amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:04 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org The "Not Quite Amiga but still computer related category" Amiga Emulation WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Amiga Emulation This forum is dedicated to discussions about Commodore Amiga Emulation. This includes products such as WinUAE, Amithlon, Amiga Forever, etcetera.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2003, 06:20 AM   #1
browny
Technoid
Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 483
Default WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Hi peeps,
Birmingham calling!.
Finally got round to putting UAE on me peecee(XP),what a cracking bit of software!(WinUAE that is!).
Right then, I have configured the hardFile and all that jazz with WB 3.1, but to play the older games it requires WB 1.3.
So where do I purchase the ROM File?.
I have got a A500,but it has got a 2.04 rom onboard,and I have not got the old 1.3 rom anywhere,so could not flash it anyway!.
yours in anticipation...............
browny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 06:25 AM   #2
DaveP
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 7,371, Level: 57 Points: 7,371, Level: 57 Points: 7,371, Level: 57
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,116
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

You can purchase it from the online cloanto store
in the form of AmigaForever.
__________________
Hate figure.
DaveP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 06:31 AM   #3
browny
Technoid
Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 483
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

That could be the Exspensive route DaveP!,
I do not really want to buy the Cloanto,Forever package.
Are there any other ways, because that would be a last resort action.
NEXT!
browny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 06:52 AM   #4
alx
Premium Member
Points: 7,078, Level: 55 Points: 7,078, Level: 55 Points: 7,078, Level: 55
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
alx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,022
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

I'm not one to advocate piracy, but did you sell the old ROM or just throw it out? If the latter, then I cannot see any legal reason why you cannot borrow a 1.3 ROM chip, or even download one.

---edit---

Of course, Amiga forever will give you all the extra things like many more ROMs, Amiga-PC networking, help etc...
alx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:21 AM   #5
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

@browny

Like it's been said many times before, Amiga inc strongly disallows trading of old KS roms. For better or for worse. Therefore the only answer you will see here is Amiga Forever

Besides even though I legally own all the said roms I bought AmigaForever myself, it has enough added value to justify it's tiny price. Hell the download version is only ~$30.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:25 AM   #6
odin
Colonization had Galleons
Points: 22,370, Level: 93 Points: 22,370, Level: 93 Points: 22,370, Level: 93
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Asker, Norway
Posts: 6,771
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Fer chrissakes. Buying AmigaForever just to obtain a legal 1.3 kick is just silly.

If you really want it legal go hunt down an old A500. Then you have a 'licence' for it and you can feel very pleased with yourself when you download that 1.3 kick =).
odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:36 AM   #7
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Odin: Buying a second hand A500 would probably cost the same or more than AmigaForever download version. And besides that only gives you license for 1 rom version(the one in it). Then you still aren't supposed to download the rom, but rip your own and transfer it to the Amiga.

Personally I believe Amiga Inc SHOULD allow people to trade KS1.3, but they don't so it's a moot point.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:39 AM   #8
browny
Technoid
Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 483
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

I do not advocate piracy, but I do and did own the 1.3 rom on theA500. so personally , one backup flash for my own personal use is permitted.
I understand the concerns of Redrumloa,but personally i have a clear conscience where the legallity of rom ware is concerned.
BloodyHell I have got AN A500,2xA1200, CD32, leagal Software. The money I have spent on AT..........have you got an hour!
browny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:43 AM   #9
amigamad
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,808, Level: 80 Points: 15,808, Level: 80 Points: 15,808, Level: 80
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
amigamad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Swindon uk /england
Posts: 2,157
Send a message via Yahoo to amigamad
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Try www.google.co.uk . :-?
amigamad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:44 AM   #10
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

@browny

For the record I do not mean to imply you are a pirate. I'd love to help you.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:51 AM   #11
browny
Technoid
Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 483
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Pieces of eight! pieces of eight!. I be luckin` out fer you drumloa, Ah ARGH.
No offence taken Red, I just want to play some of the old classics, and if it means purchasing `Forever`,then so be it.
Shivvver MEE TIMMbers, me thinks I spot the `Jolly Rodger`
browny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:53 AM   #12
anarchic_teapot
Technoid
Points: 5,885, Level: 49 Points: 5,885, Level: 49 Points: 5,885, Level: 49
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 497
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Quote:
odin wrote:
Fer chrissakes. Buying AmigaForever just to obtain a legal 1.3 kick is just silly.
No, the only legal option. It's your statement that is silly.

Also, it's not as though that's the only advantage of buying Amiga Forever: it also saves a lot of time and hassle setting up UAE. You just plug it in and go.

Believe me, it's worth the money. Speak to the nice people at Cloanto.
anarchic_teapot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 07:58 AM   #13
browny
Technoid
Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62 Points: 8,600, Level: 62
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 483
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

Hi Teapot,
That is part of the fun with UAE, the setup!,thats why the amigan community is a breed apart from other platforms.
Experiment or fail!
browny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:14 AM   #14
amigamad
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,808, Level: 80 Points: 15,808, Level: 80 Points: 15,808, Level: 80
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
amigamad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Swindon uk /england
Posts: 2,157
Send a message via Yahoo to amigamad
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

amiga in a box is much better than amiga Forever a free download much better setup only thing is you would still have to find roms for 1.3 there easy to find on the net but thats illegal.
amigamad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 08:15 AM   #15
odin
Colonization had Galleons
Points: 22,370, Level: 93 Points: 22,370, Level: 93 Points: 22,370, Level: 93
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Asker, Norway
Posts: 6,771
Default Re: WinUAE, 1.3 rom, where to buy?

You'd need WB3.1 disks for AIAB.
odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
rom , winuae , buy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE Gwion General chat about Amiga topics 14 08-18-2008 09:23 AM
Is it me or WinUAE? peroxidechicken Amiga Emulation 13 09-09-2006 12:41 AM
WinUAE v1.0 released: www.winuae.net jmbattle Amiga Emulation 4 09-10-2005 08:19 AM
winuae.net gone? Zidz Amiga Emulation 5 06-02-2005 09:10 AM
PC0: on WINUAE gizz72 Amiga Emulation 7 09-10-2004 03:28 AM