that is.
__________________
- Doc

A4000D, A3640 OC-36.3MHz, custom tower, Mediator A4000D. Diamond Banshee 16M, Indivision AGA 4000, GVP HC+8.

Mac Mini 1.5GHz, that might run MorphOS someday, when the fools who own it come to the realization that 30 minutes just isn't enough time to play with it enough to decide whether or not you like it enough to cough up $200.

- Someone please design SOME kind of DIY accelerator for the A4000. -
Dr_Righteous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:11 AM   #38
TheGoose
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75 Points: 13,413, Level: 75
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
TheGoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Moon
Posts: 1,458
Blog Entries: 9
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Cool. I don't need this, but I would be compelled to buy it.
__________________
G1200, A3000D, A1200 PPC AOS4.0C

I'm on Google +
TheGoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:25 AM   #39
koshman
Technoid
Points: 2,884, Level: 32 Points: 2,884, Level: 32 Points: 2,884, Level: 32
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
koshman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Posts: 427
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Well, do you need ANY of your Amigas?
__________________
- Radim

A1200D - 68060/80, 64MB RAM, 4GB CF, Buffalo WLAN card
A3000D - 68030/25, 16MB RAM, Cybervision 64/3D, X-Surf
A500 - 68000/7, 2,5MB RAM
koshman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:58 AM   #40
B00tDisk
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
B00tDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,580
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

For the first time in close to 20 years, I'm actually interested in buying some dedicated Amiga hardware.

I don't need it, WinUAE is faster, but %&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!%&$#?@!it I'm a hardware kind of guy (ask me about my PII/400 rig I'm building - go ahead, I dare you! ), and this excites me!

Can't wait until I can acquire one.
__________________
Back away from the EU-SSR!
B00tDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 09:31 AM   #41
CSixx
Technoid
Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48 Points: 5,719, Level: 48
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Tacoma, Wa
Posts: 312
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Please continue with this great work!
I'd buy one immediately
CSixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 09:48 AM   #42
Tripitaka
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,603, Level: 65 Points: 9,603, Level: 65 Points: 9,603, Level: 65
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
Tripitaka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,286
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
I have implemented all the AGA features into the Minimig core using MikeJ's Replay board. You can watch it running on YouTube.



As there is no 68020+ IP core available the TG68 CPU core is used. It runs at 7.09 MHz with no bus latency and according to SysInfo is 1.85 faster than a stock A1200.

The 64 MB of DDR SDRAM is configured as 2 MB Chip, 1.5 MB Slow, 8 MB Fast and 48 MB of extra memory which can be used as additional Chip memory. You can have 50 MB of Chip RAM in total.
Man, if my arms could reach to Poland I'd hug you right now. Sir. I salute you, fantastic work.
__________________
Falling into a dark and red rage.
Tripitaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 10:57 AM   #43
DyLucke
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,931, Level: 33 Points: 2,931, Level: 33 Points: 2,931, Level: 33
Activity: 12% Activity: 12% Activity: 12%
 
DyLucke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: MuppetLand - Spain
Posts: 129
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Great job indeed, now we only need to have a 020 core implemented and it will be a PERFECT replacement for our old A1200's. I doubt that the most of the stuff would work on a 68K processor, no matter the speed.
__________________
The only way for evil to triumph is for good men to do nothing.
Edmund Burke.

A1200 Blizzard 060/66 64MB FastRam + 40GB HDD + Subway USB.
A1200 Apollo 040/33 32MB FastRam + 40GB HDD.
CD32!!!!
A500 4MB + 2GB IDE-CF adapter.
Mac Mini G4 1,5ghz waiting for MorphOS.
C64, C64C, C64G, C128... 1541U-II.
Atari STe... SatanDisk, Atari 130XE... SDNuxx
DyLucke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:32 AM   #44
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piru View Post
I guess that chipmem size modifier works by adjusting mh_Upper and calling FreeMem() for the area to add? (that's how I would do it)
Actually I'm calling AddMemList() function with MEMF_CHIP attribute.
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 11:42 AM   #45
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,342
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: MiniMig with AGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Actually I'm calling AddMemList() function with MEMF_CHIP attribute.
Is there room inside the Minimig v1.x FPGA for your AGA core? Or the C-One?
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
aga , pimp , minimig , awesome

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: MiniMig Astral Amiga Marketplace 0 02-01-2009 03:19 AM
Just got my Minimig! slobu General chat about Amiga topics 6 09-19-2008 06:22 PM
Would you pay 226 for a minimig? Everblue General chat about Amiga topics 56 01-17-2008 03:35 AM
FA: Minimig McVenco Amiga Marketplace 24 10-20-2007 11:43 PM
what is minimig? rednova General chat about Amiga topics 1 09-08-2007 04:25 PM