amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:23 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Operating System Specific Discussions MorphOS MorphOS -- Hardware requirements and availability discussion MorphOS for Sam460

MorphOS -- Hardware requirements and availability discussion Discussion of the available hardware for MorphOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2012, 02:00 PM   #61
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,156
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by eliyahu View Post
@itix

is this effort being worked on by a single individual, or the entire team?
The entire team just like all hardware porting projects are.

Quote:
at what point can SAM owners expect to know what on-board hardware will be supported, such as audio via the SM502?
I dont know. Better ask directly from Frank Mariak (pega-1) or Mark Olsen ('trollolol') at MZ when it is online again.

Integrated ethernet, SATA and USB ports must be supported or the board is useless.

Quote:
are there any plans to eventually support newer radeon HD video cards, or will R200-series cards be the main focus in the immediate future?
There are no plans to support newer Radeon HD cards in near future.

In the immediate future the main focus is on r200 and r300 series cards. I dont see point for newer Radeon HD cards because many Macs have built-in gfx card and gfx speed is not our bottleneck.

But... never say never. One step at a time.
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:01 PM   #62
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,156
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Well, I realise that's up to the team, but IMHO it's a shame.
CSPPC and BPPC cards are hard to find these days.
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 02:12 PM   #63
Akiko
VIP / Donor
Points: 12,420, Level: 72 Points: 12,420, Level: 72 Points: 12,420, Level: 72
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
Akiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 985
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by itix View Post
CSPPC and BPPC cards are hard to find these days.
Yes very hard to find for sale, but a lot are still in use and the reason why Amigakit commisioned AmigaOS 4.1 for Classics.
Akiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 12:39 PM   #64
nicholas
VIP / Donor
Points: 21,209, Level: 91 Points: 21,209, Level: 91 Points: 21,209, Level: 91
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Englistan
Posts: 8,197
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by persia View Post
Best response from Hyperion would be to retaliate and make aOS 4.x available on old PPC Macs...
I wish they would port OS4 to Mac hardware, I can't understand why they won't do it. The Pegasos 2 port proves they don't have to limit their hardware choices to only "certified" AmigaONE hardware.

It seems like they are cutting their nose off to spite their face.
__________________
Every day is Ashura, every land is Karbala. Allahu akbar va Khamenei rahbar!
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 12:45 PM   #65
nicholas
VIP / Donor
Points: 21,209, Level: 91 Points: 21,209, Level: 91 Points: 21,209, Level: 91
Activity: 13% Activity: 13% Activity: 13%
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Englistan
Posts: 8,197
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
So, any chance of seeing MorphOS 3.x for classic?
There are some updates for MOS 1.4.5 at http://morphos-team.net/downloads but I'm wondering how much of the userland components of MOS 3.2 one could copy from the installation CD to a MOS 1.4.5 installation without borking it totally?

Anyone here tried it?
__________________
Every day is Ashura, every land is Karbala. Allahu akbar va Khamenei rahbar!
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 04:35 PM   #66
vox
Banned
Points: 6,497, Level: 52 Points: 6,497, Level: 52 Points: 6,497, Level: 52
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 869
Blog Entries: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to vox
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by itix View Post
The entire team just like all hardware porting projects are.

I dont know. Better ask directly from Frank Mariak (pega-1) or Mark Olsen ('trollolol') at MZ when it is online again.

Integrated ethernet, SATA and USB ports must be supported or the board is useless.

There are no plans to support newer Radeon HD cards in near future.

In the immediate future the main focus is on r200 and r300 series cards. I dont see point for newer Radeon HD cards because many Macs have built-in gfx card and gfx speed is not our bottleneck.

But... never say never. One step at a time.
Has this anyhow changed? Which gfx cards will be supported?
vox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:25 PM   #67
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,156
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

I can not comment more than what was shown and announced at Amiga Pianeta last year.

http://www.morphzone.info/modules/ne...&showonepost=1

It is not impossible but SAM460 first.
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 05:39 PM   #68
Iggy
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,059
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

@ itix

When did bigfoot become 'trollolol'?

@ everyone in general - lotta buzz for a port to an obscure, overpriced Italian motherboard
__________________
Sinner no more - sold the tablet.

Purchased a 2.7 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." - Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." - George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2014, 07:07 PM   #69
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,156
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
@ itix

When did bigfoot become 'trollolol'?
He was using that nick (for a moment) on IRC :-)
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:16 AM   #70
skolman
Hobbyist
Points: 5,269, Level: 46 Points: 5,269, Level: 46 Points: 5,269, Level: 46
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crumb View Post
1.4.5 for classic is limited to 2 hours without keyfile, not 30 minutes.
Registration keyfile is free.
__________________
A1200 BlizzardPPC BVision Eth AmigaOS MorphOS,
EFIKA PPC 5200B R9250 MorphOS Workbench 68k

http://youtu.be/tOAciWZS-yU
skolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 09:25 AM   #71
spirantho
Premium Member
Points: 12,759, Level: 73 Points: 12,759, Level: 73 Points: 12,759, Level: 73
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,461
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
@ everyone in general - lotta buzz for a port to an obscure, overpriced Italian motherboard
Reason being only one platform (the Peg-II) can currently run OS4 and MOS, and that's not available and somewhat limited (no RadeonHD, PCI/AGP only etc.). Having another machine which can be bought and which runs both can only be a good thing, in my opinion.
__________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!
spirantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 12:16 PM   #72
Iggy
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,059
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by spirantho View Post
Reason being only one platform (the Peg-II) can currently run OS4 and MOS, and that's not available and somewhat limited (no RadeonHD, PCI/AGP only etc.). Having another machine which can be bought and which runs both can only be a good thing, in my opinion.
Supporting the X5000 would be a better move, imho.
Future Sam460 availability is questionable.
Acube really needs to reconsider is processor choices.
Applied Micro CPUs are just too weak.
A 1.4 GHz e5500 cored T1020 would not significantly raise board costs, it would be faster, and dual core.
__________________
Sinner no more - sold the tablet.

Purchased a 2.7 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." - Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." - George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 01:28 PM   #73
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,156
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Supporting the X5000 would be a better move, imho.
Future Sam460 availability is questionable.
If there is enough demand ACube could produce another batch. If not available as new you can obtain few units from second hand market.

X5000 availability is more questionable. We dont know when it will be available and how long it will be available. At this moment it is easier to source second hand SAM460 than X5000

Quote:
Acube really needs to reconsider is processor choices.
Applied Micro CPUs are just too weak.
A 1.4 GHz e5500 cored T1020 would not significantly raise board costs, it would be faster, and dual core.
I dont know how successful ACube has been with their business plan but I believe they cant choose any random CPU. SAM is industrial product for industrial customers.
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 01:44 PM   #74
Iggy
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,059
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by itix View Post
I dont know how successful ACube has been with their business plan but I believe they cant choose any random CPU. SAM is industrial product for industrial customers.
Does Acube use a plan?
They seem devoted to using processors from one company who's product line is remarkably unimpressive.

I don't understand the logic in it. AMCC is much harder to deal with than Freescale Semi.

They must be getting these devices at a really low cost, which really highlights their extreme mark up.
Limited production numbers can only excuse so much.
__________________
Sinner no more - sold the tablet.

Purchased a 2.7 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." - Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." - George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 02:16 PM   #75
spirantho
Premium Member
Points: 12,759, Level: 73 Points: 12,759, Level: 73 Points: 12,759, Level: 73
Activity: 19% Activity: 19% Activity: 19%
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,461
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
They must be getting these devices at a really low cost, which really highlights their extreme mark up.
Limited production numbers can only excuse so much.
Acube do not have a massive mark-up at all... component costs are only a small part of the production costs of boards like this

It's been a very long time since anyone got rich off the Amiga, unfortunately
__________________
--
Ian Gledhill
ian.gledhill@btinternit.com (except it should be internEt of course...!)
Check out my shop! http://www.mutant-caterpillar.co.uk/shop/ - for 8-bit (and soon 16-bit) goodness!
spirantho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 03:28 PM   #76
Iggy
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,059
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by spirantho View Post
Acube do not have a massive mark-up at all... component costs are only a small part of the production costs of boards like this

It's been a very long time since anyone got rich off the Amiga, unfortunately
Then at the volumes produced, Acube can't be earning much at all.
On gets the impression that A-eon and Acube do boards in really low volume (50 or so per run?).
__________________
Sinner no more - sold the tablet.

Purchased a 2.7 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." - Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." - George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 04:58 PM   #77
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,156
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
Does Acube use a plan?
They seem devoted to using processors from one company who's product line is remarkably unimpressive.
To Amiga/desktop user it is. My Mac Mini runs circles around it.

Quote:
They must be getting these devices at a really low cost, which really highlights their extreme mark up.
Maybe. Or maybe they have found a customer that just need it. There is UMTS/GSM module what certainly is not designed to Amiga market.
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2014, 05:29 PM   #78
Iggy
Energizer Bunny of Babble
Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82 Points: 16,389, Level: 82
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Delaware
Posts: 4,059
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by itix View Post
Or maybe they have found a customer that just need it. There is UMTS/GSM module what certainly is not designed to Amiga market.
Makes sense to me, an embedded application that would use a SAM in some kind of mobile application..

I'll stick with my G5s.
__________________
Sinner no more - sold the tablet.

Purchased a 2.7 GHz G5 PowerMac for now (and I have 2.3 PCI-E G5 PowerMac for future revisions of MorphOS).

Also I still have a 1.42 GHz iBook (with MorphOS 3.4).

Finally I still have an old A2000 for the days I'm into pain.

"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." - Benjamin Franklin

"I'm a hard worker." - George W. Bush

"Guess I'll have to change my way of livin..."

Kenny Downing is my God.

Last edited by Iggy; 03-15-2014 at 05:37 PM..
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:14 AM   #79
vox
Banned
Points: 6,497, Level: 52 Points: 6,497, Level: 52 Points: 6,497, Level: 52
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 869
Blog Entries: 3
Send a message via Skype™ to vox
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by itix View Post
To Amiga/desktop user it is. My Mac Mini runs circles around it.
My PS3 slim runs circles around my lap PC, X1000 and MacMinis alltogether. Even just with 256MB RAM.

Point is mass produced items cant really compete to hobby produced boards in pricing at least. And MacMinis have their own limits. At least in AmigaOS 4 world well equipped SAM 440 is still enough. And gives less headaches then SAM460ex and X1000.

Quote:
Maybe. Or maybe they have found a customer that just need it. There is UMTS/GSM module what certainly is not designed to Amiga market.
That would mean some good heavy Linux support I have missed. Or some OS I am not aware of. There is no option to buy board without OS and Acube website.
vox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 09:51 AM   #80
itix
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75 Points: 13,392, Level: 75
Activity: 69% Activity: 69% Activity: 69%
 
itix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 2,156
Default Re: MorphOS for Sam460

Quote:
Originally Posted by vox View Post
Quote:
There is UMTS/GSM module what certainly is not designed to Amiga market.
That would mean some good heavy Linux support I have missed. Or some OS I am not aware of.
Customers using it are probably going to write their own drivers. These kind of embedded things run software you cant buy from online stores.

Quote:
There is no option to buy board without OS and Acube website.
I am sure possible industrial customers can buy boards without OS4.
__________________
English Amiga Board
Only MorphOS makes it possible \o_

Last edited by itix; 03-16-2014 at 09:53 AM..
itix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
morphos , sam460

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump