amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2006, 03:48 AM   #1
afd67
Merely Curious
Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Hi I have an old amiga 1200 that has a hard drive in it, I have been mucking about with amiga emulators and would like access to the data on the drive. I read that Linux can read Amiga drives and so installed Fedora on my iMac. It didn't work. I used a USB to 2.5" enclosure. The imac saw there was a disc attached but asked to format it. I got same result with windows.
Does anyone know of a way to access the data? Can an emulator read the drive via USB? Or is there an amiga driver for Mac or PC? Did I use the wrong version of Linux?
Alan
afd67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:04 AM   #2
tormedhammaren
Technoid
Points: 5,101, Level: 45 Points: 5,101, Level: 45 Points: 5,101, Level: 45
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 153
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Mounting Amiga FFS under Linux needs a module called affs.

Read this: http://www.yueksel.org/artikel.cgi/1111186447
__________________
tormedhammaren/toddi ||==
tormedhammaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:25 AM   #3
pjhutch
Technoid
Points: 9,508, Level: 65 Points: 9,508, Level: 65 Points: 9,508, Level: 65
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
pjhutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: West Yorks, England.
Posts: 440
Send a message via AIM to pjhutch Send a message via MSN to pjhutch Send a message via Yahoo to pjhutch
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

I know Winuae can read Amiga drives if attached via IDE.
Ideally, I would get a 2.5" to 3.5" converter cable and attach it that way to PC.

To be honest, the best way is to connect the Amiga with the HD to your PC via a serial lead and use Amiga Explorer (comes with Amiga Forever) to get files off it.

__________________
Peter Hutchison
http://www.pcguru.plus.com/
pjhutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:35 AM   #4
neuroflip
Technoid
Points: 4,047, Level: 40 Points: 4,047, Level: 40 Points: 4,047, Level: 40
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: bcn
Posts: 200
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Quote:
pjhutch wrote:
To be honest, the best way is to connect the Amiga with the HD to your PC via a serial lead and use Amiga Explorer (comes with Amiga Forever) to get files off it.
But Amiga Explorer is too slow!! try and decide :P
Serial option it's better with NComm and 8n1.device
__________________
[http://a1200.wordpress.com (spanish)
a1200 + Bliz1260/50Mhz/64Mb + HD10Gb + a520 svideo mod + Wireless PCMCIA Elsa MC-11 + PCMCIA CF + Adaptator + CF 256Mb + a500 + 512Kb]
neuroflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:52 AM   #5
afd67
Merely Curious
Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Quote:
tormedhammaren wrote:
Mount Amiga FFS under Linux needs a module called affs.

Read this: http://www.yueksel.org/artikel.cgi/1111186447
Sorry I am very new to Linux so the above link went a wee bit over my head! Is this module available to all versions of Linux or just some?

Thanks alan
afd67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 04:58 AM   #6
afd67
Merely Curious
Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Also I only have the 1200 left, mouse monitor and power supply are long gone.
If I use Amiga Explorer can I use it via "USB?
afd67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 05:47 AM   #7
neuroflip
Technoid
Points: 4,047, Level: 40 Points: 4,047, Level: 40 Points: 4,047, Level: 40
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: bcn
Posts: 200
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

if i have understand you only have the a1200 :-( ... then connect the ide hd to a pc to extract the info via linux mounting affs.
__________________
[http://a1200.wordpress.com (spanish)
a1200 + Bliz1260/50Mhz/64Mb + HD10Gb + a520 svideo mod + Wireless PCMCIA Elsa MC-11 + PCMCIA CF + Adaptator + CF 256Mb + a500 + 512Kb]
neuroflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 08:34 AM   #8
afd67
Merely Curious
Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

problem with that is i have an iMac, which is why i wanted to use USB. The only PC i have is a tablet PC that belongs to my school. the amiga drive is too thick to fit it anyway.
Thanks will look out for an old PC from somewhere. Can anyone recommend a lesion of LINUX that has the Amiga driver or will they all have it?

Thanks

Alan
afd67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 10:48 AM   #9
tormedhammaren
Technoid
Points: 5,101, Level: 45 Points: 5,101, Level: 45 Points: 5,101, Level: 45
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 153
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

This module is part of the standard 2.6-three (kernel). Which means that this is the same in all Linux distributions. The question is if the kernel is compiled with affs as a module or if it isn't (it is certainly not compiled in as non-module, cause then it would have worked from the start).

Try this:
1. su - (and enter root password)
2. modprobe affs (if this fails then the amiga affs module is
not part of your kernel).
3. mkdir /mnt/amiga
4 mount -t affs /dev/hdax /mnt/amiga (replace x with the device number of the amiga h).

Does it work?

If the module isn't part of your kernel then you'll have to compile it in yourself.

Guide for compiling kernel on Fedora: http://cri.ch/linux/docs/sk0010.html

This is for Fedora Core 3 (old) but it should be the same. Just replace the kernel-archive with the newest.
__________________
tormedhammaren/toddi ||==
tormedhammaren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 12:34 PM   #10
Argo
Forums Moderator
Points: 18,179, Level: 85 Points: 18,179, Level: 85 Points: 18,179, Level: 85
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,219
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

I've found that installing the HD into a PC, in your case you would need an adapter, and mounting it under UAE along with the computers drives to be very easy.
Argo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2006, 02:42 PM   #11
adonay
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,609, Level: 65 Points: 9,609, Level: 65 Points: 9,609, Level: 65
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NORWAY and or SWEDEN
Posts: 1,114
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Quote:
Argo wrote:
I've found that installing the HD into a PC, in your case you would need an adapter, and mounting it under UAE along with the computers drives to be very easy.
Only correct way of doing it as no need too have the host os too see it. winuae "not sure about otther uae but think it should" sees the hd there and can be mounted there perfect for you emu hehe and easy way (not to say fast way too move files) so dont use too much time on slow serial sulotions from pre WW1 and such just use uae and mount hd there.

I use a usb adapter too my miggy drives and just plug in an out as i wish fast and efficient. Actually i never copy files on miggy for miggy as it is too slow i use the pc
__________________
A1200 ACA 1230
adonay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 02:19 AM   #12
afd67
Merely Curious
Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27 Points: 2,044, Level: 27
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Re: reading an amiga 1200 hard drive without an amiga?

Thanks for all these replies, have ordered a 2.5 to 3.5 IDE adapter on ebay. when it arrives will try it. Will let you all know how I get on.

Alan
afd67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1200 , amiga , drive , hard , reading

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
120 GB 2.5" Toshiba IDE Hard Drive for Amiga 1200 Everblue Amiga Marketplace 2 04-26-2009 01:12 AM
Strange amiga 1200 hard drive has more than 44 pins... idiot Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 10-18-2007 07:09 AM
Amiga 1200 Hard Drive connecting? RobinGodd Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 03-02-2006 12:18 PM
Amiga 1200 need help with hard drive setup pudwink Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 1 12-15-2005 01:45 PM
Amiga 1200 or 600 Hard drive!!! MaDDuck Amiga Marketplace 0 11-22-2003 02:44 PM