amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:34 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Scsi terminator for WarpEngine

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2007, 02:58 PM   #1
Jose
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,800
Default Scsi terminator for WarpEngine

I got this LVD compatible external terminator that doesn't work. I thought it was supposed to be backwards compatible, at least with wide buses. Anyway, can someone recommend one that works and will also work with scsi3 or above if I later get a Cyberstorm ?

Regs
Jose
__________________
\"We made Amiga, they {bleep}ed it up\"
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:02 PM   #2
Jose
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,800
Default Re: Scsi terminator for WarpEngine

BTW, it is currently working with termination of a CDROm, so I want to avoid having to have the CDRom on to actually operate the machine as the HD access hangs completely if I disconnect the CDRom. With the CD off it won't even boot.
__________________
\"We made Amiga, they {bleep}ed it up\"
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2007, 03:11 PM   #3
Bazzaq
Technoid
Points: 4,685, Level: 43 Points: 4,685, Level: 43 Points: 4,685, Level: 43
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Liverpool, UK.
Posts: 363
Default Re: Scsi terminator for WarpEngine

Hi.. the system will hang when the cd is not connected as there is no termination.. You could enable the termination on the hd itself or use an internal active terminator 50 pin scsi2. Or if you have an external port connected to the warpengine then an external active terminator.

I doubt any lvd terminators would work properly.

I don't actually have any scsi devices on my warpengine so i can't confirm, but on my pc server i have an external terminator for the external port for when i don't have a dat or cd etc... connected.

__________________
--------------
A4000T 060@50/PPC@233/128MB,Prometheus/Voodoo3/Lan,DCE SD/FF,Prelude
Bazzaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 01:05 PM   #4
Jose
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,800
Default Re: Scsi terminator for WarpEngine

Ok, can someone confirm no lvd terminator works, before I bother getting a new one...
__________________
\"We made Amiga, they {bleep}ed it up\"
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 01:09 PM   #5
Jose
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94 Points: 23,695, Level: 94
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,800
Default Re: Scsi terminator for WarpEngine

At least a SCSI3 one will work right ?
I know there's some info around the net on this if I lose sometime searching but sometimes compatibility is also device dependent.
For example I couldn't get the LVD Scsi2Ide adaptor I have working on my A4000T's scsi2 bus at all, but it works flawlessly with the WarpEngine (with the setup I described in the 1st post)
__________________
\"We made Amiga, they {bleep}ed it up\"
Jose is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
warpengine , terminator , scsi

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched from A3000 SCSI to WarpEngine SCSI??? amigadave General chat about Amiga topics 19 05-24-2008 11:46 PM
WTB: DB25 External SCSI Terminator (Active) x56h34 Amiga Marketplace 0 04-21-2008 01:36 PM
Where to get SCSI terminator resistors nowadays? ral-clan Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 02-19-2007 09:10 AM
Cut SCSI cable after terminator? motorollin Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 7 02-03-2007 11:16 AM
Scsi terminator placement... Jose Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 18 03-17-2006 11:58 AM