Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: ramlib_PPC data access exception  (Read 2006 times)

Description:

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VincentTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 3895
    • Show only replies by Vincent
ramlib_PPC data access exception
« on: December 18, 2004, 11:31:20 PM »
When I try to use any PPC software I get the following:

PowerPC Data access exception (load operation)
Memory protection violation - Access to 00000000
The excepting instruction is located at 54A8AC90
Task name: 'ramlib_PPC'  Task address: 54B035C8  Task ID: 112


There's a hex dump after that.

Any ideas how to solve this?

I can post the hex dump if need be, but as it's all letters and numbers I thought I'd ask to save the bother ;-)

Oh, it's a 603e/175MHz and 040/25MHz with 96MB ram.
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline bloodline

  • Master Sock Abuser
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2002
  • Posts: 12113
    • Show only replies by bloodline
    • http://www.troubled-mind.com
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2004, 11:33:46 PM »
Quote

Vincent wrote:
When I try to use any PPC software I get the following:

PowerPC Data access exception (load operation)
Memory protection violation - Access to 00000000
The excepting instruction is located at 54A8AC90
Task name: 'ramlib_PPC'  Task address: 54B035C8  Task ID: 112


There's a hex dump after that.

Any ideas how to solve this?

I can post the hex dump if need be, but as it's all letters and numbers I thought I'd ask to save the bother ;-)

Oh, it's a 603e/175MHz and 040/25MHz with 96MB ram.


The "ramlib" crashed constantly when I used to use my PPC, one of the reasons why I had to abandon using it :-(

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
    • Show only replies by Piru
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2004, 11:51:03 PM »
Usually this is caused by some library/device crashing in initcode. The crash is blamed on "ramlib" even though the crash actually happens inside the library/device code.

In most cases this crash is due to lack of ramlib stack. There are various ways to patch this, for example MCPRamLibPatch in MCP package, or RamLibFix in MMULib.lha.

This is very commonly happening with Warp3D libraries which are totally bogus, calling recursive OpenLibrary inside library init code... This will explode with standard ramlib stack. Warp3D doesn't work reliably without some sort of ramlib stack patching.
 

Offline VincentTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 3895
    • Show only replies by Vincent
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2004, 12:35:34 AM »
I've installed MMUlib, but now I can't get a display on my BVision, CGXMode in the Prefs won't work and there are no BVision modes in ScreenMode prefs either.

--edit--

Problem solved - had to add <>NIL: to the BPPCFix line
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline VincentTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 3895
    • Show only replies by Vincent
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2004, 01:09:32 AM »
Ok, I'm using the RamLibFix at the start of the startup-sequence (I can't find anything about it in the docks) and I still get the error.
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline Karlos

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16867
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2004, 02:32:11 AM »
Quote
This is very commonly happening with Warp3D libraries which are totally bogus, calling recursive OpenLibrary inside library init code... This will explode with standard ramlib stack. Warp3D doesn't work reliably without some sort of ramlib stack patching


Are you sure about that? I've never seen it do this.
int p; // A
 

Offline Piru

  • \' union select name,pwd--
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 6946
    • Show only replies by Piru
    • http://www.iki.fi/sintonen/
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2004, 02:59:30 AM »
Quote
Are you sure about that? I've never seen it do this.

Yes I am sure.

In general, if the ramlib stack is not patched to be larger, it is not safe to call OpenLibrary for disk based libs (that is, for libs that are not already in memory. that is non-KS-ROM libs) in LIB_Init. These calls must be made in LIB_Open.

Anyway, the crash can be worked around by loading the sublibs manually before opening the library in question.

Also the open might actually work, depending on pure luck (due data allocated before the stack being not critical for trashing) or OpenLibrary patches not being installed (each patch usually adds to stack usage).
 

Offline Karlos

  • Sockologist
  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2002
  • Posts: 16867
  • Country: gb
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • Show only replies by Karlos
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2004, 03:22:21 AM »
Well, I meant "the recursively calling OpenLibrary()" bit for warp3d libraries.

Regarding the ramlib crash, I think my 3.x installation was protected by MCP's ramlib patch anyway. I also used stack attack to increase stack allocation generally.
int p; // A
 

Offline Framiga

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: May 2003
  • Posts: 4096
    • Show only replies by Framiga
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2004, 11:35:45 AM »
Vincent

put the ramlibpatch, after the SetPatch.

 

Offline VincentTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 3895
    • Show only replies by Vincent
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2004, 02:00:40 PM »
Quote
Framiga wrote:
put the ramlibpatch, after the SetPatch.

Done, but still no luck :-(
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline VincentTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 3895
    • Show only replies by Vincent
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2004, 08:10:11 PM »
Anybody have any more ideas?

Please say you do :-)
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline patrik

Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2004, 08:25:54 PM »
@Vincent:

Tried StackAttack as suggested by Karlos?


/Patrik
 

Offline Kraftwerk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2002
  • Posts: 48
    • Show only replies by Kraftwerk
    • http://withers.gmxhome.de/
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #12 on: December 19, 2004, 08:48:57 PM »
I had similiar problems. It was a heat related issue. Get the inside of your caser cooler and see if that helps.

 

Offline VincentTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 3895
    • Show only replies by Vincent
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #13 on: December 19, 2004, 08:51:10 PM »
@Patrik

Yup, still get the error.
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel
 

Offline VincentTopic starter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2002
  • Posts: 3895
    • Show only replies by Vincent
Re: ramlib_PPC data access exception
« Reply #14 on: December 19, 2004, 08:52:45 PM »
I have 2 fans in there now, an old PSU fan extracting heat out through the 3.5" drive bays and an old P500 fan cooling the 040 and ppc, I can't see it being heat related.

--edit--

There is also the original ppc fan on the board (the p500 fan is on the cooler/040 side and the original fan on the other).

The errors come up right after a cold boot after being switched off for 24 hours, so I'm pretty sure it's not heat related.
Xbox360
"Oh no. Everytime you turn up something monumental and terrible happens.
I don\'t think I have the stomach for it." - Raziel