amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:22 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics Screenmodes :)

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2013, 02:02 PM   #1
carvedeye
Defender of the Faith
Points: 15,726, Level: 80 Points: 15,726, Level: 80 Points: 15,726, Level: 80
Activity: 88% Activity: 88% Activity: 88%
 
carvedeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne
Posts: 1,269
Send a message via MSN to carvedeye
Default Screenmodes :)

Well i have been playing around with my screenmodes and i have to say that im very impressed with the 1280 x 512 Interlaced mode it is so crisp and clear, it makes me want to get a mediator and a voodoo setup even more

What is everyone elses thoughts?
__________________
A1200T: M1230XA 50Mhz 68030 w/64mb,DVDRom, 80gb hdd, Realtek LAN Card, Mediator LT4 + Radeon 9250 128mb (used for fast ram), Voodoo 3 3000 OS 3.9
carvedeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 02:17 PM   #2
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default Re: Screenmodes :)

I think that ANY screenmode that uses a graphics card in an Amiga makes a huge difference. I remember the day I got my Bvision..

Well, Im still stuck with that, so I use 1024x768 mostly, but that is still as sharp, fast and flicker-free as it ever was.
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 02:26 PM   #3
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,594, Level: 80 Points: 15,594, Level: 80 Points: 15,594, Level: 80
Activity: 44% Activity: 44% Activity: 44%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: Screenmodes :)

All the resolutions I've tried with the indi aga mk2 has been crisp and clear. 1280 x 768 is my fav res at the moment :-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 02:56 PM   #4
rvo_nl
Lifetime Member
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 47% Activity: 47% Activity: 47%
 
rvo_nl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 770
Default Re: Screenmodes :)

well, you never said you had an indivision I guess that makes a difference, yes. I have one too but never tried that resolution stuff.
__________________
Amiga 1200 (1d4) Kickstart 3.1 (40.68), Elbox Power/Winner tower (450w psu), BlizzardPPC 603e+ @240mhz & 060 @50mhz, 256MB 60ns, BlizzardvisionPPC, IDE-fix Express, IndivisionAGA, 120GB IDE, cd, dvd, Cocolino, Micronik Keycase, PCMCIA Ethernet, Ratte monitor switcher, triple boot WB3.1 / OS3.9 / OS4.1
rvo_nl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:30 PM   #5
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 15,594, Level: 80 Points: 15,594, Level: 80 Points: 15,594, Level: 80
Activity: 44% Activity: 44% Activity: 44%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,418
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: Screenmodes :)

The indi is a amazing peice of hardware. Just need a config tool (Please Jens!!).

Also it has similar abilities to the Indi ECS so the driver that allows RTG on the ECS version should be possible to convert to the AGA mk2? ;-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
A1200T 060@80MHz | A500 Plus 030@25MHz | Pegasos II G4@1GHz
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 03:02 AM   #6
pVC
VIP / Donor
Points: 11,407, Level: 70 Points: 11,407, Level: 70 Points: 11,407, Level: 70
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 1,047
Default Re: Screenmodes :)

But Indivision relies on AGA and it never can be fast even though it makes crisper image. RTG on Amiga is crisp and FAST . And not to forget colorfulness too. For example IBrowse scrolls web pages with no problem on my Mediator/Voodoo3 in 1600x1200x16bit resolution. Smooth and fast.
__________________
Best viewed with http://aoproxy.extropia.co.uk/ and IBrowse! :-)

Last edited by pVC; 03-06-2013 at 03:04 AM..
pVC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 06:27 AM   #7
mfilos
Cult Member
Points: 8,390, Level: 61 Points: 8,390, Level: 61 Points: 8,390, Level: 61
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 657
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via Yahoo to mfilos Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Default Re: Screenmodes :)

Once you go RTG is kinda hard to go back to AGA
__________________
Visit my Amiga blog here
- A600: 030@37.5, 64MB, A604n, 16GB CF, Indivision ECS, Subway, MAS-Player + Custom Audio Mixer (internal), HxC SD + Slim floppy (internal)
mfilos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2013, 07:44 AM   #8
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,650, Level: 48 Points: 5,650, Level: 48 Points: 5,650, Level: 48
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: Screenmodes :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
Once you go RTG is kinda hard to go back to AGA
"Yes! You can believe it, because it is true."

--

I like the 1920 X 1080 native resolution of my monitor.
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
screenmodes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump