amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2008, 08:57 PM   #41
mingle
Cult Member
Points: 14,370, Level: 77 Points: 14,370, Level: 77 Points: 14,370, Level: 77
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
mingle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 628
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

Yeah, Red Dwarf...

As well as the C64, there are a couple of Amiga 2000 keyboards used in various episodes. The one that springs to mind is the 'Holoship' where there are A2000 keyboards on view in a few scenes...

I think there are also some in the control room of Red Dwarf...
mingle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:24 PM   #42
gdanko
Cult Member
Points: 10,110, Level: 67 Points: 10,110, Level: 67 Points: 10,110, Level: 67
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
gdanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 774
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

I recall seeing a 64 in War Games
gdanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2008, 09:31 PM   #43
Nlandas
Cult Member
Points: 8,624, Level: 62 Points: 8,624, Level: 62 Points: 8,624, Level: 62
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Nlandas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: LACONA, NY
Posts: 640
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

Quote:
Raffaele wrote:
The Amiga 1000 at the end of the movie collapse from upto a desk down onto floor and explodes.
(I think it was a trick with a void A1000 case because computer furnitures were very expensive in eighties.)

Unfortunately this movie passed during night movie show here in Italy, I started seeing it not from the opening and I couldn't reach the name of this b-movie-rated comedy.
Is there someone capable to find at least American title of this b-movie?
That ones easy - The Fat Boys in the movie Disorderlies. It was the first time I saw an Amiga in a movie or on TV.

-Nyle
__________________
I think, Therefore - Amiga....
Nlandas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 08:16 AM   #44
Einstein
Technoid
Points: 8,086, Level: 60 Points: 8,086, Level: 60 Points: 8,086, Level: 60
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Einstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: spacetime
Posts: 388
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

The dude playing John Lock in Lost also starred the Stepfather movies. In Stepfather 3 his stepson + A500 + modem give him a hard time: http://www.allmovieportal.com/m/1992_Stepfather_3_-_Father's_Day95.html
__________________
I have spoken !
Einstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 09:00 AM   #45
Crom00
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,396, Level: 70 Points: 11,396, Level: 70 Points: 11,396, Level: 70
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Crom00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

I think the show: Clarissa explains It all from Nickeloden in the 90s either used Amiga behind the scenes or in front of the camera.

Nick Arcade: A show where kids were transported into a Video Game via green screen also used Amigas. They used Amiga 3000 and GVP's Impact Vision 24 to make custom 24 bit 2d graphics. Quite nice. Was at Nickeloden in NYC and someone brought it up, an I explained the whole us of Amigs.

They use almost 100% macs now.

I think one of the prizes as a commdore Amiga

Crom00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 10:50 AM   #46
amigakid
Cult Member
Points: 10,823, Level: 68 Points: 10,823, Level: 68 Points: 10,823, Level: 68
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
amigakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 607
Send a message via AIM to amigakid Send a message via Yahoo to amigakid
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

I remember Puppet Master 2 I think it was they used a Amiga 2000. Cant remember exactly what they where doing but i do remember them all looking at the screen and it had like an animation of one of the puppets. Bones had an Amiga 1200 recently in a show also. Our Arena here in Spokane uses an Amiga 3000 to control their reader board also, thought that was kool We also are have an Amiga cd32 and A3000 at work for plaing games on too (course i'm co-owner lol)
amigakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 11:15 AM   #47
Crom00
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,396, Level: 70 Points: 11,396, Level: 70 Points: 11,396, Level: 70
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Crom00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,139
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

Here's another Amiga Story... Star Trek related. I spent 5 years working on licensed product and heard a story recounted regarding the early days of Amiga.

If you ever noticed Star Trek: The Next Generation had really nice on screen computer display graphics. Those were all created on the MAC using Director and played back on Betacam SP decks.

Well guess who they wanted to use first? Amiga, but all their calls to Commdore went unanswered. So they called Apple, who assigned full time staff to the project.

Another high profile us of Amigas that went sour.
Crom00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 12:26 PM   #48
ShawnDude
Hobbyist
Points: 5,727, Level: 48 Points: 5,727, Level: 48 Points: 5,727, Level: 48
Activity: 3% Activity: 3% Activity: 3%
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 61
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

If I remember correctly. There was a show called My Secret Identity which had Amiga 2000's in it.
ShawnDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2008, 02:28 PM   #49
robo-ant
Too much caffeine
Points: 4,730, Level: 43 Points: 4,730, Level: 43 Points: 4,730, Level: 43
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 84
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

IIRC, the made-for-TV movie "Get Smart, Again!" has an A1000 in it, used to show criminal profiles. I saw that when it was broadcast in 1989 so my memory might be wrong.

The music video for Peter Shelly's "Homosapien" has a PET in it. It's a large keyboard model, but the display appears to be 40-column and white, so I think it's a PET 2001.

I remember seeing a VIC-20 in a music video by... America? No clue what song.

I thought the old Commodore machine in Kirk's office wasn't a PET 2001. I thought it was a B-Series machine. But what do I know? It's been ages since I've seen it.
robo-ant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 02:59 PM   #50
foleyjo
Cult Member
Points: 8,100, Level: 60 Points: 8,100, Level: 60 Points: 8,100, Level: 60
Activity: 29% Activity: 29% Activity: 29%
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 557
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

Not movie but a TV show - In headcases the Iranian Prime minister guy complained when he pressed the wrong button on his Commodore 64.

Also on the IT Crowd there is a Commodore Pet and also posters of commodore machines.
foleyjo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 03:05 PM   #51
pyrre
Cult Member
Points: 9,061, Level: 64 Points: 9,061, Level: 64 Points: 9,061, Level: 64
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 829
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

In stargate Atlantis season 4 Dr Rodney McKay tels John Sheppard he is playing Commodore 64 on his time offs...
Don't remember the episode. But it was kinda fun hearing the C64 being mentioned in my favorite TV series...
__________________
Amiga 1200 Tower
BPPC 603e+ 040-25/200, 256MBram, BVIsionPPC
Amiga 2000
fusion forty 040, 2088 bridgeboard, 2MB ram card, 2091 SCSI.
Amiga 500+
Derringer 030, 32MBram, Trumpcard.
pyrre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 03:29 PM   #52
monami
Technoid
Points: 3,673, Level: 38 Points: 3,673, Level: 38 Points: 3,673, Level: 38
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 461
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

earth girls are easy. an amiga destroyed by a bowling ball. quote "and they said the amiga would stand up to anything."
__________________
i will bless them that bless you. i will curse them that curse you. gods promise to his chosen people the jews.
monami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 04:14 PM   #53
Gwion
Technoid
Points: 4,427, Level: 42 Points: 4,427, Level: 42 Points: 4,427, Level: 42
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 466
Send a message via MSN to Gwion
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

On final destination 2 in the extras a A1200 is used to measure the heart beat (i think) coz they were testing how scared ppl were of the film.
__________________
Desperate To Get An Amiga 1200!
Gwion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 06:35 PM   #54
weirdami
Desperately needs a life
Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
weirdami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,764
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

@pyrre

That Mckay dude also mentions how when he was a kid he didn't play with toys like other kids and the instead he had a Commodore 64. That was cool, too. I think any mention of C=64 or Amiga like that is awesome even though I know nobody around here that would get the references. :-/ I even think it's cool in that song where Weird Al says "You think your Commodore 64 is really neato? What kind of chip you got in there? A Dorito?".
__________________
----
Binding Polymer: Keeping you together since 1892.
weirdami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 06:37 PM   #55
weirdami
Desperately needs a life
Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
weirdami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,764
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

@Einstien

Quote:
In Stepfather 3 his stepson + A500 + modem give him a hard time:
Except there are all kinds of stickers on it covering the logos.
__________________
----
Binding Polymer: Keeping you together since 1892.
weirdami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 08:29 PM   #56
Vlabguy1
Cult Member
Points: 12,963, Level: 74 Points: 12,963, Level: 74 Points: 12,963, Level: 74
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 974
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

mm..I was going to say Disorderlies(kind of a funny movie at the time). There is a 1702 monitor in the movie "Spys Like Us" Chevy Chase, Dan Akroid..

And I know of atleast one porno movie, where they had one A1200, and a 500 in a
few scenes.. :-)..


Rich
Vlabguy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 09:18 PM   #57
weirdami
Desperately needs a life
Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86 Points: 18,816, Level: 86
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
weirdami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,764
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

@Vlabguy1

full frontal trapdoor expansion? eeeeeeew!
__________________
----
Binding Polymer: Keeping you together since 1892.
weirdami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2008, 11:40 PM   #58
danwood
Premium Member
Points: 8,846, Level: 63 Points: 8,846, Level: 63 Points: 8,846, Level: 63
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 380
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

Doubt it, Wargames was made in 82, the C64 wasn't even out then, he used a amsai8080 I believe.
danwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 03:41 AM   #59
mike-
Technoid
Points: 5,218, Level: 46 Points: 5,218, Level: 46 Points: 5,218, Level: 46
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
mike-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 438
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

i swear i saw one on mythbusters when they were analysing adams farts
__________________
C= Amiga Addict & Dendrophiliac
,,,
(Oo)
⎛☮ໄ
ﮑὠՀ
mike- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2008, 04:24 AM   #60
orange
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 19,844, Level: 88 Points: 19,844, Level: 88 Points: 19,844, Level: 88
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Yugoslavia
Posts: 2,586
Default Re: Movies, Commodore machines has been shown in?

here too
__________________
This message has been digitally remastered.
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
movies , shown , commodore , machines

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Commodore-Amiga machines might still be possible. EyeAm General chat about Amiga topics 17 05-25-2009 03:53 AM
Museum dumping commodore machines blanning General chat about Amiga topics 29 05-05-2009 05:53 PM
MorphOS on macmini shown! (forgot to add it in news item about atv) AmiDelf Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 11-13-2008 08:41 AM
Playing movies - help bash64 Amiga Software Issues and Discussion 3 08-15-2008 02:27 AM
My image submissions haven't shown up motorollin General chat about Amiga topics 4 12-04-2005 01:28 PM