amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2008, 11:25 AM   #1
Metalguy66
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,913, Level: 39 Points: 3,913, Level: 39 Points: 3,913, Level: 39
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Metalguy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 108
Default A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Does anyone own an A-Squared Live! Frame Grabber?

Near as I can tell, there were three versions of this hardware made. The first was a sidecar for the A1000, and later, A500 and A2000(internal) versions were made and packaged with Elan's Invision Plus software.

I am looking for the original Live! software/installation disks, as well as the Elan Invision Plus software disks that came with this hardware.

Also, any third-party or shareware applications that support this hardware and/or programming information would be very useful.

Thanks.
Metalguy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 12:46 PM   #2
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

I have one which came from an old Bodega Bay I acquired many years ago. No installation disks, unfortunately, and the hard drive was bad, so no software, period.

As far as the board version goes, BBoAH lists v3 and v6 cards, of which the v3 are pics of mine.

Good luck on your hunt. Any results are surely appreciated here.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2008, 07:22 PM   #3
SACC-guy
Technoid
Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
SACC-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 328
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

I have the Live1000 and two Live2000 with the install software. I got the Live2000 used and had to hunt down the install software, but I did find it.
I also had the Live500, but I gave it away after I gave my 500 up.

I used the Mandala software as an interface for dance with special needs children. It was great!

Also used the very vivid interactor program.
I bought the Invision software as well.

But...I'm not willing to sell these items.
But...how else can I help?

Michael
SACC-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 08:52 AM   #4
Metalguy66
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,913, Level: 39 Points: 3,913, Level: 39 Points: 3,913, Level: 39
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Metalguy66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 108
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

You could .dms the disks for us. We already have the harware. We are just looking for the software..

I've got the A2000 card, and the A500 side-car.
In fact, Ive even got the manuals (A-squared Live and Invision Plus), boxes, quick reference cards, registration cards, etc... But the disks are long gone... Pretty sure I had them at one time, but I got rid of about 6,000 floppies a while back.. heh. because I THOUGHT that they were all included in a massive DVD archive I recieved from a friend..

Lesson: No matter how much you get accused of being a "packrat," you should hold on to your stuff.. because the minute you get rid of something, you'll need it again..





Metalguy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2008, 09:57 AM   #5
beller
Cult Member
Points: 7,549, Level: 57 Points: 7,549, Level: 57 Points: 7,549, Level: 57
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
beller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 588
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Boy, isn't that the truth! I moved in '89 and lost a ton of C64 software and, in the late '90s, Amiga hardware/software and CDTV stuff! I've learned my lesson!

Hey SacGuy, one of those ALive 2000 boards may have been mine! I don't recall many other SACC members having one. Not sure how many of those Put's ordered!

Regarding Elan, you can find Daniel Kaye at his new job with Rocketlife. He and Digital Creations/Play developer Randy Jongens both are involved in the company.

Bob
beller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 02:22 AM   #6
SACC-guy
Technoid
Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
SACC-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 328
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

@beller

Well, Bob, I bought the used ALive2000 from Chris Riffey.
If it was yours....why didn't you include the install disk?
I bugged poor Chris for weeks for the original disk.

After I found the Very Vivid Mandala software I really started using the Live boards. Later finding the Elan software.

For me the issue was just wishing, that everything was together in one package.

Michael
SACC-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 02:26 AM   #7
SACC-guy
Technoid
Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66 Points: 9,864, Level: 66
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
SACC-guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Posts: 328
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

@metalguy66,

I'm sorry, but I don't know dms...
I still couldn't un-lha things if I didn't have opus. (sigh)

Michael
SACC-guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 10:40 AM   #8
beller
Cult Member
Points: 7,549, Level: 57 Points: 7,549, Level: 57 Points: 7,549, Level: 57
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
beller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 588
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Quote:
SACC-guy wrote:
@beller

Well, Bob, I bought the used ALive2000 from Chris Riffey.
If it was yours....why didn't you include the install disk?
I bugged poor Chris for weeks for the original disk.

Michael

Its been sooo long ago I haven't a clue who I sold it to. I always try to include everything I've got, and especially install disks.

You ended up with a better alternative..the original software was fairly useless except for getting a WOW when you demo'd it.

Bob
beller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 02:42 AM   #9
magnetic
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,168
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

SACC Guy
Reviving this old thread. Do you still have the Mandala software for Amiga Live! boards? I have a couple of them and want to get a system up. Please let me know thanks.
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS |OS4.1 U4|Ubuntu GNU-Linux |MacOS X

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 2mb Chip |21mb Fast Ram | Vampire FPGA Accelerator 68000@87 mhz | ClassicWB 68k

Amiga 500 | 1.3 rom| 5mb Ram |Tom Thule 68k IDE upgrade w/ Dual CF cards | Live! 500 board

Amiga Micronik 1300 |Tower 3.1 Roms | 5 Zorro 2 Slots | AGA
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:03 AM   #10
hardlink
Cult Member
Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Springy, MD
Posts: 586
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
SACC Guy
Reviving this old thread. Do you still have the Mandala software for Amiga Live! boards? I have a couple of them and want to get a system up. Please let me know thanks.
I have the Mandala software, legal disks even, which I bought years ago from someone at college in Pennsylvania one spring. I didn't install it right away, but when I did, I found out it needed a hardware dongle like Scala! Which, of course, was not sent with the disks. By this time, he had gone home/graduated, and I was never able to track him back down.

I heard that there were dongle-less versions, but I've never been able to track one down - or a dongle. Anybody know what happened to Vivid Group?
hardlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:08 PM   #11
magnetic
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,168
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Hardlink

That is interesting. Would you be willing to make copies of the disks for me. I think you should .dms them for all of us. Vivid Group is now defunct AFAIK. I recently researched them and their site is down (now its pron) I dont think they are around anymore but we can still look. Maybe one of the original programmers is still around...
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS |OS4.1 U4|Ubuntu GNU-Linux |MacOS X

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 2mb Chip |21mb Fast Ram | Vampire FPGA Accelerator 68000@87 mhz | ClassicWB 68k

Amiga 500 | 1.3 rom| 5mb Ram |Tom Thule 68k IDE upgrade w/ Dual CF cards | Live! 500 board

Amiga Micronik 1300 |Tower 3.1 Roms | 5 Zorro 2 Slots | AGA
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:27 PM   #12
hardlink
Cult Member
Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Springy, MD
Posts: 586
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnetic View Post
Hardlink

That is interesting. Would you be willing to make copies of the disks for me. I think you should .dms them for all of us. Vivid Group is now defunct AFAIK...Maybe one of the original programmers is still around...
I seem to have boxes of Amiga floppies almost to the ceiling, so it may take awhile to find. Since the program is unusable without the dongle, it's mainly of historical interest ...

Calum Tsang, who used to be maintainer of the Amiga 3000 Hardware Technical Notes, worked at Vivid Group, although not a programmer. He is very active on the web now and apparently works for RIM; perhaps someone with a little time could contact him and see if he knows what happened to the tech people (who knows, maybe he still works with them.



Woha! It's coming back to me now - there was something better than Mandala. From the web page:

http://philosborn.joeuser.com/article/15624

"Meanwhile, one-man-show Tensor Productions, created a Mandala clone for the Amiga and then for the PC, but preserving all the programmability and other functionality of the Amiga version, unlike Mandala, and sold it at a tiny fraction of what Vivid was asking for a vastly inferior system. However, Joe Shen (Tensor) also feared patent suits, and so he never tried to seriously market his product. Dean Friedman ended up as Joe's only customer,* and finally he put the Amiga version of his CyberScape out there for anyone to use freely, and took the PC version off the market altogether."

And it's STILL available, and he open-sourced the source code! I believe just before he quit developing it, he added support for VLab frame grabbers, which are much easier to get than Live! boards. Taa Daa:

http://www.inter-actor.com/software.htm

Okay everybody, get hacking!

Last edited by hardlink; 09-10-2010 at 01:57 PM.. Reason: Struck Live! gold
hardlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 01:52 PM   #13
magnetic
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,168
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

hardlink

Yeah, i'm familar with Calum from his a3000 site. If you have his email i'll write him. I have an .adf of mandala from some euro site. Maybe its a dongless version? I can send that to you if you send me copies of your disks! :P
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS |OS4.1 U4|Ubuntu GNU-Linux |MacOS X

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 2mb Chip |21mb Fast Ram | Vampire FPGA Accelerator 68000@87 mhz | ClassicWB 68k

Amiga 500 | 1.3 rom| 5mb Ram |Tom Thule 68k IDE upgrade w/ Dual CF cards | Live! 500 board

Amiga Micronik 1300 |Tower 3.1 Roms | 5 Zorro 2 Slots | AGA
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 02:05 PM   #14
Gulliver
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,397, Level: 80 Points: 15,397, Level: 80 Points: 15,397, Level: 80
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South of the south
Posts: 1,374
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

A link with all that software, is here for your enjoyment:

http://www.mediafire.com/?emcb7qd4d7edl

Have fun!
Gulliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 02:29 PM   #15
hardlink
Cult Member
Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Springy, MD
Posts: 586
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

I just looked at the source code for CyberScape, and this version does not include the VLab support. Should not be that hard to add if the programming Vlab info is available. However, there is support for a Mattell Powerglove!

BTW, there is a rumor that Dale Luck has been playing around with a Live! board very recently. Now he could write some good software if he wanted to! Since he and RJ invented/wrote the original Boing Ball, how about making it respond to video

Last edited by hardlink; 09-10-2010 at 02:38 PM..
hardlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 02:29 PM   #16
magnetic
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,168
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Gulliver

You are the man! Is it a cracked version or so? Cuz we would still need the dongle. But GREAT LINK!
I have Elan and Inovision lukcily
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS |OS4.1 U4|Ubuntu GNU-Linux |MacOS X

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 2mb Chip |21mb Fast Ram | Vampire FPGA Accelerator 68000@87 mhz | ClassicWB 68k

Amiga 500 | 1.3 rom| 5mb Ram |Tom Thule 68k IDE upgrade w/ Dual CF cards | Live! 500 board

Amiga Micronik 1300 |Tower 3.1 Roms | 5 Zorro 2 Slots | AGA
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 02:55 PM   #17
Gulliver
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,397, Level: 80 Points: 15,397, Level: 80 Points: 15,397, Level: 80
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: South of the south
Posts: 1,374
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

@magnetic
I really cant remember its been ages since I last used that software. But be my guest, give it a try, and then tell us!
Gulliver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 03:05 PM   #18
magnetic
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,168
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Well i dont have an Amiga online. My a2k with the live board has no connection so i have to install a cd rom drive and xfer the files from my pegasos2 and then create the disks
so it will be while Maybe someone else on here can try it please?

btw i'm glad i revived this thread. For years i've been looking for info like this on Live!

I have 3 Live 2000! boards. 1 very very rare REv 6 with A3000/4000 PAL chip upgrades and 2 original boards!
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS |OS4.1 U4|Ubuntu GNU-Linux |MacOS X

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 2mb Chip |21mb Fast Ram | Vampire FPGA Accelerator 68000@87 mhz | ClassicWB 68k

Amiga 500 | 1.3 rom| 5mb Ram |Tom Thule 68k IDE upgrade w/ Dual CF cards | Live! 500 board

Amiga Micronik 1300 |Tower 3.1 Roms | 5 Zorro 2 Slots | AGA
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 09:06 PM   #19
magnetic
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82 Points: 16,846, Level: 82
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
magnetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,168
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Any one of you guys want to sell the A500 Live version? When I do installations the a2k is too huge..
__________________
bPlan Pegasos2 G4@1ghz
Quad Boot:Reg. MorphOS |OS4.1 U4|Ubuntu GNU-Linux |MacOS X

Amiga 600 | 3.1 Rom | 2mb Chip |21mb Fast Ram | Vampire FPGA Accelerator 68000@87 mhz | ClassicWB 68k

Amiga 500 | 1.3 rom| 5mb Ram |Tom Thule 68k IDE upgrade w/ Dual CF cards | Live! 500 board

Amiga Micronik 1300 |Tower 3.1 Roms | 5 Zorro 2 Slots | AGA
magnetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 06:24 PM   #20
rodman1369
Merely Curious
Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1 Points: 3, Level: 1
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Default Re: A-Squared Live! Frame Grabbers

Wondering if any relation to the new xbox kinetic?
rodman1369 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
asquared , frame , grabbers , live

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Frame it mikrucio General chat about Amiga topics 2 11-28-2007 07:27 PM
Frame grabber and RGB questions Hodgkinson Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 11-10-2007 02:26 PM
frame grabbers mehmetned Amiga Marketplace 2 11-21-2006 09:10 AM
Best screenmode for AGA with Scandoubler... and strange frame around WB starf81 Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 13 06-22-2005 07:09 AM
Frame dragging test blobrana CH / Science and Technology 4 04-20-2004 02:45 AM