amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:28 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion CD-ROM for A4000?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2006, 12:29 PM   #1
Betelgeuse
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,675, Level: 48 Points: 5,675, Level: 48 Points: 5,675, Level: 48
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 72
Default CD-ROM for A4000?

What CD-ROM drives will work with an A4000? I'd like to put one in my new A4000 but I'm not sure what will work. Also, where can I purchase a copy of ASIMCDFS, I'm assuming that's what's needed to get it to work.
Thanks.
__________________
Betelgeuse,
aka Armpit of the Giant

\"I Am Become Death, The Destroyer of Worlds!\"
Betelgeuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 12:30 PM   #2
Flashlab
Defender of the Faith
Points: 8,472, Level: 62 Points: 8,472, Level: 62 Points: 8,472, Level: 62
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Flashlab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,396
Default Re: CD-ROM for A4000?

On the IDE port you can use a standard IDE CD-ROM.
__________________
Amiga 4000D Cyberstorm PPC 060@50 604@200 SCSI 130Mb Ram G-Rex Voodoo3 PicassoIV Paloma Ariadne Delfina Lite

Online Flash version of BoulderDash: Offline...
Flashlab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 03:52 PM   #3
Bazzaq
Technoid
Points: 4,685, Level: 43 Points: 4,685, Level: 43 Points: 4,685, Level: 43
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Liverpool, UK.
Posts: 363
Default Re: CD-ROM for A4000?

Standard IDE CDrom drives are fine.. I found i had to use idefix to get mine to see the drive though..

You can get a demo version from aminet.

Here:-

Aminet
__________________
--------------
A4000T 060@50/PPC@233/128MB,Prometheus/Voodoo3/Lan,DCE SD/FF,Prelude
Bazzaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:04 PM   #4
Chain
Defender of the Faith
Points: 6,851, Level: 54 Points: 6,851, Level: 54 Points: 6,851, Level: 54
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Chain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,324
Send a message via ICQ to Chain
Default Re: CD-ROM for A4000?

Recommended are sony and lite-on brands (short deep singlechip drives)
Chain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:21 PM   #5
Bazzaq
Technoid
Points: 4,685, Level: 43 Points: 4,685, Level: 43 Points: 4,685, Level: 43
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Liverpool, UK.
Posts: 363
Default Re: CD-ROM for A4000?

Quote:
Chain wrote:
Recommended are sony and lite-on brands (short deep singlechip drives)
Ah yes.. forgot to mention that.. very tight squeeze on the pioneer i had installed.. Changed to a sony cdrw which was approx 2cm shorter.. bit more space for the psu to breathe..
__________________
--------------
A4000T 060@50/PPC@233/128MB,Prometheus/Voodoo3/Lan,DCE SD/FF,Prelude
Bazzaq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 06:12 PM   #6
beller
Cult Member
Points: 7,549, Level: 57 Points: 7,549, Level: 57 Points: 7,549, Level: 57
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
beller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 588
Default Re: CD-ROM for A4000?

I agree with Chain's comment. The Sony was the shortest CD drive I could find for my A4000. Now I wish I'd gotten a burner...It reallyis a VERY small spot to put the drive.

Bob
beller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a4000 , cdrom

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Making the A4000 silent / A4000 PSU ventilation Jose Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 17 07-17-2004 02:46 PM
A4000 RevB or A4000 revD (was the cutdown version worse? Any known issues comparing them?) Jose Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 11-29-2003 11:16 PM