amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-11-2007, 11:08 AM   #1
bfilipe
Merely Curious
Points: 1,320, Level: 20 Points: 1,320, Level: 20 Points: 1,320, Level: 20
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Default 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

Greetings,
My amiga 500 (rev 6 board)is hacked to 1mb chip ram (8372A Agnus),ECS denise and kick1.3/3.1. My ram expansion in the trap door is the KCS Power PC Board rev 4.2 with 1mb.

If I replace the agnus 8372A with a 8375 (2mb version 390544-01) and socket another 0.5meg of ram in the amiga motherboard, will I get 2MB chip ram or do I have to hack the board again?

I'm unable to get the 2MB MegAChip upgrade.

Many thanks.
bfilipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:37 AM   #2
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

Well, it's possible... But quite a bit of work.
Don't forget that there a various 8375s around, one for 1 MB chip (replacement for older 8370/71), one for 2 MB in A3000 (32 bit chip RAM), one for A600/500+.

Take a look at the table in the German Wikipedia article where the variants are compared and choose one of them. There are a couple of changes to be done to the PLCC socket (rerouting of traces) - nothing the simple onboard 1 MB expansion compares to - and a MegAchip is a much simpler solution. Or just get an A500+.
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:50 AM   #3
narmi
Beginner
Points: 1,462, Level: 21 Points: 1,462, Level: 21 Points: 1,462, Level: 21
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 38
Default Re: 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

The 8372B (2MB Agnus) is pin compatible with the 8372A. I had one in my Rev 6 A500 with 2MB chip ram on board (sold long ago). I didn't do the mod myself, but I remember that it was hard to get the required RAM chips. It is not an easy mod, even if you can get all the parts.

That being said, if I had the parts I would try it on my Rev 6 A500, just to see if I could do it.
narmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:58 AM   #4
Zac67
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74 Points: 12,866, Level: 74
Activity: 16% Activity: 16% Activity: 16%
 
Zac67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Erlangen, Germany
Posts: 2,890
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

The 8372B can't be pin compatible w/ 8372A since the latter doesn't have reserved pins for the additionally required address lines. It's largely pin compatible though, but even Alice fits that...
Zac67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:37 PM   #5
bfilipe
Merely Curious
Points: 1,320, Level: 20 Points: 1,320, Level: 20 Points: 1,320, Level: 20
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 9
Default Re: 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

The Agnus 8375 I've mentioned is form Amiga 500+/600. I thought it was pin compatible with the 8372 that came on the board.

I've seen in Aminet a hack that implies making a PCB for the Agnus.

I have ram chips to solder in the empty ram sockets in the motherboard (from an old ISA vga card). But without the 8375 it's useless to put them in there. The system already has 8mb Fast and 1 mb chip ram.

So much for the easy road... :-(

Thanks anyhow.
bfilipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 07:00 PM   #6
Tenacious
Defender of the Faith
Points: 13,349, Level: 75 Points: 13,349, Level: 75 Points: 13,349, Level: 75
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
Tenacious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: near Cincinnati
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

I did the motherboard mod back in the early 90s on one of my A500s. It is still running strong. The entire 2 megabytes go on the motherboard (all new chips, IIRC). The half-meg on the A501 is disabled but the rtc is still used.
Tenacious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 08:26 PM   #7
Jeff
Premium Member
Points: 12,080, Level: 72 Points: 12,080, Level: 72 Points: 12,080, Level: 72
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Jeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,152
Default Re: 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

I also did that hack to a rev 6 500. The article was in Amazing Computing Amiga magazine in the end of '93 I think. You have to replace all the motherboard ram locations with 1Megx4 Dram DIP's. You use an 8372B 2Meg Agnus (A3000 Style) and modify some traces on the motherboard.

It works great, but finding a used DKB Megachip on ebay would be a lot easier. The 1Mx4 chips were hard to find back then, and the Megachips go for less than $100.00 usually.

Have Fun,
Jeff

BTW This the above also applies to the rev 6.x 2000's as I recall.
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 03:12 AM   #8
57goldtop
Too much caffeine
Points: 4,745, Level: 43 Points: 4,745, Level: 43 Points: 4,745, Level: 43
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: 2mb chip ram in Amiga 500 Rev 6

Quote:
You use an 8372B 2Meg Agnus (A3000 Style) and modify some traces on the motherboard.
An 8375 318069-XX will work too, was found in some A3000 and A3000T machines.
57goldtop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
2mb , 500 , amiga , chip , ram , rev

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga OS 3.9 and chip ram? AmigaPixel Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 09-02-2008 06:59 PM
Amiga 4000 Chip Ram Ianoakley Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 07-24-2008 11:36 AM
Chip Tunes/SID Chip Music on BBC Radio 1 beakster2 General chat about Amiga topics 5 02-14-2008 08:05 PM
Amiga 600 0.5Mb CHIP + 0.5Mb FAST? Possible? Astral Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 13 04-14-2007 07:31 PM
Amiga 4000 with only 1mb chip ram AntonioX Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 08-20-2005 02:11 PM