amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Marketplace Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Amiga Marketplace This forum is here so that members can alert other members to Amiga items they've seen on eBay (or other auctions). If you are selling Amiga items on eBay, you might let us know about them here. Likewise, if you're selling Amiga items sans eBay, this is the "for sale" forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2007, 06:37 AM   #21
golem
Premium Member
Points: 10,297, Level: 67 Points: 10,297, Level: 67 Points: 10,297, Level: 67
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
golem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 370
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

@wurzel

You can see what speed it runs at by looking on the silver oscillator and halving the frequency it says.

My 1200 supposedly had the timing fixes done by Power computing when I bought it from them and I have had no instability issues with my Apollo and compared to an 030@50Mhz there is a noticeable speed improvement for CPU intensive stuff even at 28MHz (just shows you how superior an 040 is to a 030).

Its a bargain if it goes for under 100. :-o
__________________

A1200 desktop, Blizzard 1260, OS3.9BB2, Indivision Mk II, SCSI Jaz, Ethernet with Genesis
A1200 desktop, Blizzard 1230, OS3.1, Ethernet with Roadshow.
golem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2007, 07:58 AM   #22
tokyoracer
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,135, Level: 69 Points: 11,135, Level: 69 Points: 11,135, Level: 69
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
tokyoracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,590
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Thats cheap at just over 100.
tokyoracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 01:06 AM   #23
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
AmiDude wrote:
@PG wrote:

Quote:
the Apollo turbocard is a very reliable turbo card for the A1200.If you dont want to correct your A1200 mainboard bugs so ok, but dont blame the Apollo turbo card for your stability problem.
Like I stated before (but obviously you didn't read it):
I own a Blizzard now. So no need to spoil my A1200 mobo for a crappy Apollo card.
I've just acquired an Apollo 1260 card (thanks PG!) and it works *perfect* with my Escom 1D4 motherboard. (Couple of quick snaps here and here.) In addition, IDE performance is twice that of my old Blizz 1260 card.

Though I have yet to do any in depth testing/benchmarks, it seems obvious to me so far that both cards are fantastic, each with their own strengths and weaknesses.

(Now I can't wait to check out the last several years worth of AGA demos... WOOT!!!)

cheers

Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 04:12 AM   #24
alexh
Desperately needs a life
Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76 Points: 13,977, Level: 76
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 3,638
Send a message via ICQ to alexh Send a message via MSN to alexh Send a message via Yahoo to alexh
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
-D- wrote:
IDE performance is twice that of my old Blizz 1260 card.
You mean "Blizz 1230" right?

There can be little or no IDE performance increase between a Blizzard 1260 and an Apollo 1260. They both have the same CPU at the same speed.

Maybe if you screwed up your Blizzard 1260 flash config, forcing wait states, that might cripple it to half speed... still I doubt it.
alexh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 06:15 AM   #25
PG
Technoid
Points: 5,185, Level: 46 Points: 5,185, Level: 46 Points: 5,185, Level: 46
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 221
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
I've just acquired an Apollo 1260 card (thanks PG!) and it works *perfect* with my Escom 1D4 motherboard. (Couple of quick snaps here and here.) In addition, IDE performance is twice that of my old Blizz 1260 card
Thank you!
Im happy that you are happy with your card!.. :-)
PG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 11:52 AM   #26
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
alexh wrote:
Quote:
-D- wrote:
IDE performance is twice that of my old Blizz 1260 card.
You mean "Blizz 1230" right?

There can be little or no IDE performance increase between a Blizzard 1260 and an Apollo 1260. They both have the same CPU at the same speed.

Maybe if you screwed up your Blizzard 1260 flash config, forcing wait states, that might cripple it to half speed... still I doubt it.

Hi alexh,

I meant Blizzard 1260! :-) (The Blizz 1230 has faster chipset access than the 1240/1260 cards, likewise better IDE performance.)

Due to some kind of "buffered" access, the Blizzard 1240/1260 cards have slower chipset access than the Apollo equivalents... however, this also makes the Blizz 1240/1260 more stable with certain "problematic" revisions of the A1200 motherboard.

Anyhow, with my Blizz 1260, IDE speed with an IDE-Fix Express was around 2.3 Mb/s raw read, and 4 Mb/s with the Apollo, so nearly double. (1 Mb/s versus 2 Mb/s standard IDE with no "Express" adapter.)

(As an aside -- there's no flash config on the 1260 cards as on the PPC cards.)


edit --

Recent thread somewhat on this topic here.

Jens also mentioned something about this in a recent news item:

Quote:
Most 040 and 060 accelerators reduce the speed on the IDE to about 1MB per second. The top speed of 5.1MB per second is only reached with synconously-clocked 030 processors, for example the 42MHz models by M-Tec. Since 040/060 processors don't talk to the A1200 motherboard directly, but through a bus arbiter that also emulates the dynamic bus sizing of the 030 processor, they are losing an average of 1.5 clock cycles. I'd expect an average performance of 2.5MB per second on 040/060/PPC accelerators, which is "about twice as fast" as without express.
1 Mb/s is about what I achieved with my B1260 (cut almost in half from stock + fastram), about 2.3 (same as stock) with the "Express" adapter.

Regards,

Damion



EDIT -- Sorry guys, I was off on my figures here. While IDE access with the Apollo vs. Blizzard is still much faster (comparatively speaking), it's only by about 1 Mb/s, and not double like I previously stated.

cheers

-d
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2007, 12:00 PM   #27
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
PG wrote:
Quote:
I've just acquired an Apollo 1260 card (thanks PG!) and it works *perfect* with my Escom 1D4 motherboard. (Couple of quick snaps here and here.) In addition, IDE performance is twice that of my old Blizz 1260 card
Thank you!
Im happy that you are happy with your card!.. :-)
Yes, it kicks ass! Everyone in my shop is impressed with your mad soldering skillz. ;-)

Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 06:21 AM   #28
adonay
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,609, Level: 65 Points: 9,609, Level: 65 Points: 9,609, Level: 65
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NORWAY and or SWEDEN
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
Yes, it kicks ass! Everyone in my shop is impressed with your mad soldering skillz.
I second that i love my apollo 060 . although wish i diddent have the tower version !!! as i want to fit it in too desktop ...
__________________
A1200 ACA 1230
adonay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 08:39 AM   #29
hardlink
Cult Member
Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44 Points: 4,846, Level: 44
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silver Springy, MD
Posts: 586
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
PG wrote:
And YES, i do still support the Apollo 1240/1260 turbo card.
(Both repair and upgrades)
Dang. Years ago, my Apollo 1240 crapped out for some reason; the thing ran very hot even with the fan. So I had Software Hut send it back to Germany for repairs (DCE? Black Forest?). Never heard from it again. I still have the repair receipt, it's worth about as much as as the paper it's written on.

Wish I could get it back, I'd send it to you. Anybody in Germany seen my Apollo 1240 sitting somewhere?
hardlink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 11:28 AM   #30
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
adonay wrote:
Quote:
Yes, it kicks ass! Everyone in my shop is impressed with your mad soldering skillz.
I second that i love my apollo 060 . although wish i diddent have the tower version !!! as i want to fit it in too desktop ...
I'm sure PG would be happy to change that SIMM socket for ya! ;-)

One of the downfalls of the Apollo IMO is the inability to have 2 SIMMs inside a desktop case. Usually not an issue for me, though there is at least one demo (TBL Starstruck) that requires 64 MB.

However, I'm thinking if you installed one of these babies (rt angle socket, available from digikey), then made some small modifications to both the A1200 case (so the card can hang down just a little with the SIMM in place) and also the underside of the keyboard, it *might* fit... would definitely be close, though. I may give it a shot one of these days. :-)

Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2007, 11:32 AM   #31
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Apollo 1240 accellerator with 32mb ram for sale on ebay

Quote:
hardlink wrote:
Quote:
PG wrote:
And YES, i do still support the Apollo 1240/1260 turbo card.
(Both repair and upgrades)
Dang. Years ago, my Apollo 1240 crapped out for some reason; the thing ran very hot even with the fan. So I had Software Hut send it back to Germany for repairs (DCE? Black Forest?). Never heard from it again. I still have the repair receipt, it's worth about as much as as the paper it's written on.

Wish I could get it back, I'd send it to you. Anybody in Germany seen my Apollo 1240 sitting somewhere?
Aw, man! What jerks!



Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
accellerator , sale , ram , ebay , apollo , 32mb , 1240

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Apollo 1240 40mhz 32MB Ruud Amiga Marketplace 2 04-27-2009 09:09 AM
Anybody have a blizzard 1240 for sale, not apollo, please reply miggy1974 Amiga Marketplace 3 08-07-2008 04:44 PM
SALE: Apollo 1240@40MHz / 32MB 60ns RAM Vulture Amiga Marketplace 1 09-24-2006 10:32 AM
My blizzard 1240/33 32MB on Ebay Rob Amiga Marketplace 1 01-26-2006 01:40 PM
Apollo 1240 25mhz 040 with 32mb on ebay TheMaskedM Amiga Marketplace 0 08-30-2005 04:49 PM