amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:08 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

» Amiga.org » Amiga computer related discussion » Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion » 16 bit roms on AGA Amigas

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2003, 02:29 PM   #1
AF-Domains.net
Technoid
Points: 8,862, Level: 63 Points: 8,862, Level: 63 Points: 8,862, Level: 63
Activity: 1% Activity: 1% Activity: 1%
 
AF-Domains.net's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 183
Send a message via MSN to AF-Domains.net
Default 16 bit roms on AGA Amigas

Is there an adaptor that is around or can be made to allow you to use the original kickstart roms on the a1200
AF-Domains.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 02:38 PM   #2
odin
Colonization had Galleons
Points: 22,606, Level: 93 Points: 22,606, Level: 93 Points: 22,606, Level: 93
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Asker, Norway
Posts: 6,780
Default Re: 16 bit roms on AGA Amigas

I don't think that would work. First of all Kickstarts are machine specific. The A500 3.1 kickstart does not contain stuff for the PCMCIA port etc. *random thought hits skull* Hmmmmm, the A600 one does though.

Can anyone shed some more light?
odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 04:00 PM   #3
blobrana
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,995, Level: 83 Points: 16,995, Level: 83 Points: 16,995, Level: 83
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4,743
Default Re: 16 bit roms on AGA Amigas

Rather than soldering on a new socket, (and making it less functional).
there are software options.

If you get a copy of the ROM image ( try WinUAE ) and copy it to memory with (i`ve forgotten, BlitzKick?
RomKICK).

TRY THESE SITES:
http://ale.emuunlim.com/get-kick-rom.htm

http://80.197.46.38/~p/sw/
__________________

http://www.amiga.org/themes/Amiga.or...ange_arrow.gif[size=x-small]For Astronomy News[/size]
blobrana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 09:11 PM   #4
gonzoninja
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,576, Level: 48 Points: 5,576, Level: 48 Points: 5,576, Level: 48
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 85
Default Re: 16 bit roms on AGA Amigas

I tried using those A500 emulator things on my A1200, and no matter what I did tons of games wouldn't work. In the end I just went to Ebay and bought a cheap A500, now all my A500 games work fine (obviously).
__________________
The Nature of Ninja is Irresponsible.

A1200 Blizz PPC 166/040 25, Mediator SX, Voodoo 3000, Soundblaster 128, Powerflyer Gold, 4GB HD 8XCDROM, Realtek 100Mbps Ethernet, D-Link810+ Wireless Bridge
gonzoninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
roms , amigas , aga , bit

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My "New" Amigas adolescent General chat about Amiga topics 17 01-29-2008 08:26 AM
How many Amigas do you own? Gavilan Amiga Marketplace 146 06-24-2007 06:30 PM
New Amigas meamiga General chat about Amiga topics 18 03-30-2005 08:50 AM
Amiga 3000 3.1 roms vs. Amiga 1200 3.1 roms Gavilan Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion 20 04-27-2004 04:21 AM
Amigas kipper Amiga Marketplace 7 11-22-2003 10:43 AM