amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Gaming PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Amiga Gaming This forum is dedicated to games software and solutions for the Commodore Amiga computer. Need help blowing up pixels? Know of the next gaming revolution? Talk about it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2008, 08:21 PM   #1
punkyclown
Too much caffeine
Points: 9,037, Level: 63 Points: 9,037, Level: 63 Points: 9,037, Level: 63
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
punkyclown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to punkyclown
Default PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

I brought some PAL CD32 games back with me from Europe. Now I have an NTSC CD32 Machine. How can I get these games to play on my Machine. Does anyone know?
Thank you
punkyclown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 08:22 PM   #2
Fingers
Technoid
Points: 6,179, Level: 51 Points: 6,179, Level: 51 Points: 6,179, Level: 51
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 355
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Put the CD in and turn the machine on :-D

If you want to display PAL resolution, hold both mouse buttons when you turn it on and then select display option when prompted.

PZ.
Fingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 08:46 PM   #3
SamuraiCrow
Premium Member
Points: 14,573, Level: 78 Points: 14,573, Level: 78 Points: 14,573, Level: 78
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
SamuraiCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,115
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to SamuraiCrow Send a message via Skype™ to SamuraiCrow
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

It will help if your video display can do 50 Hz scanrates vertically. If not, you're out of luck.
SamuraiCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2008, 12:11 AM   #4
marcfrick2112
Cult Member
Points: 10,203, Level: 67 Points: 10,203, Level: 67 Points: 10,203, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
marcfrick2112's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI, USA
Posts: 811
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

As SamuraiCrow said
Also, even if your display can handle PAL scanrate, you may find the bottom of the display is cut off, at least I had that with Simon the Sorceror II on my CD32 (rather a drag, as the bottom row of buttons weren't visible)
Good luck.

__________________
---------------
Marc Frick
---------------
A1200T / '060, 256MB, CD-R, OS3.9
A4000 w/ WarpEngine / 82MB , OS3.1
A4000 16MB, OS 3.9
A1200 , '030 / 10MB
A1200 (stock)

CD32

...And a very sick 4000T
marcfrick2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 01:44 AM   #5
Cammy
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,949, Level: 74 Points: 12,949, Level: 74 Points: 12,949, Level: 74
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Cammy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In my own little world, Australia
Posts: 1,368
Send a message via MSN to Cammy
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

How did you get Simon the Sorceror II to run on a CD32?
Cammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 01:15 AM   #6
RobertB
VIP / Donor - Lifetime Member
Points: 17,577, Level: 84 Points: 17,577, Level: 84 Points: 17,577, Level: 84
Activity: 30% Activity: 30% Activity: 30%
 
RobertB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California
Posts: 960
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Fingers wrote:

Quote:
Put the CD in and turn the machine on :-D

If you want to display PAL resolution, hold both mouse buttons when you turn it on and then select display option when prompted.
Even with that, certain PAL game CDs just will not run on a NTSC CD32. I've tried.

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
CommVEx v4 website - http://www.portcommodore.com/commvex
RobertB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 06:31 AM   #7
Mugo
Technoid
Points: 6,472, Level: 52 Points: 6,472, Level: 52 Points: 6,472, Level: 52
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Mugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Posts: 153
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Quote:
RobertB wrote:

Even with that, certain PAL game CDs just will not run on a NTSC CD32. I've tried.
That's correct. And this happens with any Amiga.

Some games are waiting the right timing and/or the higher resolution of a PAL system, and will not work at all in a NTSC machine... at least not until you mod it :-)

It really is a simple mod, as in the old A500 days. You can just put a switch to change the resolution and timing to NTSC or PAL (don't mess it up with color standards. With this mod you will still have NTSC color output. Or, you can do what i just did, turned the system to PAL and period. No switches. Some games are a bit slower (as you can expect), but it's not a major problem, at least for me.

The mod i did consists of a single wire connected between a resistor and the ground in the CD32's mobo, but i can't remember from the top of my head where were these points.

I'll try to make a picture later, and post it here. I think it's easier to make the mod looking at the picture. Will tell what the points are as well, for the tech heads.

See ya later!
Mugo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 08:56 AM   #8
Phantom
Cult Member
Points: 6,760, Level: 54 Points: 6,760, Level: 54 Points: 6,760, Level: 54
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Phantom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Chania, Greece
Posts: 631
Send a message via ICQ to Phantom Send a message via MSN to Phantom
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Read this post also:

http://www.amiga.org/forums/showthread.php?t=35778
__________________
Member of Amiga Future; the only printed Amiga magazine.

"We don't sell computers, we sell dreams." - David Pleasance

Amiga CD32 FMV, Amiga CDTV, A1200 030/50, A4000D PPC/060, Sam440ep-Flex 800
Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 02:33 AM   #9
HardStep
Too much caffeine
Points: 8,091, Level: 60 Points: 8,091, Level: 60 Points: 8,091, Level: 60
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 128
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Quote:
Mugo wrote:
I'll try to make a picture later, and post it here. I think it's easier to make the mod looking at the picture. Will tell what the points are as well, for the tech heads.

See ya later!
That would be great if you could post the picture.

Have a brand new boxed NTSC CD32 in my closet, still has the protective plastic on the clear part of the CD-drive door. And 15 new game CD-s. Just haven't got any time to play with it. Didn't want to miss the chance to own a new CD32, so i bought it 2-3 years ago from ebay.


__________________
A1200/Blizzard1260/IdeFixExpress+100G 2.5" HDD/DVD ROM/MASPlayer/Delfina/DCE ScanMagic ScanDoubler/Cocolino PS2 mouse interface/MIDI interface/PCMCIA wireless NIC

A1200/Subway USB/ACA1231/Indivision AGA 1200 MK2/Mediator PCI LT4/Spider2 USB, /Clockport expander/EZ Link IR... (collecting parts for building)

MOS3.4 registered, Mac Mini 1.5GHz, 1G RAM, 160G HDD, 64Mb VRAM, iBook G4
CD32
HardStep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 02:45 AM   #10
weirdami
Desperately needs a life
Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
weirdami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,764
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Quote:
The mod i did consists of a single wire connected between a resistor and the ground in the CD32's mobo, but i can't remember from the top of my head where were these points.
For to get PAL on my A500, I had to cut a trace somewhere on the left side of the motherboard. I kept soldering it back and desoldering it and resoldering. Eventually, the trace ripped up from the motherboard and I had to glue it down. :-) I wanted to put in a switch, but the one time I tried didn't work and that was it for me. Anyhoo, there's different solutions for the same thing I guess. :-)

edit: Then again, I thought you were on about an A500 mod and it looks like you were just saying it was as easy as an A500 mod. ops:
__________________
----
Binding Polymer: Keeping you together since 1892.
weirdami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 03:25 AM   #11
rockape
Technoid
Points: 8,712, Level: 62 Points: 8,712, Level: 62 Points: 8,712, Level: 62
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
rockape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Lincolnshire, England.
Posts: 315
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: PAL CD32 games on NTSC Machine

Hi,

see http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/amiga/cd32/09-How-can-I-try-to-convince-a-game-to-work-in-PAL-or-NTSC.html

"09 How can I try to convince a game to work in PAL or NTSC?"

Kind Regards, Michael

aka rockape
rockape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cd32 , ntsc , games , machine , pal

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NTSC Firecracker, PAL machine ??? Quagmire Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 08-28-2008 08:07 AM
Scart to CYP Presenter 1 NTSC Machine pan1k Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 9 10-02-2007 03:58 PM
Finally got some good CD32 NTSC games... OH MY! LoadWB General chat about Amiga topics 21 09-30-2007 11:15 AM
PAL Games on NTSC Machine pan1k Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 9 06-27-2006 10:24 AM
Can NTSC CDTV games be played on a PAL Amiga CD32? HE-MAN Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 4 10-27-2003 04:06 AM