amiga.org
     
iconAll times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:24 PM. | Welcome to Forum, please register to access all of our features.

Amiga.org Amiga computer related discussion Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Amiga Hardware Issues and discussion This forum is dedicated to the discussion and resolution of issues related to Classic and Next Generation Amiga hardware. Got a problem with a piece of hardware? Click to speak.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-2012, 01:16 PM   #21
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Can these updates be uploaded after I finish installation, removed jumper and closed unit's case?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wawrzon View Post
deneb has actually three ports, two internal to connect with a cable extension to a free rear expansion slot. and one external mounted directly on the pcb. you have to be very careful to connect the cables right way around, otherwise you might fry your deneb. also be careful with the external port, while you cant misconnect the cable it is quite fragile, you should place much pressure on it.

you can download current version of poseidon (4.4) right here:
http://www.platon42.de/index2.html
the instalation is well documented and automated. read the guide.

while at it you can download the last firmware for your deneb:
http://www.e3b.de/usb/firm/DENEB_V11.lzh
check what version you have before the upgrade.

what concerns the jumper. i dont know what you mean. jumper is jumper, usually they are found laying around.
i can get you more extensive help when im back with my hardware.
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 04:01 PM   #22
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Exclamation Re: NEW- Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Today I finally connected my DENEB card and jumped it as per above installation instructions. I got a couple of green lights coming up steady in the board, but nothing is popping up on my WB to allow me to finish installation (download software).

Am I missing something? How can I download the required software from the board?

[IMG][/IMG]

__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 05:38 PM   #23
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: NEW- Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Check that the icon isn't off the visible screen area.

In my case, I first installed the software off a clean WB3.1 install and the actuall Deneb disk icon was off the screen below the visible area. I had to scroll down to find it (or alternatively refresh your icons into columns).
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 07:00 PM   #24
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Default Re: NEW- Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darrin View Post
Check that the icon isn't off the visible screen area.

In my case, I first installed the software off a clean WB3.1 install and the actuall Deneb disk icon was off the screen below the visible area. I had to scroll down to find it (or alternatively refresh your icons into columns).
You were so right. I didn't notice it the first time, so I scrolled down and ther it was. Thanks for the advice.
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 10:44 PM   #25
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: NEW- Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeiXing3D View Post
You were so right. I didn't notice it the first time, so I scrolled down and ther it was. Thanks for the advice.
Glad I could help. I was banging my head on the desk when it happened to me.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 04:00 AM   #26
Xanxi
Cult Member
Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69 Points: 10,899, Level: 69
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Xanxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 894
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

I also suggest that you look after this internal USB hub http://www.overclockersclub.com/revi...usb_expansion/

I'm using this in my A2000 with my Deneb to power all my USB devices from the PSU instead of draining power through the zorro port and the Deneb lines. It protects the Deneb and gives enough juice for any power hungry devices such as external hard drive or CD. My front USB bay is connected on this.

__________________
10 Classic Amiga Computers so far: I have too many computers!!

Last edited by Xanxi; 07-08-2012 at 04:03 AM..
Xanxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:03 PM   #27
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Question Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Thanks Xanxi. And where can I get one of those?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanxi View Post
I also suggest that you look after this internal USB hub http://www.overclockersclub.com/revi...usb_expansion/

I'm using this in my A2000 with my Deneb to power all my USB devices from the PSU instead of draining power through the zorro port and the Deneb lines. It protects the Deneb and gives enough juice for any power hungry devices such as external hard drive or CD. My front USB bay is connected on this.

__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 12:07 PM   #28
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Exclamation Re: More Help RUNNING DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Now, that I'm done with the h/w installation and struggling to make the USB ports to work. I downloaded everything during installation of the card, removed the jumper and closed the computer case, but I'm now sitting down not knowing what to do next to start using this expensive thing.

I was told I need to run Trident from the prefs drawer so I did that just to find an error message saying " Failed to open muimaster.library. This application requires MUI!

Can someone give me some guidance on how to get this DENEB USB controller working? BTW, I'm using Workbench 3.9. Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 01:24 PM   #29
Kawazu
Too much caffeine
Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38 Points: 3,730, Level: 38
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 126
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

This is what you need.
http://aminet.net/util/libs/mui38usr.lha
Kawazu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 03:31 PM   #30
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawazu View Post
Thanks. I found that, but I can't make it fit in one floppy to port it to my A3000, because the file is too big.

Any suggestions?
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:33 PM   #31
danbeaver
Lifetime Member
Points: 5,471, Level: 47 Points: 5,471, Level: 47 Points: 5,471, Level: 47
Activity: 63% Activity: 63% Activity: 63%
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,274
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Un-lha the mui archive then delete all the demos and locales then re-lha it so the archive fits a floppy. You should be able to do this on a PC with the unZip utility, at least mine handles lha files easily
danbeaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 04:34 PM   #32
Darrin
Lifetime Member
Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89 Points: 20,321, Level: 89
Activity: 76% Activity: 76% Activity: 76%
 
Darrin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Lake Charles, Louisiana
Posts: 4,372
Send a message via AIM to Darrin Send a message via Yahoo to Darrin
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Extract it on your PC and then copy the files to a couple of floppies, recombine them into a single folder on the Amiga and then do the setup from there.

I never realised the LHA file was so big because my A4000 has a high density drive.
__________________
A2000, A3000, 2 x A1200T, A1200, A4000Tower & Mediator, CD32, VIC-20, C64, C128, C128D, PET 8032, Minimig & ARM, C-One, FPGA Arcade... and AmigaOne X1000.
Darrin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:55 PM   #33
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Quote:
Originally Posted by danbeaver View Post
Un-lha the mui archive then delete all the demos and locales then re-lha it so the archive fits a floppy. You should be able to do this on a PC with the unZip utility, at least mine handles lha files easily
I'm using MOS running in a Mac Mini to download and manipulate downloads. How do I re-ha the rest of files to in fit in a floppy?
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:07 PM   #34
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Unhappy Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop (DILEMMA)

All,

This is my technological dilemma
As I have explained, I have installed and extracted all files from a DENEB card in my A3000, configured with an internal (adapted and no modifications were necessary) CF Card Reader (from Mechware) and one floppy drive. I have a 2GB cf card mounted in a PCMCIA card adapter with Workbench 3.9 mounted on it, and serving as my booting HD.

Then I have an A1200, also equipped with a PCMCIA card reader, 66GB HDD (with 3 partitions) and finally, a MOS 3.0 equipped Mac Mini (I have a multiple firmat card reader working with my MOS computer).

My dilemma is how to combine or use these 3 technologies, to bring muimaster.library to my A3000. I tried to copy the downloaded (from my MOS computer) file in lha format from a CF card using the PCMCIA adapter with WB3.9 in my A3000, but I guess that I may need to finish some configuring here too, since when I swapped the card: First, I get a mssg saying that I need to replace WB39 back in the unit, and if I cancel that, and insert the cf card with my muimaster file, I get a mssg saying that my dh0: (I guess it refers to my PCMCIA mounted unit) is unassigned and it's ghostly.

So, you experts out there...what kind I do to break this vicious cycle which doesn't let me finish the installation of my DENEB and bring life to my A3000?

Does it make any sense?
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:16 PM   #35
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop (DILEMMA)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WeiXing3D View Post
Does it make any sense?
I think so! :P

Do you have FAT installed on the A1200? The easiest solution would seem to be transferring the file from your MorphOS machine by FAT-formatted CF card to the A1200, then from the 1200 to the 3000 by floppy.
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 11:08 PM   #36
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Wink Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop (DILEMMA)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Damion View Post
I think so! :P

Do you have FAT installed on the A1200? The easiest solution would seem to be transferring the file from your MorphOS machine by FAT-formatted CF card to the A1200, then from the 1200 to the 3000 by floppy.
Could you please tell me where to find FAT, if it's installed in my A1200? I'd think that I might have it, since I have been using cf cards in my A1200 for almost a week now, after installing a few files and apps that I was recommended to have (i.e. FAT95 that came with cf card patch).

If not where can I download it from and how to use it? Thanks in advance for any help.
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:10 AM   #37
Damion
Desperately needs a life
Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81 Points: 15,947, Level: 81
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nevada, USA
Posts: 3,461
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

Sounds like you're already using it. In which case, you should be able to share files between your MorphOS box/PC and your 1200 via the CF cards, then by floppy to your 3000. You might have to unarc the MUI archive on the 1200 and split it up over a few floppies.
Damion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 04:41 PM   #38
WeiXing3D
Technoid
Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38 Points: 3,722, Level: 38
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
WeiXing3D's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 201
Exclamation Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

@ damion or anybody else who could help:


I'm getting closer, but NOT quite there yet. This is what I did:

1. I copied the mui88usr.lha file directly in the cf card that I'm using as my startup HDD in my A3000.
2. I extracted the .lha file just by double-cliciking and the Unarc app did the job. I unpacked everything in a partition that I have in my cf card called "Data,"
3. I found a drawer named "MUI" in my Data, that was made during the unpacking.
4. I opened the drawer and launched by double-clicking the Install-MUI and used the Intermediate level. BUT, I noticed that the installation says that it will create a drawer called "MUI," which I already have there
5. So I continued with the installation in spite of the warning and I got ...Sorry...an Error Has Ocurred!
COPYFILES: Couldn't copy file :"LiesMich" in line 563. I know this is German for ReadMe file
DOS Error Type: Unable to access a file or drawer--object in use.
Then the install windows closes and I don't think the installation was done.

What can I do?
__________________
SAM460EX @1.15GHz, 2GB Memory, AOS4.1. MorphOS 3.3 in Mac Mini G4 1.5GHz. Acer Aspire One with AROS Icaros Desktop 1.52
WeiXing3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 11:58 PM   #39
zipper
Kindred of Babble-on
Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76 Points: 13,658, Level: 76
Activity: 11% Activity: 11% Activity: 11%
 
zipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: finland
Posts: 2,218
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

I'd look at line 563 and delete it if there's just that LiesMich copy stuff.
Perhaps you need another version of Installer, if yours is an old one - you could type in shell: which installer all and then version installer (with the path) to look what you have.
zipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 06:58 AM   #40
Kernel
Technoid
Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61 Points: 8,215, Level: 61
Activity: 2% Activity: 2% Activity: 2%
 
Kernel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New New York, New Earth
Posts: 210
Send a message via ICQ to Kernel Send a message via AIM to Kernel Send a message via MSN to Kernel
Default Re: Help installing DENEB card in A3000 desktop

I just pulled my 3000 out of storage and while doing the ritual chip reseats etc., i noticed my deneb appears to only be providing power to the built in port and the pins closest to that port... I.e., Tue outermost expansion port doesn't appear to have power. Could this be a PSU issue on the 3k or a denied- issue? I haven't been able to actually boot and try any devices yet and won't until later this evening so I figured is try here to get others input while I have downtime.

I've confirmed the poeer status using a USB netgear adapter that has a USB powrer indicator on it.

Thx all!
Kernel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
a3000 , card , deneb , desktop , installing

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump