amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:59 AM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Gaming AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Amiga Gaming This forum is dedicated to games software and solutions for the Commodore Amiga computer. Need help blowing up pixels? Know of the next gaming revolution? Talk about it here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 01:09 PM   #31
kickstart
Cult Member
Points: 9,548, Level: 65 Points: 9,548, Level: 65 Points: 9,548, Level: 65
Activity: 23% Activity: 23% Activity: 23%
 
kickstart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Finland
Posts: 897
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

@novacoder

Nice work... maybe on a 50mhz 060 runs smooth too.
__________________
A1200,BLIZZARD1260@50MHz
kickstart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 02:06 PM   #32
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
As promised, here's a quick video of the latest build -> AmiQuake
Since it's so smooth already, any chance you might add some CPU chewing RGB -> HAM C2P as an experiment?

I'd love to see that!
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 02:49 PM   #33
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
Trapped instructions are slow all the time, everywhere and anywhere !
I know they are slow, but depending on where they are called, it really may not matter. Even a thousand trap-and-emulate calls aren't a problem if they only happen when loading a level, for example. You simply aren't going to notice (or care about, even if you do) a few hundred microseconds wasted.

If, on the other hand, you are doing a trap-and-emulate every time you do a perspective correction inside your texture mapping loop, it's going to suck abominably.

Ideally, there'd be no emulated instructions but in practise, context is everything.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 02:49 PM   #34
B00tDisk
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
B00tDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,580
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
Since it's so smooth already, any chance you might add some CPU chewing RGB -> HAM C2P as an experiment?

I'd love to see that!
Quake in 4096 colors? Sign me up!
__________________
Back away from the EU-SSR!
B00tDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 02:50 PM   #35
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00tDisk View Post
Quake in 4096 colors? Sign me up!
I was thinking more of the sort of 18-bit C2P routines that you can find on aminet, but even HAM6 would be neat.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:27 PM   #36
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,516
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by kickstart View Post
@novacoder

Nice work... maybe on a 50mhz 060 runs smooth too.
No, not quite there yet, I'll keep hacking away in my spare time to make it faster. I have other more interesting projects waiting to be started so I can't spend all my time on it

I did have a look a doing HAM8 C2P for my ScummVM port but could never get it to render properly

A more interesting update would be Graffiti, when Jens eventually updates the Indivision AGA Mrk2 with Graffiti support (maybe even 16bit chunky support) then we can have some fun.
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA

Last edited by NovaCoder; 09-17-2012 at 05:44 PM..
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 05:48 PM   #37
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I did have a look a doing HAM8 C2P for my ScummVM port but could never get it to render properly
Seriously, that would be a really nice touch.
__________________
OCA
This isn't SCSI... This is SATA!!!
I have CDO. It's like OCD except all the letters are in ascending order. The way they should be.
Core2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz / X48T / 4GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX275 / Linux x64, AROS, Win64
A1XE 800MHz / 512MB / Radeon 9200 / OS4.1
A1200T BPPC 240MHz / 256MB / Permedia 2 / OS 3.1 - OS3.9, OS4
A1200T Apollo 1240 28MHz / 32MB / Mediator1200 / Voodoo 3000 / OS3.9
A1200D Apollo 1240 25MHz (ejector seat ROM edition) / 32MB
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:28 PM   #38
B00tDisk
Defender of the Faith
Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73 Points: 12,600, Level: 73
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
B00tDisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,580
Blog Entries: 1
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Karlos View Post
I was thinking more of the sort of 18-bit C2P routines that you can find on aminet, but even HAM6 would be neat.
Oh I spoke in jest; Quake has an 8-bit pallet and would hardly benefit from 12-bit

Tell me more of these 18-bit routines, though. I'm a coding newborn and didn't touch anything on the Amiga post AmigaBasic though so be gentle.
__________________
Back away from the EU-SSR!
B00tDisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 01:29 AM   #39
Karlos
Sockologist
Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100 Points: 50,135, Level: 100
Activity: 10% Activity: 10% Activity: 10%
 
Karlos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Barishabaad, Sardistan
Posts: 16,646
Blog Entries: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B00tDisk View Post
Oh I spoke in jest; Quake has an 8-bit pallet and would hardly benefit from 12-bit
Actually, it would as clickboom's original port demonstrates with it's slow but pretty 16-bit option.

The reason being that although the textures are 8 bit, they are shaded with light maps to produce the end result which results in many more shades than can be displayed. These are quantized back to the game palette, resulting in a loss in fidelity.

Quote:
Tell me more of these 18-bit routines, though. I'm a coding newborn and didn't touch anything on the Amiga post AmigaBasic though so be gentle.
A number of routines are available courtesy of various demoscene coders that can convert an RGB chunky framebuffer in formats from 12-bit up to full 24-bit into suitable HAM planar displays.
Karlos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 04:08 PM   #40
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,516
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

I thought I'd do some videos of recordings of myself playing the game this time which gives a better idea of how it actually runs on my machine with the latest release.

NovaCoder vs Chthon

Amiga AGA Quake - Citadel
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 07:45 PM   #41
runequester
It's Amiga time!
Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96 Points: 25,611, Level: 96
Activity: 96% Activity: 96% Activity: 96%
 
runequester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 3,695
Blog Entries: 7
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Wow, thats quite playable. Nice to see
__________________
Amiga AND Linux fan. Zealots are people that lack faith

I blog..a lot.
http://doctorwhoretrospec.blogspot.com/
http://redleftperspective.blogspot.com/
http://theamigablog.blogspot.com/
runequester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 08:36 PM   #42
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,516
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Yep still could do with a little fps but it's getting harder to get any more speed out of it now
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA

Last edited by NovaCoder; 10-14-2012 at 02:21 AM..
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:11 PM   #43
delshay
Cult Member
Points: 10,252, Level: 67 Points: 10,252, Level: 67 Points: 10,252, Level: 67
Activity: 7% Activity: 7% Activity: 7%
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 975
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

It would be nice to see a 16bit PPC version.
__________________
-------------
power is nothing without control
delshay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:13 PM   #44
Cosmos
Technoid
Points: 8,629, Level: 62 Points: 8,629, Level: 62 Points: 8,629, Level: 62
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 399
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Have you included the asm parts of the Frank Wille Quake version ?
Cosmos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 10:58 PM   #45
NovaCoder
Premium Member
Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67 Points: 10,396, Level: 67
Activity: 38% Activity: 38% Activity: 38%
 
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Oz
Posts: 1,516
Blog Entries: 2
Default Re: AmiQuake - new 68k Quake Port

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
Have you included the asm parts of the Frank Wille Quake version ?
No not yet but I might do it in the future if I can get it working
__________________
Life begins at 100 MIPS!


AmiWolf AGA, AmiSpear AGA, BOOM AGA, ZDOOM AGA, ODAMEX AGA, AmiQuake AGA, AmiQuake 2 AGA
NovaCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
68k , amiquake , port , quake

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump