amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:47 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » Where to get an oscillator for the FPU socket of a Microbotics 1230XA?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2008, 11:09 AM   #1
beltrixx
Too much caffeine
Points: 4,465, Level: 42 Points: 4,465, Level: 42 Points: 4,465, Level: 42
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
beltrixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Palleją, Barcelona (Spain)
Posts: 84
Default Where to get an oscillator for the FPU socket of a Microbotics 1230XA?

Hi,

Does anyone know where can I get an oscilator (40 Mhz) for the FPU socket of my Microbotics 1230XA?

I don't know nothing about this kind of components... some days ago I tried to find some web which sells them, but I'm afraid I'm not capable to identify the one I need (there are several different types)

I just know that my FPU is clocked at 40Mhz (the 68030 processor is clocked at 50 Mhz) and there's a sepparate slot to attach the FPU-clock in the accelerator board.

Thanks in advance,

Manel.

__________________
A1200 Desktop : 20 Gb HD, DVD ROM, Fastata 1200 MKII, 128 Mb Fast, Microbotics 1230XA Accelerator, WLAN Card, AmigaOS 3.9
Never in the field of human conflict, was so much owed by so many to so few. (W. Churchill)
beltrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 11:24 AM   #2
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,734, Level: 80 Points: 15,734, Level: 80 Points: 15,734, Level: 80
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,460
Default Re: Where to get an oscillator for the FPU socket of a Microbotics 1230XA?

You *might* find one at a local electronics shop. I live in a relatively small town, yet our local joint has a decent oscillator selection. Outside of that, you'd be looking at an online shop.

You need a "full size" (14 Pin DIP) type, 5v.



Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 11:39 AM   #3
amigakit
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 21,826, Level: 92 Points: 21,826, Level: 92 Points: 21,826, Level: 92
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
amigakit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,615
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Where to get an oscillator for the FPU socket of a Microbotics 1230XA?

Here is a 14-DIL oscillator suitable for your accelerator:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=45&products_id=257

We stock many other crystal oscillators both 14-DIL, 8-DIL and sockets
__________________
www.AmigaKit.com - Amiga Hardware/Software Dealer

New Products -- Customer Help & Support -- @amigakit

USA Toll Free Order Tel: 1-888-698-6758
amigakit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 11:54 AM   #4
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Sćo Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: Where to get an oscillator for the FPU socket of a Microbotics 1230XA?

The MB1230XA don't need a separate crystal. Only if you want to run the FPU at different speed from the CPU.

Or the FPU chip is intended to run on that speed only (ex.: 68882/33 with 68030/50).

Check here!

__________________
Goodbye people.

I'll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 02:56 PM   #5
beltrixx
Too much caffeine
Points: 4,465, Level: 42 Points: 4,465, Level: 42 Points: 4,465, Level: 42
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
beltrixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Palleją, Barcelona (Spain)
Posts: 84
Default Re: Where to get an oscillator for the FPU socket of a Microbotics 1230XA?

Thanks everybody for your replies, all have been very helpful.

Seems clear that I need a 14 pin DIL, 5v, 40 MHz crystal
oscillator.

Greetings,
Manel
__________________
A1200 Desktop : 20 Gb HD, DVD ROM, Fastata 1200 MKII, 128 Mb Fast, Microbotics 1230XA Accelerator, WLAN Card, AmigaOS 3.9
Never in the field of human conflict, was so much owed by so many to so few. (W. Churchill)
beltrixx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2008, 03:07 PM   #6
Khephren
Cult Member
Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68 Points: 10,476, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Northampton, UK
Posts: 605
Default Re: Where to get an oscillator for the FPU socket of a Microbotics 1230XA?

Freaky. I just asked the same question on ClassicAmiga.com. And the FPU crystal's been missing five years! The Microbotics must have had dodgy production. Although it seemed to run fine without it for a quite a while.
Khephren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
microbotics , oscillator , socket , fpu , 1230xa

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oscillator Query JimmySage Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 8 03-26-2009 12:51 AM
Is Microbotics 1230XA compatibe with FastATA gold 1200? beltrixx Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 2 01-04-2009 08:24 AM
Phase 5 Rev 2 BPPC - One Oscillator?? ddniUK Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 06-14-2007 05:39 PM
Fastest oscillator on Blizzard 1240? MarkAshley Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 11-02-2005 06:45 AM
Wanted: 100 MHz Oscillator McTrinsic Amiga Marketplace 22 06-22-2004 01:43 PM