amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:37 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2008, 11:18 AM   #1
RMK305
Cult Member
Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Starcastle Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 503
Default SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

I have just installed a SCSI hard drive on the Warpengine and it seems to be working fine however I don't think there is any termination setup on the drive...does this matter and could it damage the warpengine or the drive itself?

Thanks,

Robert
RMK305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 11:39 AM   #2
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

It won't damage the drive or controller (or shouldn't, anyway,) but you might see random data errors, unreadable blocks, etc. I had problems with my WarpEngine 4040 and a few SCSI devices, ultimately resolved by turning on termination on the device at the end of the chain.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 02:13 PM   #3
da9000
Cult Member
Points: 6,500, Level: 52 Points: 6,500, Level: 52 Points: 6,500, Level: 52
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
da9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 922
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

What LoadWB said.

What's the drive model? Perhaps it has some arcane jumper settings?
da9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 03:11 PM   #4
RMK305
Cult Member
Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Starcastle Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 503
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

The drive is an IBM Ultrastar 18.2GB. Model : DDYS-T18350 P/N: 07N3210.


I found the following information on it...

http://www.hgst.com/tech/techlib.nsf/techdocs/85256AB8006A31E587256A6A00576847/$file/ddys_ps.PDF

From reading that, page 4 states.

"On board SCSI active termination is not supported. The using system is responsible for making sure that all required signals are terminated at both ends of the bus cable."

"Terminator power
Terminator power can be provided by the 5v power supply through current limiter and Schottky diode. This function can be selected by jumper."

Does this mean that the drive cannot be terminated? I was told by someone here that the drive would work. What can I do with this?

Thanks,

Robert
RMK305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 03:32 PM   #5
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

It's normal for LVD devices (U2W onward) not to offer termination options (I've never seen a single one that does btw). You need to get a cable terminator or use another SCSI device to terminate that end of the bus.

Termpower is something related, but different. Any terminator requires power to operate which - for a cabled one - must come from the bus, so at least one device must supply termpower for the terminators to work. Usually it's supplied by the host adapter, but most of the time it's a good idea to also use devices at both ends of the bus for this purpose.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 03:50 PM   #6
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78 Points: 14,788, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

You should be able to find narrow chain terminators relatively cheaply. You might even be able to find a cable with one built in. I enabled TermPwr on my hard drive because, IIRC, the WarpEngine does not provide it. If it does, no harm done.

Also, if you WarpEngine is the start of the chain, make sure your resistor blocks are installed -- that's your local termination. If it sits somewhere in the middle of the chain, you'll need termination on both ends of the cable.

If you have another SCSI device further down the chain than the hard drive, check it to see if it provides termination. Some devices do, some don't. My Zip drive does not, though my CD-ROM does, as did my Seagate and Western Digital hard drives.

EDIT: Also, some 80-50 and 68-50 adapters provide termination via resistor packs, but need TermPwr from another device.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 04:19 PM   #7
RMK305
Cult Member
Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Starcastle Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 503
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

The Warpengine does have the 3 resistor packs installed already. So I take it I can just buy a 50 pin terminator to plug into the next connector on the cable and put the jumper on the term power pins?

I take it I could just plug the spare connector on the cable into this one...

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Passive-SCSI-Terminator-Internal-Female/dp/B000I2JYZM/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1222467435&sr =8-2


Sorry, this is all new to me and I just want the damn thing etup and working.
RMK305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 04:40 PM   #8
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

Yes. But while you're at it, getting an active terminator is recommended. Active termination ensures better signal integrity - mostly for the same or a very similar price. If you look around they're not too hard to find. The one you need is just 2.65 at reichelt.de.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 04:48 PM   #9
RMK305
Cult Member
Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Starcastle Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 503
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Active-SCSI-Terminator-Internal-Male/dp/B000I2JYZC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1222469130&sr =8-1

Will go for this one in that case. A little bit more expensive than I thought they would be, but oh well.

Thank you.
RMK305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 02:26 PM   #10
RMK305
Cult Member
Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60 Points: 8,104, Level: 60
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
Starcastle Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 503
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

I got the terminator through (6 off ebay) and have set up the drive with the terminate power pin on the drivebridged. 2 questions.

1. If I add another of these drives should I bridge the term power pins in both of them or just the one nearest the end of the chain?

2. When playing a game and only when playing a game, the hard drive makes a weird noise. Difficult to explain, but it's not a reading/writing noise. Anyone heard of this before? I'll try loading the machine and leave it sitting to se if it hapens while stagnent in Workbench.

The SCSI drive is like lightening compared to the ide. Unbelievable difference.
RMK305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 02:49 PM   #11
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: SCSI hard drive on Warpengine - Quick question

In theory you can have any number of devices supplying termpower to the bus, at least one is required.

Sometimes this seems to cause weird problems though. I always activate termpower on the drives with/next to the terminators and deactivate it on all the others.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
drive , hard , question , quick , scsi , warpengine

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for A1000 SCSI hard drive users... save2600 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 03-31-2009 06:26 AM
80 pin scsi hard drive/scsi questions Gav Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 13 04-25-2007 01:31 PM
Scsi Hard drive question Gav Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 12 12-26-2006 03:12 PM
Hard Drive Question MigaMan Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 17 08-04-2006 03:47 PM
SCSI Hard Drive question(FIXED LINK) Frostwolf Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 08-27-2003 11:53 PM