amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:21 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Software Issues and Discussion IDE Disable Hack For Amiga 1200 For Good!

Amiga Software Issues and Discussion This forum exists for the discussion of the use, issues with, and fun brought about by classic and next generation Amiga software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2006, 01:40 AM   #1
amiga1084
Technoid
Points: 9,640, Level: 65 Points: 9,640, Level: 65 Points: 9,640, Level: 65
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 202
Send a message via MSN to amiga1084
Default IDE Disable Hack For Amiga 1200 For Good!

Hello All,

I have gone full scsi now and I want to disable A1200 crap IDE controller, I have Kickstart 3.1 and it drives me nuts that I have to wait 30 seconds before my scsi hard drive to boot.Also I don't want to put other 2.5inch IDE hard drive just to get rid off this delay.I have looked on Aminet but they only have a have hack for A4000 (which I have made for my 2 A4000) Basicly I am trying to say I hate IDE! Can anyone please help me how I can make this hack,I am going nuts.Thanks in advance Merv
amiga1084 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 02:16 AM   #2
Brian
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,294, Level: 72 Points: 12,294, Level: 72 Points: 12,294, Level: 72
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,481
Default Re: IDE Disable Hack For Amiga 1200 For Good!

IDE_Killer.lha on Aminet should do it. It describes the hack for a 3.5" IDE header but should work just as well with a 2.5" one.
__________________
/Brian
--
Computerhollic, Amiga is my fix!
Brian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 02:26 AM   #3
Boot_WB
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,282, Level: 72 Points: 12,282, Level: 72 Points: 12,282, Level: 72
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kingston upon Hull, UK
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: IDE Disable Hack For Amiga 1200 For Good!

Hmmm.. I still use my IDE for the 100mb zip drive, anyone know a way of reducing the 30-second wait in this case?


Rich
__________________
www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

Mac Mini G4 (1.5GHz, 64MB VRam, 1GB Ram): MorphOS 3.1
Powerbook 5.6 (15", 1.67GHz, 128MB VRam, 1GB Ram): MorphOS 3.1, OSX 10.5.8

Windows-free since 2011!
Boot_WB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 03:03 AM   #4
DJBase
Cult Member
Points: 10,224, Level: 67 Points: 10,224, Level: 67 Points: 10,224, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 984
Default Re: IDE Disable Hack For Amiga 1200 For Good!

Quote:
Hmmm.. I still use my IDE for the 100mb zip drive, anyone know a way of reducing the 30-second wait in this case?
Insert a disk on boot?

DJBase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 03:30 AM   #5
motorollin
Premium Member
Points: 32,860, Level: 100 Points: 32,860, Level: 100 Points: 32,860, Level: 100
Activity: 54% Activity: 54% Activity: 54%
 
motorollin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8,666
Default Re: IDE Disable Hack For Amiga 1200 For Good!

Or put in a slave IDE HDD and it will stop seeking. I have no need for IDE any more, but I couldn't get the IDE killer hack to work. In the end, I burned my own ROM chips and left out scsi.device.

--
moto
motorollin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2006, 04:05 AM   #6
Boot_WB
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,282, Level: 72 Points: 12,282, Level: 72 Points: 12,282, Level: 72
Activity: 58% Activity: 58% Activity: 58%
 
Boot_WB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Kingston upon Hull, UK
Posts: 1,281
Default Re: IDE Disable Hack For Amiga 1200 For Good!

@DJbase - tried that one, didn't seem to work.

@Moto - I'll give that a try. Might use an LS120 though, as I only have a spare floppy power connector, no big Molexes left available.

Thanks folks.
__________________
www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

Mac Mini G4 (1.5GHz, 64MB VRam, 1GB Ram): MorphOS 3.1
Powerbook 5.6 (15", 1.67GHz, 128MB VRam, 1GB Ram): MorphOS 3.1, OSX 10.5.8

Windows-free since 2011!
Boot_WB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
good , ide , hack , 1200 , disable , amiga

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600/1200 PCMCIA slot activity LED hack? mingle Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 8 12-10-2008 10:56 AM
Software to disable reset,or hardware modification on amiga. nikodr Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 16 04-02-2008 04:56 AM
Amiga 1200 HD boost... good or bad idea? Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 03-12-2007 07:42 PM
hardware hack to disable A4000 IDE port orange Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 08-07-2005 11:54 AM
How to Disable Amiga 3000 Built in SCSI??? vpcs Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 8 04-07-2004 05:06 PM