amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion NEC multi-Sync A2000

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2008, 04:38 PM   #1
AmigaPixel
Technoid
Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57 Points: 7,439, Level: 57
Activity: 41% Activity: 41% Activity: 41%
 
AmigaPixel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Arizona USA
Posts: 388
Default NEC multi-Sync A2000

Hi everyone,

I was wondering what steps I need to take after I connect a multi-sync monitor to my Amiga 2000? I am waiting on a special cable that has a 23 pin Amiga adapter on one end and a 15 pin D-sub on the other. It is called Amiga to NEC adapter, which I will be connecting an NEC XV 17+.
It only syncs down to 31khz. Do I need to change it to Double NTSC before I shut it down and hook up the NEC? If I am using a tv and an RCA cable for viewing Workbench, how will be able to put it in DBNTSC?:-?
It is a rev 6 so it does have ECS chipset. Thanks :-)
AmigaPixel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 05:22 PM   #2
Amigoat
Beginner
Points: 5,340, Level: 46 Points: 5,340, Level: 46 Points: 5,340, Level: 46
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 46
Default Re: NEC multi-Sync A2000

Hello AmigaPixel

I believe doubleNTSC (or doublePAL) requires the AGA chipset as in the A1200 or A4000.

To connect to a VGA type monitor you need a graphics card or a scan doubler like the Commodore A2320.

Amigoat
Amigoat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2008, 05:25 PM   #3
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,629, Level: 80 Points: 15,629, Level: 80 Points: 15,629, Level: 80
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,096
Default Re: NEC multi-Sync A2000

If you don't have a scan doubler/ flicker fixer you are not going to be happy with the results. The A2000 will only output 15.7 KHz, thus the problem.
Best solution is to get a graphics card. An older Picasso, or GVP Spectrum can be found on eBay fairly cheaply these days
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a2000 , multisync , nec

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS/FT: My 15" Multi-sync Electrohome CRT monitor wa9yoz Amiga Marketplace 0 07-29-2008 08:25 AM
Multi-sync LCD/TFT monitor on Amiga? wa9yoz General chat about Amiga topics 3 03-23-2008 02:52 PM
Help! Workbench is out of Sync! MarkM General chat about Amiga topics 10 08-07-2007 05:55 PM
Commodore Amiga 1960 Multi-Sync Monitor for sale tonyvdb Amiga Marketplace 1 02-14-2006 07:14 PM
Commodore 1940 multi-sync monitor inc VGA-RGB converter on ebay Knapster Amiga Marketplace 0 05-29-2004 05:43 PM