amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion General chat about Amiga topics dosbox for amiga 68k?

General chat about Amiga topics This forum is for conversations which are specifically "Amiga" related, but don't fit into other categories. Contents of this forum do appear on the main page, unlike Talk About. If a subject appears to be non-related, it will be moved to Talk About.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 07:56 PM   #16
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
Would it need a 68060? Can it run wing commander? fast tracker II? Screamtracker?
NEOPAINT? What about star wars xwing?
I doubt it based on the performance of DosBox for the RaspberryPI which I did not find usable. That is 800mhz... I think for Amiga PCTask is probably the best...
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:20 PM   #17
slaapliedje
Lifetime Member
Points: 4,190, Level: 41 Points: 4,190, Level: 41 Points: 4,190, Level: 41
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
slaapliedje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 421
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

My Nokia N900 will load up an almost usable version of Daggerfall with DosBox and it's an 600Mhz ARM.

And that was a game that came out in the era where they were still managing to make DOS games, that also had a 'Windows' version as well.

I haven't tried much else on it. But the real thing I think that would slow it down would be converting VGA to AGA or something, though I'm assuming anyone attempting DosBox has some sort of graphics card?

I would love to play around with this, alas I only have a stock 040 in my A4000D. Anyone offering an 060 for a price that won't make me poor? I have a barely used soul for trade.

slaapliedje
slaapliedje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 08:32 PM   #18
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,380, Level: 67 Points: 10,380, Level: 67 Points: 10,380, Level: 67
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,512
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywirepc View Post
And THANK you novacoder for even attempting this! Yes, prove them wrong!
Thanks, I'll do my best

I'm also working on another couple of AGA ports (including NetSurf 68k) so it will take me a long time to get this DosBox v0.74 port to BETA stage.

This Amiga coding thing obviously only a hobby for me but I do what I can to give people a reason to dust off their old Amiga's and have some fun again
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:31 PM   #19
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,383, Level: 100 Points: 37,383, Level: 100 Points: 37,383, Level: 100
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,640
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Speaking of DOS, how hard would it be to get a Sierra AGI interpreter running on 68k

I'd love to be able to fire up some fan made works I.E. Space Quest 0 and The lost Chapter.

Last edited by XDelusion; 12-04-2012 at 09:34 PM..
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:49 PM   #20
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,380, Level: 67 Points: 10,380, Level: 67 Points: 10,380, Level: 67
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,512
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Speaking of DOS, how hard would it be to get a Sierra AGI interpreter running on 68k

I'd love to be able to fire up some fan made works I.E. Space Quest 0 and The lost Chapter.
Just use my port of ScummVM, no need for DosBox 68k...
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:09 PM   #21
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,383, Level: 100 Points: 37,383, Level: 100 Points: 37,383, Level: 100
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,640
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Will it detect AGI games not designed for it?

Also I kind of figured a direct AGI interpreter could run on systems with less resources, or am I thinking wrong?
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 12:15 PM   #22
B00tDisk
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
B00tDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,580
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Not sure if even a JIT enabled 68k DOSBox running on an 060 would be usable, but some folks have gotten Win98SE running on DOSBox.
__________________
Back away from the EU-SSR!
B00tDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 01:48 PM   #23
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
Points: 37,383, Level: 100 Points: 37,383, Level: 100 Points: 37,383, Level: 100
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
 
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Yet another Huxleyan Dystopia
Posts: 4,640
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Yep I had 98 running on my AROS box.

Fish was planning on adding the OpenGL emulation from the DOSbox port, but I don't think he ever got around to it.
XDelusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:58 AM   #24
AmigaClassicRule
Cult Member
Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 952
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Anyone know by any chance the list of ALL DOS PC games that will run on ScummVMAGA?

Completely thanks in advance

Last edited by AmigaClassicRule; 12-11-2012 at 12:00 PM..
AmigaClassicRule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:17 PM   #25
Seiya
Technoid
Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64 Points: 9,315, Level: 64
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 360
Blog Entries: 13
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

you can see many dosbox games on Retro Trailer on signature link
Seiya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 12:19 PM   #26
AmigaClassicRule
Cult Member
Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 952
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
you can see many dosbox games on Retro Trailer on signature link
Erm you don't by any chance have that order in English?
AmigaClassicRule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 01:07 PM   #27
utri007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 14,503, Level: 78 Points: 14,503, Level: 78 Points: 14,503, Level: 78
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

How about ScummVM home page?
utri007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 02:00 PM   #28
AmigaClassicRule
Cult Member
Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 952
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Quote:
Originally Posted by utri007 View Post
How about ScummVM home page?
Are the compatibility listing in the original ScummVM homepage which is directed to the mainstream OS such as Windows, Mac is accurate enough for ScummVMAGA?

Thanks.
AmigaClassicRule is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 03:04 PM   #29
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,380, Level: 67 Points: 10,380, Level: 67 Points: 10,380, Level: 67
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,512
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmigaClassicRule View Post
Are the compatibility listing in the original ScummVM homepage which is directed to the mainstream OS such as Windows, Mac is accurate enough for ScummVMAGA?

Thanks.
do you mean this link?

The different version of ScummVM support different games, there was no point in me adding support for 'The 7th Guest' to the A600 version for example

The version the supports the most games is ScummVM RTG 060.

BTW, you do known this is a thread about my new port (DosBox 68k AGA) and not my existing ports of ScummVM don't you?
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA

Last edited by NovaCoder; 12-11-2012 at 03:16 PM..
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 03:14 PM   #30
AmigaClassicRule
Cult Member
Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56 Points: 7,270, Level: 56
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 952
Default Re: dosbox for amiga 68k?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
do you mean this link?

The different version of ScummVM support different games, there was not point in me adding support for 'The 7th Guest' to the A600 version for example

The version the supports the most games is ScummVM RTG 060.

BTW, you do known this is a thread about my new port (DosBox 68k AGA) and not my existing ports of ScummVM don't you?

* shuffles feet, look at the floor * Sooowwwyy

By the way back to the DOS AGA, if you manage with whatever skill you have to get DOSBOx working on AGA Amiga 1200 with 20 fps or even 15 fps I will donate money to you till the end of my life!!

You would have managed to bring HORDE OF NEW games to the Amiga 1200/4000 giving these system new life with a whole new meaning

I mean already the Mac 68k Emulator gave a new COLLECTION of apps and games into the Amiga 1200 that with AmiMSX and the other emulators out there, with your now new ScummVM AGA plus the already NICE LIBRARY of software and game collections originally designed for the Amiga making the Amiga A VERY fun system indeed!!!

Hey in the future see if you can get C64AGA out here and since there is a C64 cable from AmigaKit that allows you to hook real 1541 Disk Drive into the Amiga system and read foppy disk you can just master and perfect almost the original C64 computer emulation and then the emulation requires the REAL Disk Drive hooked into the Amiga...OMG you would have turned Amiga INTO A REAL PURE C64 with complete feel as I will be using the real disk drive to load games instead of emulated disk drive!!

Soooowwwwwy I went again off top I am just over excited at your super skill in programming. I am just saying you could ACTUALLY succeed in getting DosBox to work then you can easily do C64AGA as well. Then all I have to do is put a stick on my Amiga 1200 case: MSX Sticker, Console stickers, C= 64 sticker and DOS sticker...hehehhehe

I am getting all giddy..

Last edited by AmigaClassicRule; 12-11-2012 at 03:18 PM..
AmigaClassicRule is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
68k , amiga , dosbox

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump