amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2003, 05:36 AM   #1
malkc
Merely Curious
Points: 4,266, Level: 41 Points: 4,266, Level: 41 Points: 4,266, Level: 41
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

Help !!

My good old trusty amiga 500+ (A500-HD8+) has just failed .

I have a spare 2Gb scsi drive but my amiga won't see it .

The Hard drive I am trying to install is
a Segate Barracuda Model ST32171N

Could it be the disk is to large for my amiga ..

Thanks for any help ..

Malk
malkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 01:40 AM   #2
malkc
Merely Curious
Points: 4,266, Level: 41 Points: 4,266, Level: 41 Points: 4,266, Level: 41
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

Ok some more info on this problem

When I have the hard drive (a500-hd8+) selector to autoboot the hard drive led stays on and my amiga screen is blank .

When I boot from floppy and run the GVP Hard drive install disk and select expert prep it looks at the scsi card and all the drives installed on it , when it reaches the seagate drive the pointer changes to the timer icon and and the hard drive led again if on all the time .

This is where it stops , It knows that there is a hard drive on that id , but fails to perp it.
I have also tried another drive , this one is an IBM 1Gb . Same problem .

Up to 3Am this morning trying all that I know . Still failed .

I have an old 80Mb drive that works fine , But I don’t think 80Mb will last long with all the games and music I want to put back on .

Please Help !
malkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 02:33 AM   #3
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,780, Level: 76 Points: 13,780, Level: 76 Points: 13,780, Level: 76
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,229
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

Maybe the HD8 original Rom supports only max 512B drives?
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 04:16 PM   #4
duesi
Technoid
Points: 5,969, Level: 50 Points: 5,969, Level: 50 Points: 5,969, Level: 50
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 275
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

AFAIK what you need is a so called GURU-ROM for
the GVP SCSI-Controller :-)
Some years ago Schatztruhe sold them
www.schatztruhe.de or ask an AMIGA-Dealer
__________________
A4000D CS060/MKII with SCSI, CV64/4MB, 128MB Fast, ACARD AEC-7720U SCSI-IDE,80GB Samsung HDD, Yamaha CDRW, XSurf2, OS3.9BB2
A500,1MB Chip Kick1.3/3.1,GVP A500+ 540MB HDD and 8MB Fast,GVP DSS 8Bit Sampler
duesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2003, 12:56 AM   #5
malkc
Merely Curious
Points: 4,266, Level: 41 Points: 4,266, Level: 41 Points: 4,266, Level: 41
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 3
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

Thanks Lads ..

I thought it might be something to do with that , but wasn't sure .

I will see it I can source a rom upgrade . if not then a 512Mg scsi drive , There is bound to be some kick about . :-)
malkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:13 AM   #6
DoomMaster
Banned
Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48 Points: 5,697, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 279
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

Why don't you just buy yourself an Amiga 2000HD from eBay and keep that toy Amiga 500 for parts? The disk drive and socketed ICs from the Amiga 500 will also work on the Amiga 2000HD professional computer. You can pick up a nice Amiga 2000HD from eBay for less then $100.00. You can then plug an A2320 card into the Amiga 2000HD's video slot and hook up a VGA or SVGA monitor. When you do buy an Amiga 2000HD, make sure that the motherboard is at least revision 6.2 to 6.4. Also make sure that you carefully remove the battery from the motherboard and clean that area with 99% Isopropyl Alcohol on a 100% cotton pad. The Amiga 2000 is the Flagship of ALL Amiga computers. It is the Flagship Amiga because more expansion cards were made for it then any other Amiga. [size=small]The Amiga 2000 Professional Computer really ROCKS ![/size] :-P
DoomMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:25 AM   #7
jeffimix
Cult Member
Points: 6,360, Level: 52 Points: 6,360, Level: 52 Points: 6,360, Level: 52
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 853
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

What's that? Troll? Don't feed it? Well okay,...
jeffimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 05:24 AM   #8
carls
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,297, Level: 70 Points: 11,297, Level: 70 Points: 11,297, Level: 70
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

IMHO FastPrep/ExpertPrep plain sucks. I got it with my first A1200 (HD fitted after original purchase) and it always destroyed my configurations.

Try to configure with HDToolbox if you can, it's a lot better.
__________________
Amiga: Too weird to live, too rare to die.
carls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 11:06 AM   #9
LinchpiN
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,673, Level: 62 Points: 8,673, Level: 62 Points: 8,673, Level: 62
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,483
Send a message via MSN to LinchpiN Send a message via Yahoo to LinchpiN
Default Re: Amiga A500-HD8+ Hard Drive problem

Good afternoon jeff :0)
LinchpiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
hard , drive , amiga , a500hd8 , a500 , problem

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A500 Hard Drive VEGNAcore Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 10 09-25-2008 05:26 PM
Help with A500 hard drive... amigabren Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 9 03-05-2007 08:30 AM
Impact Series II A500-HD8+ Hard Disk Drive on an AMIGA 500 bastajn76 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 02-14-2007 03:12 PM
Amiga 2000 HardFrame hard drive problem Usagi Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 08-27-2005 12:45 PM
hard drive change for A500+ taononstop Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 11-17-2004 07:15 AM