amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:20 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2006, 12:04 AM   #1
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

Then reboots again, and again, and again......

I've try to change all the customs chips (from an A500), except the slots controller. Exchange the floppy drive also.

But nothing different happened!

Help!!!
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 04:21 AM   #2
Argus
Cult Member
Points: 6,866, Level: 54 Points: 6,866, Level: 54 Points: 6,866, Level: 54
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 942
Default Re: A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

Did you try swapping out the 68000 and rom chips too?
Argus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 04:37 AM   #3
Oli_hd
Cult Member
Points: 10,841, Level: 68 Points: 10,841, Level: 68 Points: 10,841, Level: 68
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: London/UK
Posts: 911
Default Re: A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

Dark grey or light grey?

Also have you removed any Zorro cards installed?
Oli_hd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 06:45 PM   #4
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

I've changed all Custom Chips from a working A500 (including the ROMs), 'cause these are exactly the same. The exception was the bus controller chip.

Unfornatetly, the same behavior. I suspect this is caused by a faulty TTL or memory (onboard) chip.

The A520 don´t work either (I thonk that´s because the 22 and 23th pin of the RGB conector of the 2000 isn´t connected, by default). I used it only with a C= A1942 without the TTL adaptor. Used to work.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 06:52 PM   #5
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

Light grey.
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 07:00 PM   #6
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

Houwwwwwwwww, I forgot: I've take out all daughter boards.:-D

Is there any onboard jumper to change or remove? :-?
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 09:30 PM   #7
rkauer
Desperately needs a life
Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69 Points: 10,960, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: São Leopoldo, RS, Brazil
Posts: 3,263
Send a message via MSN to rkauer
Default Re: A2000 don't boot, appear a grey screen

Done!

Was two damaged chips: Fat Agnus (Fat Lady in bigboxed Amigas) and U302 (74LS32). Could be either R200 (1 Ohm x 1/4 W), who was right.

The board works fine now (with GVP 030 Combo, Modem, Lan Card and TOASTER!).

Hurra! :-D :-D :-D
rkauer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a2000 , grey , boot , screen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Boot up screen on my A4000 Retro_71 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 7 03-16-2008 04:46 PM
Pale grey screen with FastATA connected motorollin Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 10 03-01-2006 09:01 AM
Grey Screen A4000 Argus Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 8 01-15-2006 12:26 PM
Grey screen and won't reset with keyboard amigadave Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 07-29-2005 10:18 PM
Red screen on boot? Frontiie Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 7 05-16-2005 11:22 PM