amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion Amiga Vision

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2008, 02:37 PM   #1
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,077
Default Amiga Vision

I notice that people can't give away Amiga Vision on eBay, Amazon or other places. Does no one use this software any more?
I use Amiga Vision Pro, still with excellent results. IIRC the standard Amiga Vision is pretty good too.
Does anyone here still use this software? Obviously this is no big deal, it just piqued my curiosity.
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 03:23 PM   #2
SamuraiCrow
Premium Member
Points: 14,084, Level: 77 Points: 14,084, Level: 77 Points: 14,084, Level: 77
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
SamuraiCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,065
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to SamuraiCrow Send a message via Skype™ to SamuraiCrow
Default Re: Amiga Vision

I have it but I don't use it. :-(
SamuraiCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 03:25 PM   #3
MaDDuck
Technoid
Points: 6,807, Level: 54 Points: 6,807, Level: 54 Points: 6,807, Level: 54
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
MaDDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Tejas
Posts: 390
Send a message via AIM to MaDDuck Send a message via Yahoo to MaDDuck
Default Re: Amiga Vision

Hecks yeah!!
I used Amiga Vision to do some MM slideshows with music back in the day before MS invented powerpoint.

Easy to use and the learning curve wasn't too bad either.
__________________
___________________________________________

"Dance like no ones watching, love like you've never been hurt, work like you dont need the money,and laugh like no ones listening!"
- Unknown
MaDDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 05:32 PM   #4
davideo
Technoid
Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, UK
Posts: 394
Default Re: Amiga Vision

Me too.

Had and still have great fun with it.

It's surprising what you can do with it. 8-)
davideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 06:02 PM   #5
TDScompute
Beginner
Points: 1,178, Level: 18 Points: 1,178, Level: 18 Points: 1,178, Level: 18
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 35
Default Re: Amiga Vision

I have always thought it was quite easy to use, and very powerful. I suppose people are not putting together presentations on the Amiga much anymore, but it works great for an information terminal.

I don't think Commodore really marketed it much. IIRC, it only came with the A3000, not with the 1200 or 4000.

I was just looking at my disks last night, and I want to load it on my 4000 and see if it supports AGA or if I can use it with my Picasso II board. I doubt it, though...
TDScompute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 06:47 PM   #6
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94 Points: 24,129, Level: 94
Activity: 61% Activity: 61% Activity: 61%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,250
Default Re: Amiga Vision

Quote:
I was just looking at my disks last night, and I want to load it on my 4000 and see if it supports AGA or if I can use it with my Picasso II board. I doubt it, though...
The "Professional" release, AS251 (in a box), officially supports AGA. Don't know if the A3000 release (AS250, the one in the huge binder) will simply work in ECS mode, or not at all, on an AGA machine.

I've only recently discovered Amiga Vision. Haven't learned to use it yet, but hopefully I'll get around to it soon-ish.
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 07:29 PM   #7
SamuraiCrow
Premium Member
Points: 14,084, Level: 77 Points: 14,084, Level: 77 Points: 14,084, Level: 77
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
SamuraiCrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,065
Blog Entries: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to SamuraiCrow Send a message via Skype™ to SamuraiCrow
Default Re: Amiga Vision

Someday I want to recreate the flow editor as a means toward editing source code for some sort of rapid application development tool. I liked the way that having an icon to the lower right of a nestable icon was considered to be inside the outer icon's scope. Kind of like Python.
SamuraiCrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 01:30 AM   #8
davideo
Technoid
Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, UK
Posts: 394
Default Re: Amiga Vision

I installed mine on my recently acquired 4000 the other week and although it ran it wasn't in true AGA and would only run in standard Amiga graphics modes. Although that could be the cheap graphics card I've got in it
davideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 05:09 PM   #9
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,077
Default Re: Amiga Vision

Quote:
davideo wrote:
I installed mine on my recently acquired 4000 the other week and although it ran it wasn't in true AGA and would only run in standard Amiga graphics modes. Although that could be the cheap graphics card I've got in it
Is the the Pro version? It should work fine with AGA. The "regular" Amiga Vision will not - it will only run in ECS

It truly is surprising what this program is capable of.
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 05:32 PM   #10
davideo
Technoid
Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42 Points: 4,450, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
davideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Boston, UK
Posts: 394
Default Re: Amiga Vision

No its not - although I have got an unofficial Pro version.

I'll have to stick that on and play with it instead 8-)
davideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2008, 05:33 PM   #11
redfox
Cult Member
Points: 10,166, Level: 67 Points: 10,166, Level: 67 Points: 10,166, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 802
Default Re: Amiga Vision

@motrucker

I used AmigaVision 1.53 Revision G on my A2000HD for several years. Had lots of fun with it, and really enjoyed using it.

This version of AmigaVision starts up ok on AmigaOS4 on my MicroA1, but is somewhat finicky when I try to create a program or run the tutorials, I visit the "grim reaper" alot. The "Picture Show" tutorial works ok with the July2007Update of OS4.

Works fine if I fire up the AmigaOS4 version of E-UAE and run AmigaVision ontop of that emulation.

---
redfox
redfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2008, 09:10 PM   #12
motrucker
Premium Member
Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79 Points: 15,327, Level: 79
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
motrucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Maryland - U.S.A.
Posts: 2,077
Default Re: Amiga Vision

@ redfox

I use OS 3.5 and 3.9 with Amiga Vision Pro, with no troubles at all. I didn't know it had issues with OS 4.
motrucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
amiga , vision

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS3.9 on Blizzard Vision? Astral Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 05-29-2008 05:53 AM
WTB: Impact Vision 24 (IV 24) GVP For An A4000 bnice Amiga Marketplace 1 03-14-2007 08:25 PM
One Amiga Users Vision For The UK mick_aka General chat about Amiga topics 3 05-11-2005 05:30 PM
blizzard vision HELP!! sheepz Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 25 03-23-2005 04:32 AM
Amiga Vision mode promotion? wildstar1063 Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 0 10-26-2003 01:08 AM