amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Gaming Genetic Species update

Amiga Gaming This forum is dedicated to games software and solutions for the Commodore Amiga computer. Need help blowing up pixels? Know of the next gaming revolution? Talk about it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2006, 01:58 PM   #1
AMIGAZ
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,642, Level: 73 Points: 12,642, Level: 73 Points: 12,642, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,940
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Default Genetic Species update

Was sadened to see that I can't download this update because the download link is dead http://www.vulcan.co.uk/english/games/genetics/fixes.htm

If anyone has this update can you please share it? :-)
AMIGAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:13 PM   #2
CD32Freak
Cult Member
Points: 8,977, Level: 63 Points: 8,977, Level: 63 Points: 8,977, Level: 63
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
CD32Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 632
Default Re: Genetic Species update

Well, go back in time:
http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.vulcan.co.uk/english/games/genetics/fixes.htm
Choose Nov 26, 2002 and then try downloading the file, it worked for me :-D
CD32Freak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:16 PM   #3
lorddef
VIP / Donor
Points: 10,952, Level: 69 Points: 10,952, Level: 69 Points: 10,952, Level: 69
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
lorddef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,137
Default Re: Genetic Species update

I'm not sure if I have this on my amiga somewhere. It's been a while since I installed it (about 2 years) however I remember not being able to use 640x480 on my gfx card so I may also not have it, but I did have an update of some sort. Will take a look tomorow when I go home if nobody else has posted a link.
__________________
Restraining orders are just another way of saying I love you!
lorddef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:21 PM   #4
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Genetic Species update

Quote:
CD32Freak wrote:
Well, go back in time and then try downloading the file:
http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.vulcan.co.uk/english/games/genetics/fixes.htm
:-D
The wayback machine doesn't cache things like links to files. The link still points to the file on vulcan's site, which no longer exists. If you modify the url to point directly to the engine.lha file, you get an error saying the file is not in the (page) archive.

-edit-

I don't imagine the 24-bit graphics were playable on 640x480 in any case, it would need ~22MB/s write to VRAM bandwidth at 25fps. Most classic RTG systems can't manage anything like that much.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:26 PM   #5
MarkTime
Cult Member
Points: 10,779, Level: 68 Points: 10,779, Level: 68 Points: 10,779, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 902
Default Re: Genetic Species update

[quote]
The wayback machine doesn't cache things like links to files. The link still points to the file on vulcan's site, which no longer exists. [quote]

And yet, when I followed the posters instructions, I downloaded the lha file.

Try his instructions, they work.
MarkTime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 02:28 PM   #6
AMIGAZ
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,642, Level: 73 Points: 12,642, Level: 73 Points: 12,642, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,940
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Default Re: Genetic Species update

Quote:
CD32Freak wrote:
Well, go back in time:
http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://www.vulcan.co.uk/english/games/genetics/fixes.htm
Choose Nov 26, 2002 and then try downloading the file, it worked for me :-D
The d/l link actually works :-D

But the update didnt provide me with a 640x480 es screen when playing :-(
AMIGAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 03:04 PM   #7
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: Genetic Species update

[quote]
MarkTime wrote:
Quote:
The wayback machine doesn't cache things like links to files. The link still points to the file on vulcan's site, which no longer exists.
Quote:

And yet, when I followed the posters instructions, I downloaded the lha file.

Try his instructions, they work.
I did, and they didn't :-/
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 10:51 AM   #8
Dwyloc
Technoid
Points: 7,082, Level: 55 Points: 7,082, Level: 55 Points: 7,082, Level: 55
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 199
Default Re: Genetic Species update

You can find the update for Genetic Species in this thread http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=290563 on another board.
__________________
Sam440ep 667mhz 512megs OS4.1
Minimig, 4MB RAM, ARM add-on board
Amiga 1200 Eyetech mk4 Tower, Blizzard 1240 040/40 32MB Fast ram, IDEFix Express mk2, mediatorSX pci, Voodoo3 PCI, PCI network card, OS3.9 BB2.
Dwyloc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2007, 11:10 AM   #9
AMIGAZ
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,642, Level: 73 Points: 12,642, Level: 73 Points: 12,642, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
AMIGAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,940
Send a message via ICQ to AMIGAZ
Default Re: Genetic Species update

Quote:
Dwyloc wrote:
You can find the update for Genetic Species in this thread http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=290563 on another board.
Thanks but already tried it.
The results were negative, it let me choose 640x480 in the game but after saving the settings it just goes back to 320x256 again :boohoo:
Guess they didn't test this patch enough..or maybe it's CGX only (running P96 here)
AMIGAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 02:57 AM   #10
AF
Beginner
Points: 5,175, Level: 46 Points: 5,175, Level: 46 Points: 5,175, Level: 46
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 27
Default Re: Genetic Species update

Gamers can download Genetic Species from Infinite Frontiers. There are other titles from Mutation Software and Revolution Software (Beneath A Steel Sky and Lure Of The Temptress).

Go to the downloads section
http://www.infinitefrontiers.org/

AF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
update , species , genetic

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help: How to get Genetic Species running in max res on WinUAE? AndyFC Amiga Gaming 0 11-11-2007 05:50 AM
What became of the GBA port of Genetic Species? XDelusion Amiga Gaming 2 11-15-2005 03:20 AM
Genetic Species + WinUAE + AHI tangletown Amiga Gaming 6 09-10-2004 05:53 PM
Are the classic Amiga Hardware and Dealers an 'Endangered Species'? gizz72 General chat about Amiga topics 45 08-28-2004 10:51 PM
Genetic Species and RTG duesi Amiga Gaming 4 04-29-2003 10:18 AM