amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:44 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2008, 03:06 PM   #1
xPhilx
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,154, Level: 46 Points: 5,154, Level: 46 Points: 5,154, Level: 46
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
xPhilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 97
Default A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

After all my years with Amigas this one's a new one on me. I was using my A3000D (Picasso IV, Ariadne 2, no other expansions) this morning browsing the net for a couple of hours then switched off to go shopping. Four hours later I turn it back on only to find my Picasso isn't being recognised in WB and my right mouse button (RMB) isn't working; no menu popping up but pressing right Amiga+alt keys brings it up.

The thing is...I can hold both mouse buttons and get to the early startup screen so the RMB is working. I changed to a different mouse, both known to be working fine and it's the same. I tried booting from a floppy and get the same results; no RMB in WB but it's there at early startup??

I'm at a loss what's happening to the Picasso too, it shows up okay at early startup but does a disappearing act once WB is loaded. The Ariadne2 is okay though so it's not the daughter board.

Any ideas?

Cheers,

...
Phil.

EDIT: I removed the Picasso and Ariadne2 (no cards attached) and still have the RMB problem.
xPhilx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 07:53 PM   #2
Kin-Hell
Cult Member
Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Kin-Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cornwall - U.K
Posts: 615
Default Re: A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

Check all the Capacitors on every PCB within your Amiga. You are looking for a sweaty look. IE, small globules of Moisture on the tops of the Caps. This is Electrolyte Leakage & will cause havoc with the normal operation of your Miggy.

Good Luck! :-)
__________________
Kin-Hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2008, 08:24 PM   #3
Tenacious
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,349, Level: 75 Points: 13,349, Level: 75 Points: 13,349, Level: 75
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
Tenacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: near Cincinnati
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

Pretty strange!

As posted before, I've had problems with the way the Zorro III daughter board sits in the motherboard. I usually have to re-seat it several times after disturbing it. You didn't disturb yours did you?

One other thought, have you done any hot-plugging of the mouse port? Maybe the associated interface chips have become intermittant. I wish I could help more with this, I schematics for the 500 & 2000 but not the 3000.

OK, one more thought. Did your battery leak?
Tenacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 12:58 AM   #4
amiga_3k
Technoid
Points: 4,416, Level: 42 Points: 4,416, Level: 42 Points: 4,416, Level: 42
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 467
Send a message via MSN to amiga_3k
Default Re: A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

Go back to the bare basic installation. That is, not a single extra piece of hardware plugged in. Only plug in a keyboard, mouse, monitor, powercord ;-) and the floppy-drive (no harddisk / cd-drive / whatever) and boot from floppy. Check if things work.

If not, try swapping the CIA chips. If the mouse works fine after that, you'll know you've got to source a replacement for the CIA.
__________________
[img align=left]http://www.elf8.nl/AMIGA_BANNER_2.gif[/img]Get a SAM, while you can! The new AMIGA is here!
amiga_3k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2008, 05:44 AM   #5
xPhilx
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,154, Level: 46 Points: 5,154, Level: 46 Points: 5,154, Level: 46
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
xPhilx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 97
Default Re: A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

Thanks for the suggestions guys. Good news; all's well again.

@Kin-Hell. All caps seem to be visually okay, thanks.

@Tenacious. Yup, the daughter board seating was the problem with the Picasso. I had to re-seat it 3 times before the Picasso was recognised.

When I got this A3K around a year ago it had the original, leaking, battery which I replaced with a lithium battery. There was a problem with the mouse which I forgot about; the pointer would 'flick' over to the right side of the screen and stay there. I repaired this by cleaning the green crud off the Paula IC + socket + surrounding area. So last night I re-seated Paula and started getting all sorts of funky stuff - green screen on boot-up all the way to WorkBench (memory), garbled graphics, no mouse buttons working but pointer moving, you name it I got it ....

@amiga_3k.... Swapping Paula sorted all the above problems out, cheers.

And has regards hot swapping peripherals - I learnt my lesson when I got a new A4kD and hot swapped a hand scanner and blew the parallel port, ended up getting a replacement motherboard under warranty. Never again!

Cheers,
...
Phil.
xPhilx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 10:21 PM   #6
mauidj
Too much caffeine
Points: 1,994, Level: 26 Points: 1,994, Level: 26 Points: 1,994, Level: 26
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

I just bought an A3000 and found it had a leaking battery.....after the seller said it did not
The leak was quit bad I guess.
Cleaned it up and removed battery.
It powered up fine but I have a problem with the right mouse button.
Is this the probable result of the leakage?
Any suggestions other than a new motherboard?
Any clean motherboards out there?
Aloha!
mauidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 12:08 AM   #7
Chain
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,851, Level: 54 Points: 6,851, Level: 54 Points: 6,851, Level: 54
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,324
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Default Re: A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

right mouse button line goes to paula, try to swap it from another machine if you can
Chain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 01:26 PM   #8
mauidj
Too much caffeine
Points: 1,994, Level: 26 Points: 1,994, Level: 26 Points: 1,994, Level: 26
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 126
Default Re: A3000 Right Mouse Button & Picasso IV Blues

Mahao Chain.
Can I use the Paula from a spare A1200 board I have?
mauidj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
blues , button , a3000 , mouse , picasso

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 button mouse work with Amiga 1200?? richbeanz Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 23 01-05-2007 09:07 AM
Alfa Data 3 Button Mouse pan1k Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 10-07-2006 04:27 PM
Using the second mouse button in Shapeshifter Flashlab Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 7 01-14-2006 11:39 AM
3st mouse button (freewheel + magicmenu problem) kas1e Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 6 10-27-2005 06:38 PM
3 Button Mouse Karamoon1 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 7 10-18-2005 05:18 PM