amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Rev 6 A500 memory expansion

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2006, 02:05 PM   #1
broken
Technoid
Points: 7,136, Level: 55 Points: 7,136, Level: 55 Points: 7,136, Level: 55
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
broken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mason, OH USA
Posts: 224
Default Rev 6 A500 memory expansion

Ok, picked up a nearly brand new A500 from a thrift store. It honestly looks like someone took it out the box, played with it for a while, put it back in the box and then stored the box in their closet for the last 15 years. Its the best A500 I have had the pleasure of seeing. Hardly a spec of dust anywhere.


Opened it up and found a 501 ram expansion in the belly and it has a Rev 6 motherboard in it.

My Question is: Is there still a source for those memory chips to bump the 512k chip ram up to a full megabyte?
Something other than killing another A500 to take the memory out of?


I have read on the web that my A501 ram board will no longer work once bumping the ram up to 1 meg on board, but are there any other downsides/catches that I should be aware of? Will one of the Baseboards still work with this mod?


Also, any suggestions on other chip upgrades I should make to it?
broken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 02:14 PM   #2
1NOM155
Technoid
Points: 2,636, Level: 31 Points: 2,636, Level: 31 Points: 2,636, Level: 31
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 184
Default Re: Rev 6 A500 memory expansion

i fink, will work just fine, pay atention on de batery.
1NOM155 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 02:35 AM   #3
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75 Points: 13,418, Level: 75
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,204
Default Re: Rev 6 A500 memory expansion

You can turn that fast ram into chip ram by making two changes to the mobo - opening a jumper (=cutting a track) and closing another (on 3-part JP2, cutting the lower and joining the upper). On JP 7A (3-part) you have to cut the track between the lower and middle pad. That's it. Precludes that your Agnus is 1 MB capable - most probably it is; for example SysInfo shows it.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
rev , memory , expansion , a500

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A603 Memory Expansion amigakit Amiga Marketplace 5 05-12-2009 11:58 AM
Memory expansion Tumbleweed Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 01-11-2009 08:11 AM
A600 memory expansion ? Chartus Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 12-12-2008 10:47 PM
memory expansion problem Iolis Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 05-11-2007 02:47 PM
Looking for info about a memory expansion I have... doctorq Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 3 03-10-2006 01:15 AM