amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2008, 05:53 PM   #1
pan1k
Cult Member
Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
pan1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 839
Default Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Ok guys.. it's time to replace the power supply on my A4000D. How hard is it to hook up an ATX supply with one of these cables from Australia? I'd like to wire it in to the stock on/off switch.

I've got tons of ATX supplies..! i just need a cable.
__________________
A4K: \'060, Cyberstorm MKIII Cybervision 64/3D w/ Scandoubler, Buddha Flash XSurf, MP3@64, A4K: \'040, Toaster, Y/C, A1200: Apollo \'040, A1200 GVP '030, A1200: Stock, A2000: 68K, Trump SCSI, Supra 8Mb, and Toaster 4K, A2500: \'030, GVP SCSI, Supra 8MB x2, Video Toaster, CD32, Minimig, Efika and Hopefully an A4000T soon!
pan1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 06:48 PM   #2
pontium
Beginner
Points: 2,181, Level: 28 Points: 2,181, Level: 28 Points: 2,181, Level: 28
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 27
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

To power up a single atx psu,just wire a cable on pin 14 and any ground from the 20 pin connector.

Well,you can place a switch on this wire and work it like an AT psu.So put the switch of the original psu in the front of the case,and place it on the metalic plate.

About the mobo voltage pinout,it's very easy to wire it with your new psu.Use a voltage meter to connect them right

Good luck!
__________________
A500/1MB RAM/Kick 1.2 &1.3
A500/3MB RAM/Kickswitch/030 40MHz
A1200/2+32MB RAM/Kick 3.1/20GB HD/Blizzard 1260 040 40MHz
A1200 tester/Kick 3.1/170MB HD
A4000D/2+128MB RAM/Kick 3.1/Cyberstorm 060 50MHz/Retina Z3 VGA 4MB/CDRW/10GB HD
pontium is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 11:30 PM   #3
T3000
Cult Member
Points: 7,891, Level: 59 Points: 7,891, Level: 59 Points: 7,891, Level: 59
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
T3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Lake Tahoe Area
Posts: 617
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

If it's just the fan that's going bad, swap it out with one from another power supply.
T3000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 12:20 AM   #4
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

The fan is a standard size case fan, 80mm IIRC. When I replaced mine, I cut the fan guard out of the original PSU box and replaced it with a wire fan guard to allow more air-flow in. I also bypassed the resistor which is in series to the fan's power lead to allow the fan to run full speed.

Although, I eventually replaced original PSU with a mini-ATX power supply with an ATX adapter from AmigaKit. I use the key lock as my ATX power switch :-)
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 04:00 AM   #5
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Finally someone find something useful to do with that useless keylock!

Congrats, LoadWB! :-)
__________________
Goodbye people.

I'll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2008, 04:58 AM   #6
Crumb
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Crumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,764
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

@LoadWB

Which brand of PSU did you use? Does it fit the standard A4000D ok?
__________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)
Crumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 06:59 AM   #7
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Quote:
Crumb wrote:
@LoadWB

Which brand of PSU did you use? Does it fit the standard A4000D ok?
Off the top of my head, I'm not sure. It is a half-sized PSU my vendor had in stock. It fits ok, but leaves a big gap which I covered with cardboard (might use some metal one day.)

I have a photo posted showing an 80GB SATA drive attached to my 4000D. You can see the PSU in that picture. If I get the inkling, I'll pull the case off the 4000D and take another photo of the PSU and post it.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 07:03 AM   #8
keropi
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,779, Level: 76 Points: 13,779, Level: 76 Points: 13,779, Level: 76
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
keropi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ioannina , Greece
Posts: 2,466
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

I have tried several mATX psu's on my G-REX A4000D , but none gave sufficient +5v , causing lock ups in AGA stuff... a model number would be great LoadWB!
__________________
DON'T click HERE!
AMIBAY , the Amiga marketplace!
keropi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 07:12 AM   #9
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

I favour just replacing the fan. I've done it on several A4k PSU's.

I think remember LoadWB's A4000 fan case mod (did you post pictures here?) I remember thinking it was a good idea if you can cut the metal safely.
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 12:30 AM   #10
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Quote:
alexh wrote:

I think remember LoadWB's A4000 fan case mod (did you post pictures here?) I remember thinking it was a good idea if you can cut the metal safely.
Sure did. I dug up the gallery pic:

A4000 w/IDE-SATA Adapter

Shows the PSU pretty well. Later this week when I have a moment to take a breath (should that actually happen,) I'll pull the top off the 4000 and get the PSU information. Provided that it's not on the part which is double-sided to the case :-)
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 04:18 AM   #11
amigadave
Lifetime Member
Points: 22,646, Level: 93 Points: 22,646, Level: 93 Points: 22,646, Level: 93
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
amigadave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Big Bear Lake, CA
Posts: 3,611
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Quote:
pan1k wrote:
Ok guys.. it's time to replace the power supply on my A4000D. How hard is it to hook up an ATX supply with one of these cables from Australia? I'd like to wire it in to the stock on/off switch.

I've got tons of ATX supplies..! i just need a cable.
Hey Chris, I think I have an extra A4000D PSU from the A4000 I sold to someone in Germany last year. He didn't need a 110volt PSU and it saved a bunch of weight to remove it. Let me know if you want it.
__________________
How are you helping the Amiga community?
amigadave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 06:50 AM   #12
Nlandas
Cult Member
Points: 8,624, Level: 62 Points: 8,624, Level: 62 Points: 8,624, Level: 62
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Nlandas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LACONA, NY
Posts: 640
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Quote:
pan1k wrote:
Ok guys.. it's time to replace the power supply on my A4000D. How hard is it to hook up an ATX supply with one of these cables from Australia? I'd like to wire it in to the stock on/off switch.

I've got tons of ATX supplies..! i just need a cable.
If just the fan is dying why not replace it. Simple wires to solder onto a new same size fan.

-Nyle
__________________
I think, Therefore - Amiga....
Nlandas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2008, 07:28 AM   #13
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Quote:
LoadWB wrote:
Sure did. I dug up the gallery pic:

A4000 w/IDE-SATA Adapter
I do not think this was the project I was thinking about. (Might be wrong, but I'd not seen these pics)

It might be Motorolin's hack (but I'm not sure looking at the pics) where he cut out the section on the rear of his A4000 where the PSU fan went and added a grill.

I remember thinking how crap the A4000 grill work was in the back of the case behind the PSU.

http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?n=2005
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 08:35 PM   #14
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Quote:
alexh wrote:

I do not think this was the project I was thinking about. (Might be wrong, but I'd not seen these pics)

It might be Motorolin's hack (but I'm not sure looking at the pics) where he cut out the section on the rear of his A4000 where the PSU fan went and added a grill.

I remember thinking how crap the A4000 grill work was in the back of the case behind the PSU.

http://www.amiga.org/gallery/index.php?n=2005
Quite possibly. I hacked my A4000 PSU with a grill on the fan, and tossed the idea of a grill on the back around, but I didn't have anything that could have cut the metal without really making a mess (that's a nice job.)

I did, however, go ahead and take pics of the ATX PSU I used in my system.

A4000 MicroATX PSU Replacement (1/2)

A4000 MicroATX PSU Replacement (2/2)
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2008, 10:21 PM   #15
wlemonds
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,298, Level: 35 Points: 3,298, Level: 35 Points: 3,298, Level: 35
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 87
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Just an FYI the website is here. And it's cheaper at Newegg. I've never had problems with them.

I haven't bought this PS though.
__________________
A1200 rev. 1.d.4, KS 3.1, OS 3.9, DBox Tower, P5 040/040 128MB RAM, MediatorPCI, FASTATA 1200, Subway USB, 40GB HD, Radeon 9250 128MB, Liteon DVD
A2000 rev. 6.4, KS 3.1, OS 3.1, MegaChip, Tekmagic 060/50 128 MB RAM.
A4000 4060DT, KS 3.1, OS 3.9, 144MB FAST, HP 8200i CD-Writer, Deneb, IndivisionAGA
wlemonds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 02:41 PM   #16
pan1k
Cult Member
Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71 Points: 11,746, Level: 71
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
pan1k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 839
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

I replaced the fan. I cheated though. I cut the wires running to the old fan, and the new fan had a 4 pin molex connector. I routed it through the fan case and booyaka! It works. No more sleepless nights listening to the A4K fan. Only downside is the fan emits a blue color.
__________________
A4K: \'060, Cyberstorm MKIII Cybervision 64/3D w/ Scandoubler, Buddha Flash XSurf, MP3@64, A4K: \'040, Toaster, Y/C, A1200: Apollo \'040, A1200 GVP '030, A1200: Stock, A2000: 68K, Trump SCSI, Supra 8Mb, and Toaster 4K, A2500: \'030, GVP SCSI, Supra 8MB x2, Video Toaster, CD32, Minimig, Efika and Hopefully an A4000T soon!
pan1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 02:57 PM   #17
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

The website picture reminded me, covered up the grill which faces into the system so that the PSU only exhausts out the back of the computer.

Quote:
pan1k wrote:
Only downside is the fan emits a blue color.
Downside since it's inside and you can't see it? heheheh
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 04:03 PM   #18
keropi
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,779, Level: 76 Points: 13,779, Level: 76 Points: 13,779, Level: 76
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
keropi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ioannina , Greece
Posts: 2,466
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

I am not sure that 14A on the 5v rail is enough... Will check the LiteON PSU's I have on my A4000's and report... IIRC they outpout 18A on the 5v rail, and it made a difference on my csppc/g-rex setup...
__________________
DON'T click HERE!
AMIBAY , the Amiga marketplace!
keropi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2008, 07:35 PM   #19
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79 Points: 14,902, Level: 79
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,236
Default Re: Power Supply Fan Dying on A4000

Quote:
keropi wrote:
I am not sure that 14A on the 5v rail is enough... Will check the LiteON PSU's I have on my A4000's and report... IIRC they outpout 18A on the 5v rail, and it made a difference on my csppc/g-rex setup...
I don't doubt that you're right. I cannot find my original PSU, but I recall thinking about the differences in power. None the less, my system runs well with this unit, though I realize that I will probably have to bump it up to a larger supply when I get a Deneb. Although the offset of power usage might balance out, as I'll be trading the Zip drive for a USB multi-card reader and the X-Surf 3cc for a USB network adapter.

atxpowersupplies.com has a 230W unit which would probably work, it just has a few connectors which I'll never use, like the SATA power and 4-pin 12V connector. It puts out 5V @ 18A and 12V @ 7A, with another 5V for stand-by at 2A.

18A seems to be the best 5V output. As we move up in Wattage, only the 12V and 5V-SB seem to increase, and the length does as well. At least what they carry. I'm not overly motivated to research at the moment :-)
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
supply , power , fan , dying , a4000

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 power supply upgrade Robert17 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 08-11-2008 03:57 PM
A4000 power supply tick tonyvdb Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 06-22-2006 05:13 PM
Is there a difference between an A4000 and an ATX Power supply? tonyvdb Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 14 03-27-2006 08:12 AM
How to make/buy a cheap non-Commodore A4000 power supply?? Argus Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 16 10-02-2004 09:33 PM
ATX power supply in an A4000 Rigger Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 08-21-2003 08:22 PM