amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:25 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion ACA card speeds

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 04:53 PM   #1
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,253
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default ACA card speeds

ACA 1230 @ 42Mhz 64MB = 9.36 Mips
ACA 1231 @ 42Mhz 64MB = 9.98 Mips
ACA 1232 @ 33Mhz 128MB = 7.89 Mips

Eyeing up a ACA 1230 ATM but think for 9 euro more I can pickup a ACA 1232 (non MMU). Which is fin as the ACA 1230 doesn't have an MMU ;-)

Just wanting to know of other people out there and what they've experience in real everyday use?
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:58 PM   #2
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,368, Level: 67 Points: 10,368, Level: 67 Points: 10,368, Level: 67
Activity: 33% Activity: 33% Activity: 33%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,511
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Great cards, very fast for an 030.

This is my card in real everyday use.

ACA 1230 @56Mhz

__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:08 PM   #3
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,253
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Thanks for the reply Nova, have been checking out a few youtube clips of yours :-)

Very impressed with what a 68030. KInd of got me started into looking for an ACA card.

Have eliminated the ACA 1232.. just weighing up between the ACA 1230 and 1231... 1231 seems to have the edge but not much in it :-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:10 PM   #4
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,253
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Guessing nobody wants to part with their 56Mhz version, 12+ Mips seems nice :-) I can see me using the A1200 daily with a faster card. Missed out on a 68040, and the 68060's are out of my price range but for an all round card an ACA card will be great :-)

Hehehe
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-

Last edited by Lurch; 12-03-2012 at 05:12 PM..
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 11:40 PM   #5
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: ACA card speeds

25Mhz 040 = 25 MIPS

50Mhz 060 = over 100 MIPS

I did the math and got an 060 but even a basic bottom of the line 040 beats 030 by a wide margin.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 12:09 AM   #6
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,253
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: ACA card speeds

25Mhz 040 = 25 MIPS

That's crazy numbers. Would be ample for what I need. However finding a 68040 is the fun part.

Was looking at a 68060 card on amibay for $500 USD, but don't want to spend that much. Was thinking half that :-)

Unless I sell my Indi ECS which I no longer need. then I could go a little higher :-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:46 PM   #7
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,253
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: ACA card speeds

ACA 1231 it is, now the wait for it turn up.
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:52 PM   #8
CritAnime
Commodore is Awesome
Points: 6,030, Level: 50 Points: 6,030, Level: 50 Points: 6,030, Level: 50
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,110
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: ACA card speeds

ACA 630 @ 25mhz but can't remember what that is in Mips.

kind of sad because I don't have that card anymore.
CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 04:58 PM   #9
bbond007
Defender of the Faith
Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66 Points: 10,036, Level: 66
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
bbond007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,378
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
25Mhz 040 = 25 MIPS

50Mhz 060 = over 100 MIPS

I did the math and got an 060 but even a basic bottom of the line 040 beats 030 by a wide margin.

my 50mhz 060 only gets 65.31 in SysSpeed & 38.51 in SysInfo... maybe you are thinking 80mhz 060 or some super fast prototype ACA 1260
bbond007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:15 PM   #10
fitzsteve
Technoid
Points: 4,148, Level: 40 Points: 4,148, Level: 40 Points: 4,148, Level: 40
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 339
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by CritAnime View Post
ACA 630 @ 25mhz but can't remember what that is in Mips.

kind of sad because I don't have that card anymore.
I think it's about 7Mips stock, I overclocked mine to 40mhz and got 9.37Mips

Sold it though and got an ACA620EC as it wasn't seeing much use, that gets 3.47Mips
fitzsteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 05:32 PM   #11
CritAnime
Commodore is Awesome
Points: 6,030, Level: 50 Points: 6,030, Level: 50 Points: 6,030, Level: 50
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,110
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Yeah it was a stock card. I was considering trying to clock it but I figured I wouldn't attempt it lol.
CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:37 AM   #12
Lurch
Lifetime Member
Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78 Points: 14,611, Level: 78
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Lurch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 1,253
Send a message via MSN to Lurch
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Bought a ACA 1231/42, just have to wait for it's arrival. Appears to be the best value.

Not sure why Amigakit isn't selling them so went through Vesalia. Looked at the ACA 1232, more RAM but slower.

Interesting to see some actual benchmarks being posted. Took some digging to find information about the ACA 1230.

I noticed with the ACA 1230 it has a removable CPU (without soldering), that could be interesting ;-)
__________________
-=[LurcH]=-
Lurch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 03:00 AM   #13
yssing
Defender of the Faith
Points: 11,881, Level: 71 Points: 11,881, Level: 71 Points: 11,881, Level: 71
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
yssing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 1,294
Default Re: ACA card speeds

It would have been nice, to have a socket for a FPU.
yssing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:22 AM   #14
ChaosLord
Premium Member
Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81 Points: 15,941, Level: 81
Activity: 14% Activity: 14% Activity: 14%
 
ChaosLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,528
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbond007 View Post
my 50mhz 060 only gets 65.31 in SysSpeed & 38.51 in SysInfo... maybe you are thinking 80mhz 060 or some super fast prototype ACA 1260
Those programs do not report the correct MIPS for 060. They lie. Forget about them.

Its dead easy to write a program that runs at 149 MIPS on 50Mhz 060.

The 060 has 2 integer cores so that is 100 MIPS right there. Plus all predicted branches happen magically for free. So that is 150 MIPS.

An 80Mhz 060 runs at 240 MIPS.
__________________
Wanna try a wonderfull strategy game with lots of handdrawn anims,
Magic Spells and Monsters, Incredible playability and lastability,
English speech, etc. Total Chaos AGA
ChaosLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 05:37 AM   #15
Faerytale
Too much caffeine
Points: 5,602, Level: 48 Points: 5,602, Level: 48 Points: 5,602, Level: 48
Activity: 8% Activity: 8% Activity: 8%
 
Faerytale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sweden
Posts: 118
Default Re: ACA card speeds

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaosLord View Post
Those programs do not report the correct MIPS for 060. They lie. Forget about them.

Its dead easy to write a program that runs at 149 MIPS on 50Mhz 060.

The 060 has 2 integer cores so that is 100 MIPS right there. Plus all predicted branches happen magically for free. So that is 150 MIPS.

An 80Mhz 060 runs at 240 MIPS.
wikipedia SAYS:
Performance ~88 Mips @ 66 MHz
~110 Mips @ 75 MHz
~36 MFlops @ 66 MHz
Faerytale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
aca , card , speeds

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump