amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 68060 socket

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 08:04 AM   #1
Miloo
Technoid
Points: 2,735, Level: 31 Points: 2,735, Level: 31 Points: 2,735, Level: 31
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 165
Default 68060 socket

Where can I get a 68060 cpu socket from, I've tried ebay and various electronics sites but no luck.

I want to desolder my 68060 cpu on my blizzard to allow me to swap cpu's as I want to put a revision 6 '060 in its place.
__________________
A1200/68882/AMD Slot A 1Ghz in EZPC case, Blizzard 060@66Mhz/SCSI IV, PortJnr, 194Mb fast ram, 4Gb CF HD, OS 3.9, Indivision AGA
Miloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 11:34 PM   #2
Castellen
Cult Member
Points: 10,911, Level: 69 Points: 10,911, Level: 69 Points: 10,911, Level: 69
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 974
Default Re: 68060 socket

If Digi-Key don't have anything, then you can make a socket using 2.54mm pitch single in-line socket strips. e.g. Farnell part number 1218868. I've written a guide on doing this for BGA mounting sockets, but it's a similar idea for leaded sockets.

However, desoldering the existing CPU is a fairly tricky job. The board is at least 6 or 8 layers, if you damage the plating in one hole, which is very easy to do given the fine tolerances of the CPU pins, PCB holes and PCB track widths, then you're stuck with a dead unit. Hot air would be your best bet, but still a bit risky.

Probably not a good idea unless you're well experienced with soldering and you have a good reason for needing to replace the CPU, such as you know the old one is faulty.
Castellen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 02:03 PM   #3
rodney37
Beginner
Points: 677, Level: 13 Points: 677, Level: 13 Points: 677, Level: 13
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: 68060 socket

I would have to agree with Castellen about this.

Desoldering the 68060 CPU is a big task with such a rare and expensive PCB, even for experienced technicians. And there is the risk of accidentally damaging the circuit board. True, with hot air you can loosen any 'sticky' pins after desoldering all of them just before dropping the CPU out of the PCB, which is the way to do it of course, but still you are taking a risk doing this since a lot of heat is required to raise all the pins to a high enough temperature.

I replaced the -socketed- 68040 on my Blizzard 2040 with a rev. 6 68060 including the required modifications and found that it still needs some slight cooling air across the bare chip or a passive heatsink to keep it running as cool as you read about this rev. 6 version. Without any air displacement the bare CPU still does get a bit too warm to leave it like that for my feeling.

Of course, had it been a soldered 68040, I would still have desoldered it to gain the speed advantage, however if it already was a 68060, I would have felt it's not worth it. I would have made sure it was sufficiently cooled to keep it at the same cool temp as the rev 6 one is.
rodney37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
socket , 68060

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB : 68060 socket and Apollo voltage regulator alexh Amiga Marketplace 4 05-09-2009 06:15 PM
68060 in a 68040 socket? mchaggis Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 03-20-2009 06:27 PM
socket for 68060 Boot_WB Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 11-03-2005 04:53 PM
Faulty 68060 Socket, how to repair? ShawnDude Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 01-02-2005 08:32 PM
Can I replace the 68060/50 with a 68060/75 on Phase5 Blizzard 1260? keropi Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 11-26-2004 03:13 AM