amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:48 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Aminet A500 Zorro Hack Question

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2007, 09:57 PM   #1
trekiej
Defender of the Faith
Points: 19,898, Level: 89 Points: 19,898, Level: 89 Points: 19,898, Level: 89
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
trekiej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,705
Blog Entries: 8
Default Aminet A500 Zorro Hack Question

Has anyone used the Aminet A500 Zorro hacks?
Which do you prefer?
Thanks to all that have answered my other posts.
trekiej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 01:01 AM   #2
Motormouth
Technoid
Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58 Points: 7,748, Level: 58
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Motormouth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Another World
Posts: 261
Default Re: Aminet A500 Zorro Hack Question

I have not used the zorro hack.
However, slingshot and slingshot pro were 86 pin a500 expansion port to 100 pin zorro II adapter.
the pro has a 86 pin passthru and one logic chip.
I believe they were basically the same thing as the zorro hack.

I have a slingshot pro. It works well.

Either way, You will need a big power supply. I used the XT power supply hack. you don't have to worry about the 5 volt switch signal for the ATX power supply.
Motormouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 01:10 AM   #3
Jope
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68 Points: 10,666, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,126
Default Re: Aminet A500 Zorro Hack Question

Quote:
you don't have to worry about the 5 volt switch signal for the ATX power supply.
There isn't anything to worry about. You just connect the green wire to ground on the ATX connector and the supply powers up.

If the PSU has a separate mains switch, you can make the connection permanent and use the mains switch. If it is "always on" when it's plugged in, then just connect a switch between green and ground.
Jope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2007, 07:29 AM   #4
trekiej
Defender of the Faith
Points: 19,898, Level: 89 Points: 19,898, Level: 89 Points: 19,898, Level: 89
Activity: 9% Activity: 9% Activity: 9%
 
trekiej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,705
Blog Entries: 8
Default Re: Aminet A500 Zorro Hack Question

I appreciate the information.

I hope my amiga survives the cold weather. I put an OS3.1 Rom in her and it helps in booting. I also need an internal drive but will use my external drive for now.

I went to Amigakit.com and they have a clock port for A500/A1000. I would like to use the catweasel as well.

I guess what I could use most right now is a manual that will help me understand the custom chip signals.
The A500/A2000 manuals has some of the info.

Later.
trekiej is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a500 , aminet , hack , question , zorro

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What's the A500 14Mhz hack? Peter Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 9 04-06-2007 07:29 PM
can someone explain the A500 rev.5 + KS 2.04 hack? da9000 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 02-14-2006 08:55 PM
MIDI hack on Aminet - would this work? MarkAshley Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 0 11-08-2005 07:00 AM
The "+44kb" hack on A500 sharper Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 5 10-10-2005 10:18 AM
a500 AdIDE2 LED hack? Azryl Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 01-22-2005 12:06 AM