amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:50 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » memory expansion problem

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2007, 12:27 PM   #1
Iolis
Merely Curious
Points: 1,621, Level: 23 Points: 1,621, Level: 23 Points: 1,621, Level: 23
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default memory expansion problem

Hi ppl,
i just bought a 4mb memory expansion for my 1200, when i turn it on with the memory in the screen just comes up purple, when i take it out its fine again. its definitely in the slot properly, is it broken or have i done something wrong?

thanks,

Iolis
Iolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 01:05 PM   #2
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: memory expansion problem

Purple means bad RAM.

Check the board for battery leakage, broken tracks, etc.

If nothing helps, return it to the dealer.

BTW: What kind of board is that? An Elbox 1200/4? Other?
__________________
Goodbye people.

I'll pop on from time to time, RL is acting up.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 01:29 PM   #3
Iolis
Merely Curious
Points: 1,621, Level: 23 Points: 1,621, Level: 23 Points: 1,621, Level: 23
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: memory expansion problem

yeah its an elbox 1200/4, i got it off one of the guys on this site, if he wont take it back can bad ram be repaired? are there places that still do amiga repairs?
Iolis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2007, 02:47 PM   #4
vic20owner
Technoid
Points: 9,652, Level: 66 Points: 9,652, Level: 66 Points: 9,652, Level: 66
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 399
Default Re: memory expansion problem


Make sure the metal shield next to the connector is not touching the motherboard. This is a common problem and will do what you describe.

Sometimes they are close enough that the pressure of the card installed will force the board to make contact grounding out the traces.

vic20owner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
problem , memory , expansion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory expansion Tumbleweed Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 01-11-2009 08:11 AM
Problem with memory expansion on a Dataflyer 500 webmany Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 10-14-2007 08:37 PM
A1200: memory expansion card problem lmn128 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 10-13-2006 07:48 AM
Rev 6 A500 memory expansion broken Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 07-31-2006 02:35 AM
Looking for info about a memory expansion I have... doctorq Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 03-10-2006 01:15 AM