amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Inside the 1200

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 03:17 AM   #1
CritAnime
Commodore is Awesome
Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50
Activity: 84% Activity: 84% Activity: 84%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,111
Blog Entries: 1
Default Inside the 1200

Ok so i opened my 1200 up and found a odd yellow wire that is coming off the budgie chip and going to some tiny little chip at the bottom of the system which then seems to be going to a blank space. Any idea what this is?

Also there is a header inside that has a cap on it that looks like it's intended for a drive or soemthing. Any idea what that is?

It's a rev f mother board

Newbie to the insides of the 1200 so sorry if these sound like silly questions.

Btw the header is not the hdd header as I have my cf connected to that
CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:20 AM   #2
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,516
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: Inside the 1200

Take some pictures, they tell lots of words.
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 03:29 AM   #3
CritAnime
Commodore is Awesome
Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50
Activity: 84% Activity: 84% Activity: 84%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,111
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Inside the 1200





And the header is p9b but I cant take a photo of it because the camera won't focus properly on it.

there is also this one

CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:29 AM   #4
odin
Colonization had Galleons
Points: 22,338, Level: 92 Points: 22,338, Level: 92 Points: 22,338, Level: 92
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
odin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Asker, Norway
Posts: 6,770
Default Re: Inside the 1200

Timing fixes? Looks very neatly done.
odin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:18 AM   #5
paul1981
Cult Member
Points: 5,285, Level: 46 Points: 5,285, Level: 46 Points: 5,285, Level: 46
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
paul1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: England
Posts: 801
Default Re: Inside the 1200

Quote:
Originally Posted by CritAnime View Post
Ok so i opened my 1200 up and found a odd yellow wire that is coming off the budgie chip and going to some tiny little chip at the bottom of the system which then seems to be going to a blank space. Any idea what this is?

Also there is a header inside that has a cap on it that looks like it's intended for a drive or soemthing. Any idea what that is?

It's a rev f mother board

Newbie to the insides of the 1200 so sorry if these sound like silly questions.

Btw the header is not the hdd header as I have my cf connected to that
Revision F motherboard? I've never heard of one. Can you take some photo's of that section of the board where it says F?
paul1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 05:23 AM   #6
amigamad
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 15,808, Level: 80 Points: 15,808, Level: 80 Points: 15,808, Level: 80
Activity: 4% Activity: 4% Activity: 4%
 
amigamad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Swindon uk /england
Posts: 2,157
Send a message via Yahoo to amigamad
Default Re: Inside the 1200

Quite often the amiga 1200 motherboards have wires on them it is to fix faults in the copper tracks i have one with a few green wires attached it could also be to fix timing issues but most likely to fix a production fault with the board.
__________________
I once had an amigaone xe but sold it .

www.tamiyaclub.com
amigamad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 06:08 AM   #7
CritAnime
Commodore is Awesome
Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50
Activity: 84% Activity: 84% Activity: 84%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,111
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Inside the 1200

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul1981 View Post
Revision F motherboard? I've never heard of one. Can you take some photo's of that section of the board where it says F?
It's me been slack. The motherboard says 1b but there's a sticker that says rev f. That must have something to do with the wires maybe?

Also the p9b header. Is that the rtc connector.
CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:45 AM   #8
CritAnime
Commodore is Awesome
Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50 Points: 6,042, Level: 50
Activity: 84% Activity: 84% Activity: 84%
 
CritAnime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1,111
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: Inside the 1200



This is what I am talking about.
CritAnime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:42 PM   #9
Matt_H
VIP / Donor
Points: 24,106, Level: 94 Points: 24,106, Level: 94 Points: 24,106, Level: 94
Activity: 43% Activity: 43% Activity: 43%
 
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Boston, MA, United States
Posts: 5,243
Default Re: Inside the 1200

The yellow wires are normal - that's a factory rework. Almost all 1200s have them.

P9B is your clockport... sort of. Most machines have pins only on the right side of that header. The connector on yours looks different. It could be another factory oddity. The clockport and the P9A header on the opposite side of the RAM chips were originally intended to support a 1MB chip RAM expansion, but were made redundant when Commodore decided to ship all 1200s with 2MB of Chip RAM instead of 1MB.

The other empty solder pads in that area were meant for an onboard clock.

See photo here.

Last edited by Matt_H; 12-03-2012 at 09:40 PM..
Matt_H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
1200 , inside

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump