amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5.25" disk drive

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2003, 12:39 PM   #1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default 5.25" disk drive

I now have a 5.25" disk drive for amiga and some blank or used 5.25" DD disks. The drive has a 80-40 switch on the back and I guess this switches between single and double side/density mode, right? I can't use or format any of the disks no matter which amigaos version I try. Are there any important points I need to know about using a 5.25" disk drive with Amigas? The drive is displayed as 880k under AmigaOs but I'm not sure i this is the right size yet I don't know how to modify it.

Any help is required and appreciated. Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 12:43 PM   #2
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

What model drive? It is a commodore made Amiga floppy drive right? What model number?
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 01:45 PM   #3
Rigger
Technoid
Points: 5,540, Level: 47 Points: 5,540, Level: 47 Points: 5,540, Level: 47
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 169
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

The A1020 is a 460K drive. I'll clip the mount from my mountlist once I get home to my Amiga and post it. Unless someone else posts it first.

Rigger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 01:51 PM   #4
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

The drive looks quite generic. There's nothing written on any side of the case, which is totally metal, and quite slim. I suspect the disk drive connector is hand soldered as well. I got it second hand today.

Do I have to mount this manually then? I can't simply "mount df1:" can I? :-D
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 01:51 PM   #5
Kronos
Resident blue troll
Points: 14,538, Level: 78 Points: 14,538, Level: 78 Points: 14,538, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,927
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

Hmmmmm

Back than (1991) I had a 5,25 from Robotron on my miggy, which
used 880k-formated DD-disks.

Not much use for that other than getting my Fish-Disk for
DM 1.20 instead of DM 2.50 ;-)
__________________
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 05:33 PM   #6
MikeB
Technoid
Points: 6,481, Level: 52 Points: 6,481, Level: 52 Points: 6,481, Level: 52
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 323
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

Are u stupid, there has never been a 5.25" disk made for the Amiga... sorry about calling you stupid.

If it has commodore on it it will be a Commodore 64 diskdrive which is not for the Amiga.

5.25" drives never make 880K so what planet is everyone one!!!!

MikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 06:04 PM   #7
kwic
Merely Curious
Points: 5,198, Level: 46 Points: 5,198, Level: 46 Points: 5,198, Level: 46
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 9
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

http://www.zimmers.net/cbmpics/damigas2.html
kwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 06:33 PM   #8
clark
Hobbyist
Points: 5,108, Level: 45 Points: 5,108, Level: 45 Points: 5,108, Level: 45
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 65
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

@erol

Not true on either count. Commodore did make 5.25 drives for the Amiga, (the guy above me has the link).

Also, Commodore also made some 5.25 drives that could store a whole megabyte or more back in the PET days before my time.

Clark
clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 06:50 PM   #9
Siggy
Technoid
Points: 4,730, Level: 43 Points: 4,730, Level: 43 Points: 4,730, Level: 43
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 212
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

Quote:
Also, Commodore also made some 5.25 drives that could store a whole megabyte or more back in the PET days before my time
Indeed - that would be the C= 1001 drive.
I ran a BBS off a Comodore 64 using 2 of these back in the early 80's.
You needed an ieee parallel interface plugged into the cart. port to run it

I remember 'upgrading' the bbs to a 5meg Pet HD -- The thing looked like a metal shoe box with a single led blinking on the front of it..

I still remember the oooohs and aaaaaaah's of my buds.

Cheers.
Siggy.
__________________
[quote]The TV business is uglier than most things.
It is normally perceived as some kind of cruel and shallow money trench through the heart of the Journalism industry, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free and good men die like dogs,
Siggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 07:39 PM   #10
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

Erol right? If it's your real name and if you're living in London you must be from Northern Cyprus. I'm from Turkey and the least thing I were expecting to see is some convert ruining this thread.

I'm seriously looking for information on how to read, or even format disks with this device. :-?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 09:46 PM   #11
Ilwrath
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 12,982, Level: 74 Points: 12,982, Level: 74 Points: 12,982, Level: 74
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
Zookeeper Champion
 
Ilwrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,191
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

@erol-
There were, indeed 5.25" floppy drives for the Amiga... I don't remember the specifics, but I remember seeing one in a 2000, and there was also an external model planned (and built?) for the Amiga 500/1000, even. What do you think the command
c:diskchange is for??? 3.5" floppies auto-sense a disk swap, you know...

@burseg-
That said, what makes you think its an Amiga device? I've also seen Amigas fitted with 5.25" floppies for emulators only. (The A2000 286 bridgeboard was sold with a 5.25 in most stores, even, IIRC)

If it IS an Amiga device, there should be a sample in your 1.2 or 1.3 workbench disk in devs/mountlist for how to mount a 5.25 floppy. It is as simple as a mount df1, the only thing is, you have to specify what df1 is in your mountlist. ;-)
Ilwrath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 10:36 PM   #12
N7VQM
Technoid
Points: 5,117, Level: 45 Points: 5,117, Level: 45 Points: 5,117, Level: 45
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 272
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

Quote:
I remember 'upgrading' the bbs to a 5meg Pet HD -- The thing looked like a metal shoe box with a single led blinking on the front of it..
I remember when I first saw CMD's 10MB harddisk for the C64. I wanted one of those *SO* bad. But, my mother wasn't willing to shell out the dough and my allowance would never cover it. So, I made do with my 1541-II. It wasn't until I had had my A500 for 3 years that I managed to get finally get a harddrive. I gave all my 8-bit C= stuff away when I graduated high school. I've been kicking myself ever since. :-(
N7VQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 12:02 AM   #13
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

It is an Amiga device because:
-It connects to the amiga's disk drive port and has an output for more disk drives
-It was bought from someone who did use it with an Amiga
-It is displayed as DF1 under 1.3 and 3.1 and can be ordered to format disks, alas it fails in the end with a "device error"
I'll check the mountlist thingy
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 01:47 AM   #14
Desmon
Technoid
Points: 5,702, Level: 48 Points: 5,702, Level: 48 Points: 5,702, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 282
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

@Ilwrath wrote:
Quote:
@erol-
There were, indeed 5.25" floppy drives for the Amiga... I don't remember the specifics, but I remember seeing one in a 2000, and there was also an external model planned (and built?) for the Amiga 500/1000, even. What do you think the command
c:diskchange is for??? 3.5" floppies auto-sense a disk swap, you know...
The 5.25" drives for the A2000 were all PC drives. C= in their wisdom actually made an A1020 drive for the A1000 (I have one here) and it's the thing that needs the "CiskChange" command. A mountlist isn't needed if the media itself is formatted to the Amiga OFS (or FFS now that I think about it) standard.

There were even a few third-party 5.25" drives manufatured, and every one I've ever seen does exactly as the C= unit did.
__________________
Cache Ya,
Craig.

http://homepages.ihug.com.au/~chotch...ainzbanner.jpg
Busy playing with my Trainz and loving it!
Desmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 03:35 AM   #15
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

This wont help you much, but I have an unmarked 3rd party 5.25" Amiga floppy drive. It holds 880kB on a double sided disk.
Diskchange cmd is needed, afair, because a 5.25" drive wont be able to tell whether it has a disk or not.

I never had to use a specific mountlist or anything, it just worked =)

Another thing. It won't work as anything but DF2:. Im sure there's a switch somewhere, but I never found it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 03:39 AM   #16
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

5.25" floppies/drives are/were available in sizes up to 1.2MB.

I believe thats what IBM PC/AT came with as standard.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 06:23 AM   #17
MikeB
Technoid
Points: 6,481, Level: 52 Points: 6,481, Level: 52 Points: 6,481, Level: 52
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 323
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

God! I am surprised!

Whats the point in having a 5.25 inch drive for the Amiga??
obviously i take back what i say! : )
MikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 06:25 AM   #18
MikeB
Technoid
Points: 6,481, Level: 52 Points: 6,481, Level: 52 Points: 6,481, Level: 52
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 323
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

@Burseg

Sorry!

And you part correct about where my names from.
Email me if you want details.
MikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 06:38 AM   #19
redrumloa
Original Omega User
Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100 Points: 44,458, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
redrumloa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 10,126
Blog Entries: 4
Send a message via AIM to redrumloa
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

Quote:
Whats the point in having a 5.25 inch drive for the Amiga??
Waay back when dinasaurs romed the earth in the mid 1980's, hard drives were prohibitively expensive, and 3.5 floppy disk were far more expensive than 5.25 floppy disks. The idea was to enable Amiga users to be able to use cheaper 5.25 floppies, for which they probably already had a ton of if they had upgraded from a 8bit C=(or other 8bit micro).

IMO it didn't catch on that well, although eventually 3rd party(Aminet/FFish)software allowed the reading of other media such as C=64/128 floppies in these 5.25 drives.
__________________
Someone has to state the obvious and that someone is me!
redrumloa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2003, 07:26 AM   #20
Kronos
Resident blue troll
Points: 14,538, Level: 78 Points: 14,538, Level: 78 Points: 14,538, Level: 78
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kronos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,927
Default Re: 5.25" disk drive

@Desmon

Mine didn't need a diskchange command as someone had wisely
clued a small push-button to the closing-knob of the drive
(on the inside of course). The button was connected to the
diskchange-signal on the floppy-port .... voila !

And that the way I bought "brand new", a nice little left over
from East-Germany's IT-industry.
__________________
1. Make an announcment.
2. Wait a while.
3. Check if it can actually be done.
4. Wait for someone else to do it.
5. Start working on it while giving out hillarious progress-reports.
6. Deny that you have ever announced it
7. Blame someone else
Kronos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
drive , disk , 525

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: A2000 Disk Drive (3.5). tokyoracer Amiga Marketplace 1 04-09-2008 08:20 AM
PC formatted 5.25 disk drive mountlist - help, please pyrre Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 7 02-17-2008 05:27 PM
external disk drive aseeley Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 5 06-21-2006 01:27 AM
Build 1.5 Mb disk drive? Protek Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 15 10-24-2005 09:48 AM
Faulty Disk Drive? [PLEASE NO!!] EnyGmaTiK Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 6 05-06-2004 05:40 PM