amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:50 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Software Issues and Discussion » ADF file to big to fit on a disk

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2007, 03:16 AM   #1
britonk
Merely Curious
Points: 1,354, Level: 20 Points: 1,354, Level: 20 Points: 1,354, Level: 20
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Send a message via Yahoo to britonk
Default ADF file to big to fit on a disk

Morning all,

Digging through my old amiga disks I found a game I used to love and want to play again - Darkseed.

Unfortunately disk 2 seems to be corrupt. I have managed to obtain the ADF file of disk two and want to convert it to a solid amiga disk so I can play.

Unfortunately even after LHAing the image file it is still bigger than 720K and thus won't fit onto a disk for me to get onto my Amiga using CrossDOS.

Any ideas? Is there a program like LHA (that has an Amiga and a PC version) that I can use to split the file in two and re-join at the amiga end?

Any suggestions very welcome...

Cheers...
britonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 03:25 AM   #2
sir_inferno
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,025, Level: 60 Points: 8,025, Level: 60 Points: 8,025, Level: 60
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,036
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

you could download all of the disks and just play in winuae lol...would mean less/easier disk swapping
sir_inferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 03:32 AM   #3
foleyjo
Cult Member
Points: 8,100, Level: 60 Points: 8,100, Level: 60 Points: 8,100, Level: 60
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 557
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

On aminet theres a file splitting program. Cant remember what its called but search for file splitter or something.

Dont forget to put the join side of it on the amiga
foleyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 03:32 AM   #4
britonk
Merely Curious
Points: 1,354, Level: 20 Points: 1,354, Level: 20 Points: 1,354, Level: 20
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Send a message via Yahoo to britonk
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

I actually tried that but there is some kind of graphical problem with the game under WinUAE it misses every other scan line out - have tried playing with the graphics settings to no avail.

Disk swapping won't be an issue - the game supports install to HDD and my 1200 has a large HDD
britonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 03:55 AM   #5
skurk
Cult Member
Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52 Points: 6,522, Level: 52
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
skurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 929
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

Why not mount your Amiga HDD in WinUAE on your PC? Copy all the files you want without having to worry about split/join, r/w errors, etc. When you're done, simply re-connect the HDD to your Amiga and dump the ADF's to DF0: (or mount them as virtual floppies if you have enough RAM)
__________________
Code 6502 asm or... DIE!!

[C64, C128, A500, A600, A1200, A3000, MBP+Mini, Efika/MOS2.1, Sam440 w/AOS4.1
skurk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 04:09 AM   #6
motorollin
Premium Member
Points: 32,860, Level: 100 Points: 32,860, Level: 100 Points: 32,860, Level: 100
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
 
motorollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,666
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

block205
"Join and split files. 68k, MorphOS and Windows versions included."

So split the file on Windows, copy the chunks one at a time to your Amiga, copy the block205 archive to your Amiga, use the Amiga version of block205 to join the chunks of the file back together.

--
moto
__________________
Code:
10  IT'S THE FINAL COUNTDOWN
20  FOR C = 1 TO 2
30     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA
40     DA-NA-NAAAA-NAAAA DA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAAA
50  NEXT C
60  NA-NA-NAAAA
70  NA-NA NA-NA-NA-NA-NAAAA NAAA-NAAAAAAAAAAA
80  GOTO 10
motorollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 04:34 AM   #7
britonk
Merely Curious
Points: 1,354, Level: 20 Points: 1,354, Level: 20 Points: 1,354, Level: 20
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Send a message via Yahoo to britonk
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

Hi all thanks for your help. I found another tool on Aminet that does the splitting also:

http://main.aminet.net/pub/aminet/util/cli/SimpleSplitter.lha

britonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 05:06 AM   #8
amigakit
Administrator
Points: 23,601, Level: 94 Points: 23,601, Level: 94 Points: 23,601, Level: 94
Activity: 97% Activity: 97% Activity: 97%
 
amigakit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,717
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

If you have an A600 or A1200 you can easily and quickly transfer files across with our EasyADF PCMCIA CF Transfer Kit:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=440
__________________
www.AmigaKit.com - Amiga Hardware/Software Dealer

New Products -- Customer Help & Support -- @amigakit

USA Toll Free Order Tel: 1-888-698-6758
amigakit is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 11:29 PM   #9
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

There is another utility you can grab from internet called splitz and joinz. With versions for pecees and amiga. Works for me when I need to.
__________________
Goodbye people.

I'll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 04:52 PM   #10
scuzzb494
Cult Member
Points: 9,207, Level: 64 Points: 9,207, Level: 64 Points: 9,207, Level: 64
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 683
Default Re: ADF file to big to fit on a disk

Hi

I have a High Density drive on the Amiga. The basic floppy drive was never ever big enough to be honest. They often come up on Ebay.

Strange that the disk is now bigger... Copyright issue I would suggest. I'll have a look at my disk and see what happens when I ADF or DMS it. DMS would be better, or just simply copy the disk...

Magic game.. Wish you hadn`t mentioned that. ( where did I put it ? )

scuzz
http://www.commodore-amiga-retro.com
scuzzb494 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
big , fit , file , disk , adf

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DMS File converting to real Amiga disk hamtronix Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 6 07-22-2007 12:31 AM
PC-Task 4.4 Problems: Hard Disk C: file disappeared Rabbi Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 2 10-27-2006 01:35 PM
Network file share as Hard disk _ZooL_ Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 2 03-21-2005 03:17 PM
Transfer file from PC-Amiga and write to disk PG Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 1 02-12-2004 05:37 PM
LHA File spliiter for both pc and amiga that fits on disk. Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 3 04-22-2003 04:34 PM