amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Problems with NEC 3D Monitor

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2005, 09:21 AM   #1
bubba
Too much caffeine
Points: 7,053, Level: 55 Points: 7,053, Level: 55 Points: 7,053, Level: 55
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Silver Spring MD USA
Posts: 130
Default Problems with NEC 3D Monitor

The picture on my NEC 3D has slowly been blurring. I can no longer read text on workbench. Any idea on how to fix this?

-bubba
bubba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 09:45 AM   #2
BadBigBen
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,036, Level: 33 Points: 3,036, Level: 33 Points: 3,036, Level: 33
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 95
Default Re: Problems with NEC 3D Monitor

It is loosing Focus...

you will have to open it up, to refocus the monitor...

but be carefull, there are HIGH VOLTAGES underneath the HOOD of that baby...

if you do not feel up to par on this, take it to a local Electronic Repair person/shop and have it done...

The Focus Mechanism, is usually found on a black block, which has a thick cable running to the top of the CRT... it will usually have a turn type knob with a slit for a screwdriver...
this is located usually at the back left side (viewing from the Screen)...
__________________
><><><><><><><><><><><
\"Link Arms, don\'t make them!\"
<><><><><><><><><><><>
BadBigBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 10:19 AM   #3
Cyberus
Guru Meditator
Points: 25,060, Level: 95 Points: 25,060, Level: 95 Points: 25,060, Level: 95
Activity: 25% Activity: 25% Activity: 25%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Maidstone, England
Posts: 5,694
Default Re: Problems with NEC 3D Monitor

As the above poster already alluded to...

DISCHARGE THE CAPACITORS!

__________________
I like Amigas
Cyberus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 10:28 AM   #4
patrik
Defender of the Faith
Points: 9,201, Level: 64 Points: 9,201, Level: 64 Points: 9,201, Level: 64
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,266
Default Re: Problems with NEC 3D Monitor

As an addition to the previous posters info: you must _definately_ know what you are doing as you have to adjust the focus while the monitor is on, otherwise it would be impossible to know wether you get a good or bad result.

Also, while fiddling around in live monitors, you should only use a non-conductive screwdriver, like one completely out of plastic to avoid damaging yourself and the monitor by accident.


/Patrik
patrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 12:39 PM   #5
Ilwrath
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,982, Level: 74 Points: 12,982, Level: 74 Points: 12,982, Level: 74
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Zookeeper Champion
 
Ilwrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: Problems with NEC 3D Monitor

Quote:
Also, while fiddling around in live monitors, you should only use a non-conductive screwdriver, like one completely out of plastic to avoid damaging yourself and the monitor by accident.
Yes. Actually, I think you have to use a plastic screwdriver, anyhow, as metal would introduce a distortion to the picture you are trying to tune.

But certainly, monitors are the most dangerous computer component to service. And any operation that requires the monitor to be on while you have it open is even more dangerous, yet.

You need to know what you're doing, have the right tools, and be quite cautious, and be aware any time you are working with one, you are taking a risk. (Said the man who can show you a fairly large scorch mark on a C=1950 chassis caused by a high voltage capacitor he THOUGHT was discharged. Thank god I was smart enough to have that chassis well grounded, so the spark hit that instead of jumping to me...)
Ilwrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2005, 12:49 PM   #6
koaftder
VIP / Donor
Points: 13,396, Level: 75 Points: 13,396, Level: 75 Points: 13,396, Level: 75
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
koaftder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA, MD, Salisbury
Posts: 2,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Problems with NEC 3D Monitor

Using a plastic screwdriver to adjust the focus knob on the flyback transformer is a really good idea, and as they say, keep one hand in your back pocket while you do this. It's pretty easy to adjust the knob while looking at the screen to make sure you get it just right.
koaftder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
problems , monitor , nec

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1084s Monitor as a preview video monitor on PC. Possible? zonaps2 Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 62 05-08-2012 10:44 PM
Monitor problems Amiduffer Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 08-26-2008 12:10 AM
1950 monitor problems Amiduffer Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 7 10-25-2007 12:41 PM
Problems with C-1950 Monitor bubba Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 2 05-09-2005 09:13 AM
SVGA Monitor problems Gaeokerena Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 4 02-06-2005 10:15 AM