amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:18 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2007, 04:49 PM   #1
RW222
Technoid
Points: 1,711, Level: 24 Points: 1,711, Level: 24 Points: 1,711, Level: 24
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 155
Default C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

Hi folks,

I've got this model 1351 mouse I picked up because I thought it was an Amiga mouse. So, daft question, is it a C=64 or 128 mouse? Does it work with an Amiga?

thanks,

RW222
__________________
RW222: A1200 (early commodore) A1220 Turbo+4MB, A500x2.
RW222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 05:08 PM   #2
fillosauru
Beginner
Points: 3,294, Level: 35 Points: 3,294, Level: 35 Points: 3,294, Level: 35
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 42
Default Re: C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

It seems you have answered yourself. It is a C=64/128 mice.
It's probabilly not compatible with Amiga mice; reason:
The Amiga mouse it's a very simple device.
The 1351 mouse contains a specially designed integrated circuit.

Short answer: You risk blowing up one of the 8520 CIA if you hook up this mouse to a miggy.
__________________
A500, KS 1.3, 1 Mb RAM
A1200, KS 3.0, 2 Mb Chip+8 Mb Fast RAM, 1 Gb CF
Lots of 8-bit computers (:-D me thinks I'm the only Romanian that owns 3 Acorn BBC's - 2 Model B's and a Master)
Athlon X2 4200+, 2x1 Gb DDR II, 250+750Gb Seagate Barracuda SATA ...
fillosauru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 05:14 PM   #3
Trev
Slacker
Points: 12,103, Level: 72 Points: 12,103, Level: 72 Points: 12,103, Level: 72
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Trev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Francisco, California, US
Posts: 1,524
Default Re: C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

Isn't the Amiga mouse digital? The 1351 operates in both analog and digital modes, but I gather that functionality is only relevant to the C64, since the singals are sent to the SID. In digital/joystick mode, the pinout is identical to an Amiga mouse except for pin 5, which is unused on the 1351.

On a C64 or C128, you set the mouse to joystick mode by holding down the right mouse button at power-on. That may or may not work on an A500. Someone with more electrical knowledge than me will have to speak to whether or not there's a risk of damage to either the 1351, the A500, or both.

EDIT

I'd heed fillosauru's advice.

Trev
Trev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 05:30 PM   #4
jaseinblack
Merely Curious
Points: 4,117, Level: 40 Points: 4,117, Level: 40 Points: 4,117, Level: 40
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11
Default Re: C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

ISTR that the C64/128 mouse and the Amiga mouse are wired up differently, and so won't work, and may break a chip or two.

J
__________________
jaseinblack

Amiganaut since 1987
jaseinblack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:42 PM   #5
RW222
Technoid
Points: 1,711, Level: 24 Points: 1,711, Level: 24 Points: 1,711, Level: 24
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 155
Default Re: C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

Thanks people, found another mouse, which was presumably an A500 one coz it didn't say 1351 on the bottom and worked. Must have 'em stashed all round the house, didn't find the motherlode of miggy stuff yet, but had an A500, found a stray PSU and a few disks.

That A500 appears to work, loads Octamed off disk, but haven't got anything on other disks out right now, couldn't do much with it. Plugged in the promigos HDD and it's glitchy, got a sofware error once trying to boot it, nothing much else happens, though I can see it in Octamed's file requester as D0H0: which it says is not a DOS disk.

Anyhoo, appear to have one working Amiga... now to find the others and some software...

RW222
__________________
RW222: A1200 (early commodore) A1220 Turbo+4MB, A500x2.
RW222 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 10:23 PM   #6
LoadWB
VIP / Donor
Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79 Points: 14,937, Level: 79
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,239
Default Re: C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

The 1351 mouse reports its position to the computer (C64/128) using the POTX and POTY lines which are read by the SID. To determine position and movement, a program calculates the delta of each POT line allowing for jitter (which ISTR is quite minimal.) Whereas the Amiga mouse uses quadrature signaling over the joystick lines. I have never blown an Amiga by plugging the 1351 into it -- the Amiga just ignores it.

When the 1351 is in joystick mode, movements are translated to joystick presses in respective directions.

The rest of this is from fading memory, but IIRC the Amiga's right button drops one of the potentiometer lines low, whereas the 1351 drops one of the joystick lines low. The left button for both read as the joystick "fire" button, regardless of mode.
LoadWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 04:29 AM   #7
skurk
Cult Member
Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
skurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 929
Default Re: C= Model 1351 mouse and A500???

I'll trade you the 1351 for a brand new Amiga mouse
__________________
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
skurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
mouse , model , 1351 , a500

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FA: Micronik Zorro Board, A500+ (mint), A1081, Maxon Cinema 4D, Mouse, Action Replay AllocVec Amiga Marketplace 0 05-09-2009 02:58 PM
FA: Ariadne II, mouse for A3000T(pregnant mouse) and many more AllocVec Amiga Marketplace 0 01-12-2009 02:19 PM
Amiga A500, joysticks, mouse and lots of games to give away wwarby Amiga Marketplace 1 09-03-2008 07:30 AM
Mouse problem on A500 fiat1100d Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 8 01-03-2008 05:01 AM
A500 Mouse ftw414 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 12 12-28-2003 12:09 PM