amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Phase 5 Rev 2 BPPC - One Oscillator??

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2007, 07:59 AM   #1
ddniUK
Cult Member
Points: 7,933, Level: 59 Points: 7,933, Level: 59 Points: 7,933, Level: 59
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
ddniUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 550
Default Phase 5 Rev 2 BPPC - One Oscillator??

Guys this has been annoying me for some time.
My BPPC has only only oscillator. It was manufactured as a 603e+ @ 175mhz and a 68040 @ 25mhz. The PPC oscillator has always been missing ( Never fitted by Phase5).

The board gets its timing from the 68k 50mhz Oscillator. The natural timing of the board is x3.5

I have had the board upgraded to an 060 at 60mhz. This meant that the multiplier had to be changed to x3.0 to keep the PPC clocked at an acceptable 180mhz.

My question is, why did Phase5 only use one oscillator?
Is there any reason why I cant add the missing PPC oscillator? Thus allowing me to overclock the CPUs individually.

ddniUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2007, 05:39 PM   #2
Kin-Hell
Cult Member
Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58 Points: 7,665, Level: 58
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Kin-Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cornwall - U.K
Posts: 615
Default Re: Phase 5 Rev 2 BPPC - One Oscillator??

ddniUK wrote:
Guys this has been annoying me for some time.
My BPPC has only only oscillator. It was manufactured as a 603e+ @ 175mhz and a 68040 @ 25mhz. The PPC oscillator has always been missing ( Never fitted by Phase5).

The board gets its timing from the 68k 50mhz Oscillator. The natural timing of the board is x3.5

I have had the board upgraded to an 060 at 60mhz. This meant that the multiplier had to be changed to x3.0 to keep the PPC clocked at an acceptable 180mhz.

My question is, why did Phase5 only use one oscillator?
Is there any reason why I cant add the missing PPC oscillator? Thus allowing me to overclock the CPUs individually.
Quote:


Go read here:

BPPC Overclocking

:-)
Kin-Hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
rev , bppc , oscillator , phase

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oscillator Query JimmySage Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 8 03-26-2009 12:51 AM
Phase 5 BPPC 240/060 scsi for sale. nasty Amiga Marketplace 9 03-18-2008 11:54 AM
Is there any benefits to put same crystal oscillator on bppc card? derringer3 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 01-31-2007 03:27 PM
Phase 5 BPPC 200Mhz 603e/ 25MHz 68040/ 256MB 60ns RAM Amiga Marketplace 27 06-14-2005 04:04 PM
Wanted: 100 MHz Oscillator McTrinsic Amiga Marketplace 22 06-22-2004 01:43 PM