amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:58 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion FPGA Replay Board

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-04-2013, 01:30 PM   #2311
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

I have made some tests using bustest and my A4000 and both of my Replay boards (Rev.A with daughterboard and standard Rev.B). What do you think?
Code:
BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv)   Buffer:     262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
memtype	op 	A4K PAL	A4K VGA	A4K RTG	RP PAL	RP VGA	060 PAL	060 VGA	060 RTG
fast 	readw 	33.7	33.6	33.7	20.9	19.4	52.9	52.3	52.8
fast 	readl 	39.6	39.2	39.5	28.4	28.2	60.2	60.5	60.3
fast 	readm 	39.5	39.6	39.4	29.3	29.2	60.7	60.7	59.7
fast 	writew 	27.7	27.4	27.6	5.8	4.7	49.3	48.8	49.0
fast 	writel 	27.5	27.6	27.6	7.7	6.2	48.6	49.1	48.6
fast 	writem 	27.6	27.7	27.5	10.9	8.3	49.3	48.9	48.7
chip 	readw 	1.7	0.7	2.3	5.8	4.7	7.1	7.1	7.1
chip 	readl 	3.4	1.4	4.7	7.7	6.2	14.1	14.1	14.1
chip 	readm 	3.4	1.4	4.7	10.9	8.3	14.1	14.1	14.1
chip 	writew 	2.4	1.1	3.5	5.8	4.7	11.7	8.9	14.0
chip 	writel 	4.8	2.2	7.0	7.7	6.2	23.1	17.7	27.9
chip 	writem 	4.8	2.2	7.0	10.9	8.3	23.1	17.9	27.9
rom 	readw 	33.5	33.7	33.7	20.9	19.4	52.6	52.9	52.5
rom 	readl 	39.5	39.4	39.4	28.4	28.2	60.0	60.1	60.5
rom 	readm 	39.3	39.2	39.0	29.3	29.2	60.7	60.3	60.5

A4K - A4000 w/ CS MKII 060 60MHz + 128MB 60ns DRAM + Picasso IV
RP - Replay w/ Minimig AGA core + TG68K 28MHz dcache/icache + 8MB FAST RAM
060 - Replay w/ Minimig AGA/RTG core + Rev.6 68060 106MHz + 128MB 53MHz SDRAM
PAL - 640x512x256 (PAL High Res Laced)
VGA - 640x480x256 (Productivity)
RTG - 1024x768x256
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:39 PM   #2312
xyzzy
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,492, Level: 36 Points: 3,492, Level: 36 Points: 3,492, Level: 36
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 74
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Damn!
xyzzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 01:40 PM   #2313
Crumb
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73 Points: 12,515, Level: 73
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Crumb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,764
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

@yaqube

impressive values! I would love that the 060 board included some kind of SATA port but USB2 will be better than nothing :-)
__________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: Club de Usuarios de Amiga de Zaragoza (CUAZ)
Crumb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 02:53 PM   #2314
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
I have made some tests using bustest and my A4000 and both of my Replay boards (Rev.A with daughterboard and standard Rev.B). What do you think?
Code:
BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv)   Buffer:     262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
memtype	op 	A4K PAL	A4K VGA	A4K RTG	RP PAL	RP VGA	060 PAL	060 VGA	060 RTG
fast 	readl 	39.6	39.2	39.5	28.4	28.2	60.2	60.5	60.3
fast 	writel 	27.5	27.6	27.6	7.7	6.2	48.6	49.1	48.6
chip 	writel 	4.8	2.2	7.0	7.7	6.2	23.1	17.7	27.9


A4K - A4000 w/ CS MKII 060 60MHz + 128MB 60ns DRAM + Picasso IV
RP - Replay w/ Minimig AGA core + TG68K 28MHz dcache/icache + 8MB FAST RAM
060 - Replay w/ Minimig AGA/RTG core + Rev.6 68060 106MHz + 128MB 53MHz SDRAM
PAL - 640x512x256 (PAL High Res Laced)
VGA - 640x480x256 (Productivity)
RTG - 1024x768x256
Woohoo! I can easily attain triple speed AGA blitting on a Replay+Daughtercard!

Copy MyBankAccount:#? ALL FORCE QUICK to Yaqube:BankAccount/


I noticed you listed VGA mode times. Is that the way to get flickerfree AGA gfx on a replay? To use DoublePAL, DoubleNTSC or VGA modes?

Luckily my gamecode already supports both PAL and DoublePAL even though DoublePAL is mostly useless on a real A1200.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 03:05 PM   #2315
gaula92
Technoid
Points: 7,111, Level: 55 Points: 7,111, Level: 55 Points: 7,111, Level: 55
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
gaula92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 371
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post

Copy MyBankAccount:#? ALL FORCE QUICK to Yaqube:BankAccount/

Hahaha! Nice to see I'm not the only who loves AmigaDOS (not WB) around here
I always wondered why the Los Gatos team decided to include connectives in commands like "from", "to", etc... it makes AmigaDOS a very fun yet easy DOS to use. My favorite over Linux and Risc OS.
gaula92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 03:22 PM   #2316
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
I noticed you listed VGA mode times. Is that the way to get flickerfree AGA gfx on a replay? To use DoublePAL, DoubleNTSC or VGA modes?
Yes, all programmable modes like DoublePal, DoubleNTSC, Multiscan etc are supported.
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2013, 03:39 PM   #2317
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
Yes, all programmable modes like DoublePal, DoubleNTSC, Multiscan etc are supported.
I meant is that the only way to get a flickerfree interlaced AGA display?

Like does Replay have a hardware flickerfixer built-in that can deinterlace the Amiga's interlace modes? And if so, is it free? Or does it use the same amount of bandwidth as the corresponding Double#? mode?

My real Amiga has a hardware flickerfixer so all my PAL and NTSC interlace software displays to my VGA monitor without costing me any extra bandwidth.

I'm just trying to figure out what to tell ppl when they play my games on Replay.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:14 AM   #2318
freqmax
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 14,556, Level: 78 Points: 14,556, Level: 78 Points: 14,556, Level: 78
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,085
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
I have made some tests using bustest and my A4000 and both of my Replay boards (Rev.A with daughterboard and standard Rev.B). What do you think?
[CODE]
BusSpeedTest 0.19 (mlelstv) Buffer: 262144 Bytes, Alignment: 32768
memtype op A4K PAL A4K VGA A4K RTG RP PAL RP VGA 060 PAL 060 VGA 060 RTG
fast readw 33.7 33.6 33.7 20.9 19.4 52.9 52.3 52.8
chip readw 1.7 0.7 2.3 5.8 4.7 7.1 7.1 7.1
My conclusion:
* Video modes that use more bit/s will leave less capacity for other stuff.
* Faster memory interface = more capacity
* Separate memory for CPU = faster read/writes

The RP+060 is perfect in all those aspects.
freqmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:37 AM   #2319
Heiroglyph
Cult Member
Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59 Points: 7,937, Level: 59
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Heiroglyph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 840
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Considering it's almost finished and not yet optimized, those numbers are incredible.

Congrats guys, that's so much better than existing motherboards that you're really making me want one.
Heiroglyph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 05:41 AM   #2320
cunnpole
Too much caffeine
Points: 2,366, Level: 29 Points: 2,366, Level: 29 Points: 2,366, Level: 29
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
cunnpole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 76
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Will using the expansion board without the 060 give any performance boost over the vanilla Replay? Or would I be best to get my hands on the cheapest RC model I can find?
cunnpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:54 AM   #2321
yaqube
Technoid
Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45 Points: 5,126, Level: 45
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 197
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
I meant is that the only way to get a flickerfree interlaced AGA display?
I don't have any plans to implement a flicker-fixer. Productivity and DoublePAL/NTSC modes are much faster on Replay than on any AGA Amiga (over 8 times) so it's not a problem. Besides you have a bunch of nice RTG screen modes so why not use them?
yaqube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 08:47 AM   #2322
bloodline
Master Sock Abuser
Points: 38,946, Level: 100 Points: 38,946, Level: 100 Points: 38,946, Level: 100
Activity: 28% Activity: 28% Activity: 28%
 
bloodline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 11,890
Blog Entries: 3
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaula92 View Post
Hahaha! Nice to see I'm not the only who loves AmigaDOS (not WB) around here
I always wondered why the Los Gatos team decided to include connectives in commands like "from", "to", etc... it makes AmigaDOS a very fun yet easy DOS to use. My favorite over Linux and Risc OS.
It would have been the MetaComCo guys who included those commands from TripOS, not the Amiga guys
__________________
My iPhone Game: Puny Humans -
http://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/puny-...362230281?mt=8
bloodline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:06 AM   #2323
Hattig
Cult Member
Points: 10,484, Level: 68 Points: 10,484, Level: 68 Points: 10,484, Level: 68
Activity: 15% Activity: 15% Activity: 15%
 
Hattig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 844
Send a message via AIM to Hattig
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by yaqube View Post
I don't have any plans to implement a flicker-fixer. Productivity and DoublePAL/NTSC modes are much faster on Replay than on any AGA Amiga (over 8 times) so it's not a problem. Besides you have a bunch of nice RTG screen modes so why not use them?
What about when you want to fire up a game and it runs in non double PAL and you're wired up to a monitor that can't take 15kHz?

Nevertheless I'm sure someone will come up with a solution. WHDLoad+Mode Promotion?
Hattig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:15 AM   #2324
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89 Points: 20,171, Level: 89
Activity: 46% Activity: 46% Activity: 46%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,342
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hattig View Post
What about when you want to fire up a game and it runs in non double PAL and you're wired up to a monitor that can't take 15kHz?

Nevertheless I'm sure someone will come up with a solution. WHDLoad+Mode Promotion?
Do you have a particular game in mind? Remember, you have a scan doubler, just not a flicker fixer.

Off the top of my head, the only games I remember playing that made use of a flicker fixer were Sim Ant and SimCity2000. I think Sim City could use other screen modes, not sure about Sim Ant.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 10:18 AM   #2325
glitch
Technoid
Points: 8,167, Level: 61 Points: 8,167, Level: 61 Points: 8,167, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
glitch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, Ontario, Canada - a little West of the centre of the universe
Posts: 335
Default Re: FPGA Replay Board

Hello,

While a fan of the current board form factor... would you also consider a different layout of the board that contains the current FPGA Arcade and the '060 board? I for one could definitely live with a larger board. My thinking is either an ATX size board - or a board that we could fit inside of an existing Amiga case - like an A1200 or A4000.

Thanks!
glitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fpga , replay , board

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump