amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion battery replacement question

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2003, 01:49 PM   #1
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default battery replacement question

After replacing the battery in an A4000
desktop, the system boots ok, SysInfo
show's "Battery Backed Up Clock Found",
but when I save the date and time setting's
with OS3.9 TimePrefs, the setting's aren't
retained for cold bootup, or warm reboot.
I get ??/??/2011. Am I missing something
obvious? I bought the new battery from
Jaycar after seeing them and the product
code for the battery mentioned here.
Thanks.
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 01:53 PM   #2
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: battery replacement question

After you set the time and date you must remember to do the SETCLOCK SAVE command to save it.

OOPS this pertains to using the DATE command in a shell. Not sure about OS3.9 off the top of my head.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 02:47 PM   #3
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: battery replacement question

-BUMP-

Someone have some help for this gentleman(or lady) ?
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 03:27 PM   #4
Vincent
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,463, Level: 80 Points: 15,463, Level: 80 Points: 15,463, Level: 80
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Vincent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 3,895
Default Re: battery replacement question

Make sure the saved settings are in SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/Time.prefs (or ENVARC:Time.prefs if you know your assigns ;-) )

It might be (but highly unlikely) that it's saving the prefs into ENV: instead of ENVARC:

Failing that boot from the Emergency disk and change and save the prefs on that then reboot. If that works, copy DF0:Prefs/Env-Arhive/Time.prefs to SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive/Time.prefs then reboot from your HD and see if that's worked.

These are the only two things I can suggest. Hope it helps.
__________________
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don't think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 03:32 AM   #5
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

Didn't think of this when I chose
a handle. Bob was already used,
but BR is kind of vague. I better
start signing every post. >

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 03:36 AM   #6
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

I tried SetClock Save with no luck. Someone
on the OS3.9 mailing list suggested
SetClock Reset then SetClock ??:??/??
07/15/2003 then SetClock Save. I'll
try this sometime today and see what
happens.

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 04:15 AM   #7
tonyw
Cult Member
Points: 6,134, Level: 50 Points: 6,134, Level: 50 Points: 6,134, Level: 50
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 553
Default Re: battery replacement question

Hey, Bob,

How have you been setting the clock? Using the WB Prefs "Time" program in the Prefs drawer? That should be all you need.

Did you install the battery on the MB? Or hanging out on wires? Have you tested the voltage across the battery with a meter? Are you sure the battery isn't connected back to front (it can't be if it's soldered onto the MB)?

Where do you live?

tony
tonyw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 08:27 AM   #8
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

Yes, I used the Prefs/TimePrefs before I
tried SetClock. Yes, the battery is installed
on the motherboard, no wires, I have a meter
but 1 of my son's lost the leads, there's
no way to install this type of battery
backwards, it has 2 leg's on 1 end and
1 leg on the other. Someone on the OS3.9
mailing list said I could've "lost a trace
to the okidata clock chip" and this is
probably what happened because nothing
I've tried fixed the problem. Oh well,
at least the computer still works.
I live in Illinois in the USA.

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2003, 10:23 PM   #9
melott
Cult Member
Points: 9,136, Level: 64 Points: 9,136, Level: 64 Points: 9,136, Level: 64
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 989
Default Re: battery replacement question

Sounds like you have the same problem I have.
I replaced the battery on my A3K but on a re-boot
it lost the time and date.
I had to open the machine up again for another
reason so checked out the battery while I had it
open.
The voltage to the battery circuit was dead.
So the only way mine will work is to trace the
circuit find where the circuit died.
I'm not that good, so its just dead.
You could download 'Atomic Clock' from Aminet
and set it up to set your clock whenever you go
on-line.

Mel Ott
:-) :-)
melott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 01:02 AM   #10
Castellen
Cult Member
Points: 10,837, Level: 68 Points: 10,837, Level: 68 Points: 10,837, Level: 68
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 972
Default Re: battery replacement question


Saving the time from the standard WB time program (in prefs) should write the time and date to the RTC.

If you have a multimeter handy, turn the machine off and check for at least 3V between pins 18 and 9 of the RTC device, U178.

If you have a scope or counter, check for approx 32kHz on pins 16 or 17 with the machine off. That gives a good indication if there is battery power there and the clock is running.


You might also try replacing the clock's data latch, U177, as this sometimes causes clock read/write problems.
Obviously you'll need access to SMD rework equipment for this.

Hopefully you haven't damaged the RP5C01 clock, as these are obsolete and can be hard to get.


Anthony.
Castellen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 09:05 AM   #11
Tygre
Merely Curious
Points: 7,860, Level: 59 Points: 7,860, Level: 59 Points: 7,860, Level: 59
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Default Re: battery replacement question

Hi there!

How are you? I also replaced the battery of my Amiga 4000, but I could net get it to work!? The previous battery had leaked, do you think something might be broken? Did I miss something? :-(

Thanks!
Tygre :-)
Tygre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2003, 10:04 AM   #12
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: battery replacement question

@Tygre

Hey there, welcome to Amiga.org:-) Did you check what was mentioned in this thread? Do you have a barrel type?
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 12:37 AM   #13
Castellen
Cult Member
Points: 10,837, Level: 68 Points: 10,837, Level: 68 Points: 10,837, Level: 68
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 972
Default Re: battery replacement question

@ Tygre:
Can you be a little more specific?

If the "save" button in the Time Preferences is ghosted out, it means the system cannot see the real time clock (RTC).
If this is the case, then probably one of the PCB tracks around the RTC have gone open circuit due to corrosion. Sometimes the data latch U177 can die due to corrosion damage.


If you have the trouble of the RTC working, but not remembering the time due to the battery not charging up, then one of the tracks that charge the battery (via the +12V line) is probably open circuit.


I have schematics and stuff you can use if you have a reasnoble electronics knowledge. The circuit is very simple.
Castellen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:23 AM   #14
Dr_Righteous
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,353, Level: 61 Points: 8,353, Level: 61 Points: 8,353, Level: 61
Activity: 31% Activity: 31% Activity: 31%
 
Dr_Righteous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,345
Default Re: battery replacement question

Some things go without saying, thus I have to say them... But, make sure to leave the system running for a while to ensure a full battery charge. If the battery doesn't get a full charge, it won't hold the time settings.
__________________
- Doc

A4000D, A3640 OC-36.3MHz, custom tower, Mediator A4000D. Diamond Banshee 16M, Indivision AGA 4000, GVP HC+8.

Mac Mini 1.5GHz, that might run MorphOS someday, when the fools who own it come to the realization that 30 minutes just isn't enough time to play with it enough to decide whether or not you like it enough to cough up $200.

- Someone please design SOME kind of DIY accelerator for the A4000. -
Dr_Righteous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:32 AM   #15
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

It save's and keeps correct time until
I reboot or turn the power off. It read's
slighty below 3.6v with power off, slightly
above 3.6v with power on. And I wish I knew
enough about this stuff to use your advise
on troubleshooting. You know your in the
right place when you get more information
then you know what to do with. >

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:35 AM   #16
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

I did a search on Jaycar with the product
code they posted in that battery replacement
thread. It is the barrel type and fit
perfect when the old battery was removed.

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:41 AM   #17
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

Yes, it save's time until a reboot or
reset, and the save button isn't ghosted.
Thanks for the offer of the schematics
but I should probably leave that kind
of diagnosing and repairing to someone
more experienced.

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:45 AM   #18
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

Next time I have it out I'll leave it
plugged in for a day or so just to
play it safe. After a reboot or reset
it think's it's 2011 so at least this
doesn't interfere with cold or warm
booting.

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:49 AM   #19
BR
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47 Points: 5,355, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 118
Default Re: battery replacement question

I am fine. Thanks for asking. I lucked
out and caught this before any leakage
got to the motherboard. I'd guess that's
what determine's how much more need's
to be repaired. The way I understand it
that leakage can ruin a motherbaord, or
at least that part of it.

Bob
BR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 04:30 PM   #20
Tygre
Merely Curious
Points: 7,860, Level: 59 Points: 7,860, Level: 59 Points: 7,860, Level: 59
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Tygre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 18
Default Re: battery replacement question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Castellen View Post
@ Tygre:
If the "save" button in the Time Preferences is ghosted out, it means the system cannot see the real time clock (RTC).
If this is the case, then probably one of the PCB tracks around the RTC have gone open circuit due to corrosion. Sometimes the data latch U177 can die due to corrosion damage.


If you have the trouble of the RTC working, but not remembering the time due to the battery not charging up, then one of the tracks that charge the battery (via the +12V line) is probably open circuit.


I have schematics and stuff you can use if you have a reasnoble electronics knowledge. The circuit is very simple.
Hi Castellen!

Yes, 9 years ago, I am back! :-)

Could you post or send me the schematics, the battery works but the "Save" button is ghosted so something must be wrong...

Thanks!
Tygre
Tygre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
battery , question , replacement

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery replacement Marcb Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 8 06-09-2013 08:15 PM
Amiga battery replacement? wa9yoz General chat about Amiga topics 4 08-21-2008 08:50 AM
Blizzardppc battery replacement, how to remove battery? Bazzaq Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 01-12-2007 06:01 PM
Battery replacement?? aggro_mix Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 39 09-24-2004 04:05 AM
Battery Replacement Prmetime Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 11-25-2003 07:12 PM