amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2008, 05:59 PM   #1
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

Hi, well, it doesn't boot... it shows a grey screen and then that one changes for a lighter grey (almost white I'd dare to say), then it seems it repeats that sequence again and again... I've no idea what could be wrong with it, I have it barebones now. I connected a 3640 to it (the 3640 board is OK) and it doesn't show that sequence, just what it seems to be a blue (dark blue.., might be dark grey) and it does nothing... :-(

I've tried reseating some chips, the kickstart and such, pushed some of the chips just to make sure they're placed firmly on the board... cleaned it up a bit using isopropyl alcohol. The battery had leaked, so I removed it and cleaned the area, it doesn't seem to be major damage to the board.

Any ideas on what could be wrong with it? Has this ever happened to anybody?

Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks!

D.
__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:05 PM   #2
Tenacious
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,744, Level: 76 Points: 13,744, Level: 76 Points: 13,744, Level: 76
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Tenacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: near Cincinnati
Posts: 1,194
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

Mine does the same thing if the Zorro III daughter card has been jolted or disturbed. I always have to clean, reseat it several times.
Tenacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:13 PM   #3
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Tenacious

Does it work OK if you remove the daughterboard? 'cause my tests are being done without the daughterboard installed, it does the same with it installed though.

D.
__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:22 PM   #4
dannyp1
Cult Member
Points: 9,426, Level: 65 Points: 9,426, Level: 65 Points: 9,426, Level: 65
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
dannyp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 618
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

Mine won't boot without the daughterboard installed. I found that out through trial and error. Are you booting from a hard-drive? If so try and boot fom a diskette.

Dan
dannyp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:28 PM   #5
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Dannyp1

I don't have anything connected to it, not even the floppy drive, it's only the motherboard... I was expecting the disk load animation... but nothing... I'll try to clean the daughterboard and connect it back to see if that makes a difference.

What do yours do when you power it on without the daughterboard installed?

Thanks!

D.
__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:50 PM   #6
davideo
Technoid
Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, UK
Posts: 394
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Dragster

Have a look here http://amiga.serveftp.net/A3000_HardwareGuide/booting-problems.html

It gives you all (perhaps not quite all) of the boot sequence and problems - especially the screen colour codes

Dave G 8-)
davideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:53 PM   #7
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Davideo

Great resource mate, I'm gonna see if there's something that works for me.

Thanks

D.
__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:57 PM   #8
Boot_WB
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,282, Level: 72 Points: 12,282, Level: 72 Points: 12,282, Level: 72
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kingston upon Hull, UK
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Dragster

You may want to try without the A3640 too, I believe that some versions of this processor board do not work too well with the A3000, especially if using DMAC rev2.

Regards



Rich
__________________
www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

Mac Mini G4 (1.5GHz, 64MB VRam, 1GB Ram): MorphOS 3.1
Powerbook 5.6 (15", 1.67GHz, 128MB VRam, 1GB Ram): MorphOS 3.1, OSX 10.5.8

Windows-free since 2011!
Boot_WB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 06:59 PM   #9
Gwion
Technoid
Points: 4,427, Level: 42 Points: 4,427, Level: 42 Points: 4,427, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 466
Send a message via MSN to Gwion
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

Change the Jumper to VSYNC not TIC (it worked for me)
__________________
Desperate To Get An Amiga 1200!
Gwion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 07:24 PM   #10
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

Sounds like a bad PSU to me.

Measure the voltages levels. And, like Gwion said, disable the PSU tick signal.

I have an A2000 with this very same behaviour (grey, light grey, restart), and the PSU was faulty. Swapped for an AT PSU with a DIY tick generator (by aminet).
__________________
Goodbye people.

I'll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 07:28 PM   #11
weirdami
Desperately needs a life
Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
weirdami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,764
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

I heard that it won't boot without the daughter card.
__________________
----
Binding Polymer: Keeping you together since 1892.
weirdami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 10:53 PM   #12
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Boot_WB

Yeah, i tried without the 3640... same behavior... I even tried using a CSMKII, same behavior, though the display shows the rainbow when the machine is turned on...

Thanks!
__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 10:54 PM   #13
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Gwion

Thanks for the advise, I tried it, it didn't work... :-(
__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 10:55 PM   #14
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@Weirdami

Yeah, I connected the daughterboard back, but it didn't help much...

Thanks!

D.
__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2008, 11:01 PM   #15
Dragster
Cult Member
Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76 Points: 13,905, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Dragster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Mexico City, MEXICO.
Posts: 963
Send a message via ICQ to Dragster Send a message via AIM to Dragster Send a message via MSN to Dragster
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

@rkauer

Quote:

Sounds like a bad PSU to me.

Measure the voltages levels. And, like Gwion said, disable the PSU tick signal.
Thanks! I'll do the measurements... as soon as I get a voltmeter handy :-)

Quote:

I have an A2000 with this very same behaviour (grey, light grey, restart), and the PSU was faulty. Swapped for an AT PSU with a DIY tick generator (by aminet).
Really? Interesting... now I'm getting somewhere.

I don't have a voltmeter handy at the moment, however I did another simple test... :

I thought the floppy drive did not work, it didn't do click even when I started the machine on, so I connected it to my A4000 and it turns out it works, so my test was to connect the drive (data cable only) to the A4000, and then connect it to the A3000's PSU... I turned the 3000's PSU on, and then I turned the A4000 on, and voila... it didn't work! Then I did the same test with an AT PSU, and the floppy worked... what does this mean? Something's wrong with the A3000's PSU, yeah!

I still hope the machine is OK, I'm going to test the PSU extensively and do some measurements... I'll keep ya posted,

thanks for all your help.

D.

__________________
Amiga 1200T 603/240, 060/50, SCSI II, Plextor 40/12/40S SCSI CDRW, Plextor 40X SCSI CDROM, Fujitsu 36GB 10KRPM SCSI HD, Pioneer 305S SCSI DVD, BVisionPPC, 256 MB FASTRAM, PowerFlyer EIDE, Scandex external scandoubler, ZIV busboard, Algor USB, Wireless, repulse audio...Peg II Quadruple boot: OS4.1/MorphOS 3.0 regged, OpenSUSE11.1 & Debian Squeeze, Powerbook G4 1139, A4000D CSPPC/PIV/DENEB, A4000T CSPPC/CVPPC/SCSI, etc.. 2 x 24 " FP241VW BenQ LCD monitors.
Dragster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 10:27 AM   #16
Kin-Hell
Cult Member
Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Kin-Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cornwall - U.K
Posts: 615
Default Re: Got an A3000 today but. it doesn't boot...HELP!

Hiya M8y,

PSU replacement are a son of a b1tch to get for the A3K. If you have a good spare ATX kicking around, go here for the mods needed to get it to work.

Linky

It will at least let you take the PSU out of the equation if nothing else & some carefull "Butchery" will let you get the original PSU back as it was. :-D

Best of luck m8. :-)
__________________
Kin-Hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
boothelp , today , a3000

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
a3000 wont boot from hd elpiloto Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 03-03-2008 12:18 AM
HELP! - A3000 won't boot from SCSI HD JasonMc Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 10-29-2007 01:53 PM
A3000 won't boot canuck2 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 02-16-2007 08:52 AM
Just got my A3000 today. Oh man questions LOL mrbill317 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 07-08-2006 03:35 PM
just bought an A3000 today... CaseSwitch General chat about Amiga topics 6 01-20-2005 12:52 AM