amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:08 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga.org specific forums New User Introductions A1000 MOD!

New User Introductions Welcome to Amiga.org, now introduce yourself and let us know who you are.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2006, 06:17 PM   #1
Mike_UK
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 95
Default A1000 MOD!

Hi everyone at Amiga.org
Well this is my first ever post!
I'm wanting to get back in time..lol
to the world of AMIGA's
I have been playing with WinUAE for around a week
and are wanting to get my old hands on a Amiga again real soon.
When I owned one way back in 1991 it was just a humble A500
all this chat about Pegasus and extra cards for the A1200 seems a bit away from where I left it 15yrs ago.
I would like to purchace a A1000 from somewhere to play around on...as i've always been in LOVE with the design...Apple PowerPC's riped it off big time I think!
Also is it possible to MOD a A1000 case with say a A600 board...loads of room in that A1000 case to play around with..
If I thought a A1200 would fit in then I would give it a go as well..
just rewiring ports etc should be quite a simple task
but not sure if I could wire up a home made A1000 keyboard (RJ11) to a (AT style PC connector)?? for A2000 keyboards...to finaly the A1200 ribbon to (AT) connector..the one with a chip on it?
anyhow enough rambling...just someone please leave me some input!
:-D
Mike_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 07:40 PM   #2
Tomas
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,331, Level: 75 Points: 13,331, Level: 75 Points: 13,331, Level: 75
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,828
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

I hope you dont intend to do this with a still functional a1000? :-) I think it would break alot of peoples heart if you ruined a perfectly alright a1000 in favor of cramming a a600 or 1200 in the case.

Welcome to Amiga.org btw.
Tomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 07:51 PM   #3
Mike_UK
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 95
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

NEVER!!!
Somewhere I have seen a empty shell on the net..but I've been to so many sites I can't remeber where!
I'm attempting to get a A1000 complete with origional packageing etc...just for safe keeps! No dissasemble 1000!
Since I placed the first thread I was playing on WinUAE again, and find the first WB (Pre WB2.0) to be more to my taste anyhow...
prefer the colour system and iconset etc! CLASSIC!!
so..another thought
is there a database somewhere where A1000 owners have there serial numbers etc listed....price last paid for system...etc
Mike_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 07:53 PM   #4
drewz21
Technoid
Points: 5,516, Level: 47 Points: 5,516, Level: 47 Points: 5,516, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 393
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

Amiga....NOoooooooo.....

hehe, j/k

Guess I'm too nostalgic. I think the A1000 is hands-down the nicest looking Amiga of them all, IMO.

The classic wedge would be a close second though.
drewz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 08:05 PM   #5
Mike_UK
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 95
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

Yep..
Just seen that horible black thing...
Darth 1200.. :bigcry:
what a disaster...even with laquer on it!
I would prefer to keep a A1000 in origional shape...even with TIMELINE yellowing...RESPECT !!!
Mike_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 08:15 PM   #6
Mike_UK
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 95
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

There was a smart A1000 setup on ebay ...ended today
A1000,Genlock,Modem,Insider,1080,1010, star printer
and it went for a mere 50..thats a steal
but shipping to the UK was to much 4 @ 25 lbs boxes...
quotes from UPS etc were in the excess of 150 in shipping..
Any how, he only had a feedback of 0!
check out the price of this item !!!

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=8762041106&rd=1&sspage name=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

I've seen a few PAL A1000's in germany (ebay again)..
but sellers dont use Paypal
Mike_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 09:08 PM   #7
justthatgood
Cult Member
Points: 6,915, Level: 54 Points: 6,915, Level: 54 Points: 6,915, Level: 54
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
justthatgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 577
Send a message via Yahoo to justthatgood
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

@Mike_UK

That's the Amiga 1000 that Drew is bidding on. That's going to be a bidding war till the end Read here if you want the scope

Amiga 1000
__________________
Pluto:Amiga4KD- 64040/16megs/1GB WD/PAR 2150/1942/WB3.0,3.1,3.9
Amanda:Amiga2KHD/A2620/8MegSupraRam2k/A2091/VLab
justthatgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 09:19 PM   #8
drewz21
Technoid
Points: 5,516, Level: 47 Points: 5,516, Level: 47 Points: 5,516, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 393
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

<Quoting in my best Daffy Duck voice>
Mine, mine, mine!!! Back, back, back!!! Down, down, down!!!
Just joking, kinda.

Still a while to go on the auction. We'll have to see how it goes.
drewz21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 07:28 PM   #9
Mike_UK
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32 Points: 2,821, Level: 32
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 95
Default Re: A1000 MOD!

AAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR


Here it is...and yes It's a DISASTER!!!

http://www.retrosystem.com/amiga.shtml

Lets GANG up on him and teach him the real meaning of AMIGA!!
Mike_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a1000 , mod

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT: Have NTSC A1000, want PAL A1000! SJBUK Amiga Marketplace 16 04-29-2009 12:41 AM
Who would be interested in a blank pcb for Georg Braun's new A1000 system (GB A1000) Kristian95 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 542 10-20-2008 10:08 AM
Wanted: Completely dead A1000 or just A1000 case. Nlandas Amiga Marketplace 11 01-20-2008 10:00 AM
A1000 Help Starke Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 19 02-21-2007 10:08 PM
Who still uses their A1000 bloodline Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 12 01-09-2004 09:50 AM